• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me find the fuse!

Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
23 (0.31/day)
System Name My Rig
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.3 GHz
Motherboard Aorus B450 Elite
Cooling Be Quiet Pure rock 2
Memory 32 GB Corsair DDR4 - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060
Storage 2 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Display(s) 1440p 144hz + 1080p 144hz
Case Corsair 220T
Power Supply Corsair CX650f
Mouse Corsair harpoon
Keyboard Corsair k95 mk2 Platinum MX Speed
Hello everyone.
I have this gpu (Rx 570 Asus expedition non-oc) I got from a friend, Its doesn't work: the fans don't spin and the screen stays black.
I think its a blown fuse so i took it apart but i cant seem to find a fuse on the board.
Can someone tell me where they are?

20211113_141406.jpg
20211113_141424.jpg
20211113_141428.jpg
20211113_141436.jpg
20211113_141448.jpg


Yes a lot of pictures.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
573 (2.05/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
HELLO
Bellow you have the picture with the fuses
 

Attachments

  • rx570 fuse.jpg
    rx570 fuse.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 168
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
23 (0.31/day)
System Name My Rig
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.3 GHz
Motherboard Aorus B450 Elite
Cooling Be Quiet Pure rock 2
Memory 32 GB Corsair DDR4 - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060
Storage 2 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Display(s) 1440p 144hz + 1080p 144hz
Case Corsair 220T
Power Supply Corsair CX650f
Mouse Corsair harpoon
Keyboard Corsair k95 mk2 Platinum MX Speed
Thanks! I measured all the fuses and I don't think one is broken.
I tried turing it on and the core didn't heat up. Could there be something else phisically on the board that is causing it not to deliver power to the core?
I already checked the vrm's but they are all at 3.49 Ω. Should i just measure if the board gets voltage?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
666 (0.26/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus TUF Z590 wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage 2tb SanDisk ultra, pny1311 240Gb.
Case cheap!
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
Thanks! I measured all the fuses and I don't think one is broken.

thats because i'm very sure you measure inductors and not fuses; which looking like this . . . little SMDs.
0_04_047011ce_20170721_131107.jpg


you have a group of three SMDs by the the 8pin power plug and that little guy down by the pci slot key (ion the white box) and the one above it look some potential candidates to prod w/multi meter.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
23 (0.31/day)
System Name My Rig
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.3 GHz
Motherboard Aorus B450 Elite
Cooling Be Quiet Pure rock 2
Memory 32 GB Corsair DDR4 - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060
Storage 2 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Display(s) 1440p 144hz + 1080p 144hz
Case Corsair 220T
Power Supply Corsair CX650f
Mouse Corsair harpoon
Keyboard Corsair k95 mk2 Platinum MX Speed
you have a group of three SMDs by the the 8pin power plug and that little guy down by the pci slot key (ion the white box) and the one above it look some potential candidates to prod w/multi meter.
I cant seem to find them. I don't have those white fuses on my board....
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,569 (5.03/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
The solder blob doesn't look good
 

Attachments

  • solder blob.jpg
    solder blob.jpg
    69.6 KB · Views: 123
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
23 (0.31/day)
System Name My Rig
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.3 GHz
Motherboard Aorus B450 Elite
Cooling Be Quiet Pure rock 2
Memory 32 GB Corsair DDR4 - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060
Storage 2 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Display(s) 1440p 144hz + 1080p 144hz
Case Corsair 220T
Power Supply Corsair CX650f
Mouse Corsair harpoon
Keyboard Corsair k95 mk2 Platinum MX Speed
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
666 (0.26/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus TUF Z590 wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage 2tb SanDisk ultra, pny1311 240Gb.
Case cheap!
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
I cant seem to find them. I don't have those white fuses on my board....
they don't have to be white as shown - sorry if it confused. just google GPU FUSE (images) and you'll see they are all colors and sizes. unless given better directions than what i can give; you'll probably check alot resistors before finding the fuses.

w/o exact first hand experience try browsing through buildzoids YT channel. there are hours of graphic card and motherboard breakdowns . in one of the gpu ones might show you better about finding the fuse(s). but that might take day to sort through.

(WARNING crazy suggestion incoming!!)
in the meantime - just keep poking your multi meter on things. when you find an SMD (surface-mounted device) that doesn't have continuity - then consider shorting it with a small gauge wire - it will lift the protection a fuse provides - so use CAUTION!

picking up what i'm throwing down?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
23 (0.31/day)
System Name My Rig
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.3 GHz
Motherboard Aorus B450 Elite
Cooling Be Quiet Pure rock 2
Memory 32 GB Corsair DDR4 - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060
Storage 2 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Display(s) 1440p 144hz + 1080p 144hz
Case Corsair 220T
Power Supply Corsair CX650f
Mouse Corsair harpoon
Keyboard Corsair k95 mk2 Platinum MX Speed
Could these be the fuses? And what do i need to look for when checking resistors? because almost all of them give no reading while the fuses are at 0.00. Is it the same for resistors?
 

Attachments

  • 20211113_230450.jpg
    20211113_230450.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 83
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,569 (5.03/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Even if they were fuses they would be for the port they are near.

Question for the experts here; do graphics cards use self healing (PTC) fuses?

I have a washing machine that would keep blowing a fuse after running for a bit, which I eventually figured out was shorted windings in the pump (which was still working); the great thing was that the PTC fuse would cool down and so reset. Same thing for one of my digital multi-meters, the fuse for the current resets after cooling down.
Resettable fuse - Wikipedia

I also have an ATX breakout board that turns a PC power supply into a stand alone supply; it has PTC fuses, so I don't have to worry about shorting the supply.
 

Attachments

  • ATX breakout board.jpg
    ATX breakout board.jpg
    134.3 KB · Views: 33
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
23 (0.31/day)
System Name My Rig
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.3 GHz
Motherboard Aorus B450 Elite
Cooling Be Quiet Pure rock 2
Memory 32 GB Corsair DDR4 - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060
Storage 2 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Display(s) 1440p 144hz + 1080p 144hz
Case Corsair 220T
Power Supply Corsair CX650f
Mouse Corsair harpoon
Keyboard Corsair k95 mk2 Platinum MX Speed
The solder blob doesn't look good
I have seen some pictures about it and i dont think it an issue. all of the Asus cards have those blobs
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
666 (0.26/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus TUF Z590 wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage 2tb SanDisk ultra, pny1311 240Gb.
Case cheap!
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
Could these be the fuses? And what do i need to look for when checking resistors? because almost all of them give no reading while the fuses are at 0.00. Is it the same for resistors?
one thing i must admit first off - i am far from the most proficient at using a multimeter off the top of me head.

can i tell you how i've seen others find fuses?
yes.

can i tell you exactly how?
no. i am sorry.

for now, posting pics are very helpful, thanks for that. but for me - i would need the card and a multimeter (with it's manual/a text book *ouch*) in hand to know for sure.

what i do know is the burden is on you sorry- it's gonna be a long ride unless someone who know better *pops in the thread*
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
23 (0.31/day)
System Name My Rig
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.3 GHz
Motherboard Aorus B450 Elite
Cooling Be Quiet Pure rock 2
Memory 32 GB Corsair DDR4 - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060
Storage 2 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Display(s) 1440p 144hz + 1080p 144hz
Case Corsair 220T
Power Supply Corsair CX650f
Mouse Corsair harpoon
Keyboard Corsair k95 mk2 Platinum MX Speed
So while probing things i noticed that some of the conductors and vrm's would only measure after scraping them a bit with the probe. They dont look corroded or so.
I have thought about 'reflowing' the gpu. would that help to "clean" the gpu?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
666 (0.26/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus TUF Z590 wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage 2tb SanDisk ultra, pny1311 240Gb.
Case cheap!
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
if you are sure the problem is not a blown fuse, then a reflow (aka an oven bake) is not a bad idea.

however that does come with its caveats . . won't last long - find a a replacement.

edit: what you need to scrape off for the probe doesn't mean the contact/PCB layer has an issue, yeah?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,174 (1.08/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Here's one of the fuses circled in red. I'd check that one first.

20211113_141406.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
23 (0.31/day)
System Name My Rig
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.3 GHz
Motherboard Aorus B450 Elite
Cooling Be Quiet Pure rock 2
Memory 32 GB Corsair DDR4 - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060
Storage 2 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Display(s) 1440p 144hz + 1080p 144hz
Case Corsair 220T
Power Supply Corsair CX650f
Mouse Corsair harpoon
Keyboard Corsair k95 mk2 Platinum MX Speed
I think i might try to oven bake it. some of the parts do look a bit corroded:

I did my best trying to take a picture of it.
Here's one of the fuses circled in red. I'd check that one first.
I checked the presumably fuse and it has a resistance of 1.41 kΩ *
* i don't know if its the right scale
 

Attachments

  • 20211113_235237.jpg
    20211113_235237.jpg
    960.4 KB · Views: 38
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,174 (1.08/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
I think i might try to oven bake it. some of the parts do look a bit corroded:

I did my best trying to take a picture of it.

I checked the presumably fuse and it has a resistance of 1.41 kΩ *
* i don't know if its the right scale
You don't measure a fuse for resistance. You measure continuity. Either it's broken or it's not.

A lot of the times fuses look like Inductors, but generally larger.

Watch the traces. The fuse is the link between to hot lines. So positive voltage on both sides when fuse is good.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
23 (0.31/day)
System Name My Rig
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.3 GHz
Motherboard Aorus B450 Elite
Cooling Be Quiet Pure rock 2
Memory 32 GB Corsair DDR4 - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060
Storage 2 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Display(s) 1440p 144hz + 1080p 144hz
Case Corsair 220T
Power Supply Corsair CX650f
Mouse Corsair harpoon
Keyboard Corsair k95 mk2 Platinum MX Speed
You measure continuity
If i understood you correctly, its very consistent with the 1.41 but when i move the probe a bit its jumps around a bit and then goes back to 1.41 is that oke?
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,174 (1.08/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
If i understood you correctly, its very consistent with the 1.41 but when i move the probe a bit its jumps around a bit and then goes back to 1.41 is that oke?
You should have very little to no ohms when measuring a fuse.
So I don't think you are measuring a fuse, the last picture I have no idea what you was trying to show us.

.5 or less would be a fuse reading. Should be closer to .1 really.

Again, measuring continuity. If your multimeter has that setting, it may beep when you touch the leads. That is how some multimeters test continuity.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2021
Messages
23 (0.31/day)
System Name My Rig
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @4.3 GHz
Motherboard Aorus B450 Elite
Cooling Be Quiet Pure rock 2
Memory 32 GB Corsair DDR4 - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) RTX 2060
Storage 2 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Display(s) 1440p 144hz + 1080p 144hz
Case Corsair 220T
Power Supply Corsair CX650f
Mouse Corsair harpoon
Keyboard Corsair k95 mk2 Platinum MX Speed
Here's one of the fuses circled in red. I'd check that one first.
Well I don't think its a fuse like you said, doing the continuity test it didn't beep and gave a value of 1430. So I thinks that its a resistor because the small one next to it has the same value


the last picture I have no idea what you was trying to show us.
That one was about the "what looks like corrosion" on some of the solder.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,174 (1.08/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Well I don't think its a fuse like you said, doing the continuity test it didn't beep and gave a value of 1430. So I thinks that its a resistor because the small one next to it has the same value



That one was about the "what looks like corrosion" on some of the solder.
It's gotta be a fuse right there. However I can't follow the trace because I can't see it in the picture. Follow the trace +12v to the fuse and measure it. If it's not that one, then it's another.

And if you do not have continuity, then it's a broken fuse.

Remember, the fuse is always at the start of the circuit.

Also, I want to mention, when a fuse pops, it's usually audible and you'll see it burnt. I don't see this in your pictures. Did you hear a pop?

Perhaps a reflow is a good idea. So far not sure.

Did a google, looks like Sapphire has different style fuses, so can't use that PCB for comparison either. It's completely different.

Probably be easier if I looked for a schematic?? Not sure if I'll find one though.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,574 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
You don't measure a fuse for resistance. You measure continuity. Either it's broken or it's not.

A lot of the times fuses look like Inductors, but generally larger.

Watch the traces. The fuse is the link between to hot lines. So positive voltage on both sides when fuse is good.
You can use resistance to find continuity, however you must have a known good component to know for sure what is bad.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,174 (1.08/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
You can use resistance to find continuity, however you must have a known good component to know for sure what is bad.
Continuity of a fuse should have a resistance of near 0.1 ohms. That's all I know. lol.

I should say 0.0 ohms. It would be considered part of the trace until it popped.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,574 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hello everyone.
I have this gpu (Rx 570 Asus expedition non-oc) I got from a friend, Its doesn't work: the fans don't spin and the screen stays black.
I think its a blown fuse so i took it apart but i cant seem to find a fuse on the board.
Can someone tell me where they are?

View attachment 225006View attachment 225007View attachment 225008View attachment 225009View attachment 225010

Yes a lot of pictures.

Plug the card into a system that has an igp/apu or a known good card (put into spare slot) boot from the good devices and then ge
Continuity of a fuse should have a resistance of near 0.1 ohms. That's all I know. lol.

I should say 0.0 ohms. It would be considered part of the trace until it popped.
Different ratings in fuses
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
1,569 (5.03/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Top