• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

help me laptop says it has 384 mb of ram

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11
#1
ok i am curuantly at my dad's house in france. And his laptop has ben runing extremly slow it says it has 384 mb of ram but ik it came with 512 mb of so im thinking one of the sticks is damaged. i would like to know a good online store to buy the ram from like newegg but in france. allso ik the ram is ddr but I dont know if it's 200 pins or the 172 pins. his laptop is a hp compaq nx6125 .and should i put 2gb or 1gb and i actualy dont know how much ram it can take but im gessing 2 GB cus it has 2 slots.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2

Gam'ster

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
980 (0.25/day)
Likes
109
Location
South Wales, UK
System Name Toshiba L350
Processor AMD QL-65
Motherboard Toshiba 780G/SB700
Cooling Laptop
Memory 3GB
Video Card(s) ATI HD3000
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 17" Widescreen
Case Black/Carbon effect
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Brick
Software WIN7
#3
Hmm id rn cpu-z and determine how much ram it can take and it will give the serial no of the ram already in it and from that you can determine what pin amount ram you have also it will give the speed/bandwidth.

Also tigger raises a good point.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
Looks like its ddr333(pc2700)

I think it is taking 128mb for the graphics,you can change it to 64 or 32 in the bios ;)

CPU options:
- AMD Turion 64 Mobile (1.6GHz)
- AMD Turion 64 Mobile (2.0GHz)
Chipset: ATi Radeon Xpress 200M Chipset
HD Bus: Ultra ATA/100
Front Side Bus options:
Memory Speed options: PC2700 DDR333 200pin SDRAM SODIMM
 

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11
#5
ok thanks but where can i buy some ram. i dont know any french online stores
 

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11
#6
cpu z says that the cpu is runing at 798 insted of 1.60 GHZ
 

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11
#7
nvm i just noticed it clock's up when you do somthing cpu intensive
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
216 (0.06/day)
Likes
54
System Name Desktop Rig\Laptop HP 8510P
Processor Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2ghz 24/7 \Intel T9300 @ 2.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D Premium Motherboard\HP 8510P
Cooling Custom Water\Laptop cooling
Memory 6x2GB DDR3 PC3-16000\3Gb of 667
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 680 SLI \HD2600 256Mb
Storage Intel 240GB, WD 1TB Black \OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
Display(s) 3 x 27" 2560x1400 \15.4" laptop widescreen
Case Xigmatek Elysium\it's a laptop
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Bravura 7.1\SoundMAX onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX850W\90W power brick
Software Windows 7 Pro x64\Windows 7 Pro x64
#8
cpu z says that the cpu is runing at 798 insted of 1.60 GHZ
thats cool and quiet. a power saving feature

the cpu will clock up to 1.6 when it is in use
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#9
It must be using speedstep maybe.You should be able to turn it off in the bios.

I dont speak french so i cant help you with a french online store,sorry bud.
 

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11
#10
is it hard to change a laptop's cpu if i get the AMD Turion 64 Mobile (2.0GHz) would i see a big difrence from the 1.6 or should i just get 2 bg of ram for it
 

Gam'ster

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
980 (0.25/day)
Likes
109
Location
South Wales, UK
System Name Toshiba L350
Processor AMD QL-65
Motherboard Toshiba 780G/SB700
Cooling Laptop
Memory 3GB
Video Card(s) ATI HD3000
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 17" Widescreen
Case Black/Carbon effect
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Brick
Software WIN7
#11
Same ive been trying to google an online store but ive no clue sorry.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#12
I dont even know if you can change the chip.Just get 2gb of ddr333(pc2700) ram,it should be fine.
 

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11
#13
i gess ill just use the french amazon
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#14
Remember 200pin type :)
 

fafa21

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
376 (0.10/day)
Likes
9
Location
U.S.A. maine portland
Processor Intel core 2quad q9650 @3.6 ghz
Motherboard asus x38 p5e
Cooling 7 fans
Memory 6gb 1X1 gb ozc and 2X2 gb gskills 1066mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor hd 6870 1gb 256-bit GDDR5
Storage 1t seagate barracuda and one 300 gb velociraptor and 250 GB wd caviar for backups
Display(s) ultrasharp dell 22 inchs
Case antec 900
Audio Device(s) x-plosion 7.1 cinema.
Power Supply extreme rosewill 750 watts
Software triple boot windows xp pro 32bit and vista home premium 64bit and windows 7 premuim
Benchmark Scores 4330 in 3dmark 11

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#16
Either will be fine,it will only run at 333 only,so it does not really matter if its ddr400.