1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help ME! flash wrong VGA Bios! help

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by nc.studio, Apr 5, 2008.

  1. nc.studio New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :banghead:
    I'm new here, please help me fix my 3870X2! I was flash wrong bios, so It does not work at all:mad:
     
  2. triop

    triop New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    do you have onboard graphics?
     
  3. nc.studio New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My PC system is!

    My PC system is:
    Mainboard X38 (dual PCIe 16x) I have another VGA card (not on board), thanks you, please tell me how to fix the problem.
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,913 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,577
    try using the serch function at top for blind flashing or I think it may be possible to flash with the old GFX and the 3870 in at the same time...you just need to be certain to use the right ID to flash to.

    This topic has been covered tho already for sure.

    May be quicker to search than to wait for those same few with experience in this exact endeavour!
     
    nc.studio says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,758 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    use the other vga card. then flash the 3k with the factory bios. you don't have to blind flash if you have another card. PM if you need more help
     
    nc.studio says thanks.
  6. nc.studio New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank sneekypeet! after flash wrong bios, my HD 3870X2 not let my PC boot, so I have replace my old vga card to boot the PC. Right now the first PCIe 16x is the old card, the second PCIe is 3870X2 (but my pc is not show it up). any boby, help me please!
     
  7. CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,758 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    that's fine if it doesn't show it up. it won't if there's a bad flash. just restart and run ATIFLASH.

    run this command- atiflash -i

    and tell me if it sees your card then. IT SHOULD!!!
     
    nc.studio says thanks.
  8. MiST91 Guest

    or if that doesn't work, find your self a spare PCI (not express) graphics card, then try that, it can somtimes mess up flashing software having the card you dont want to flash as primary and the one you do secondary.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,758 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    You can try this too, but it should work with pci-e. Always work for me.

    when you go to flash the card use this command.

    atiflash -p -f 1 (then the bios name)


    the one stands for the second slot, 0 is for the primary.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2008
  10. nc.studio New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks CrackerJack!

    now I'm out to fix, thanks a lot!

    ==================
    thanks everybody.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)