• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help Me Overclock AMD FX 4130 Properly.

Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.19/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#1
*Update* I bought a new board. I got the Asrock 970 Extreme4 for $60 brand new.

So far so good!
:)

I recently put together an AMD system.

Specs are as follow.

MSI 970A G43 motherboard

AMD FX-4130 w/ Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus 120mm fan.

Crucial Ballstix Sport 8GB @ 1600mhz

Graphics is an MSI GTX 560 Ti 448 core OC Power Edition. (currently OC'd to 840 mhz from 750 stock) and is stable with very nice temps in the 50's in game and low to mid 30's at idle.

Antec EA-650 watt PSU

Case is an MSI Interceptor Ravager with two 120mm Intake fans. One side, one front.

Three 120mm Exhaust fans. One rear exhaust, two top exhaust.

I currently have it clocked to 4.2 ghz and stable.

But, I am looking to get more out of this beast without damaging the system.

I am not scared to increase voltage etc. just looking for a little guidance in doing so.

TIA for any and all input :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.19/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#2
No one has any advice or info they can share? :confused:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,392 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,031
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
It's very simple.

Bump up the CPU multiplier and test for stability at 4.3ghz. If stable, repeat. If not, add a bump of voltage until it is stable. Repeat if you want to go further.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.19/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#4
Thank you. :)

This is my first AMD build and I was used to Intel systems.

Just don't want to fry my new chip lol
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,392 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,031
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
If you OC'd on an Intel K series chip (unlocked), it's just as easy with AMD.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.19/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#6
If you OC'd on an Intel K series chip (unlocked), it's just as easy with AMD.
Thank you.

I am just trying to be safe here.

I appreciate your response :toast:
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,435 (2.31/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#7
Make sure you use LinX or another program to load your CPU and then carefully watch your temps. Need to stress your system after over clocking to make sure it is stable:)
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#8
I find it simplest to have my clocks stock....set my vcore to the max I want it (check temps at full load)......then adjust the multi with 30min testing between increments, till it becomes unstable. when unstable go back down one and test for longer and then adjust voltage for perfection. test test test

and then theres the LLC etc.....
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.19/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#9
Okay I have this thing running stable @ 4.3 with stock voltages running Prime95.

One thing that is getting me, though is this one temp in CPUID HW.

The TMPIN1 temp is getting in the 80's range, I am wondering if it is a sensor for the VRM's? or a sensor close to them? the VRM chips on this board are not heatsinked. Not sure why MSI cheaped out when they sinked the two boards above this one? I am guessing it's because they added the USB 3.0 front header on this one and left it out on the boards above this one.

Here is a screenshot of my temps. I hope I am reading them right?

Also. that shot shows my system at 4.2 but it is at 4.3 and steady with the same temps.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#10
try hwinfo64 or coretemp etc, I found with hardware monitor it would literally make up new temp sensors.

its always best to test a few monitors against one another, in order to test the reliability of them.

and by stock voltages do you mean auto? because stock has a wide range, I think its from 1.30 - 1.45?! and your highest 1.440 could get a higher frequency im sure.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.19/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#11
try hwinfo64 or coretemp etc, I found with hardware monitor it would literally make up new temp sensors.

its always best to test a few monitors against one another, in order to test the reliability of them.

and by stock voltages do you mean auto? because stock has a wide range, I think its from 1.30 - 1.45?! and your highest 1.440 could get a higher frequency im sure.
Yes, auto.

I have tried Coretemp, Realtemp, HWINFO64 and some others and they are all showing the high temp on the TMPIN1.

I really am perplexed as to what that one is?

One thing I am going to do is buy some heatsinks for the VRM chips as this board soesn't have them.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,392 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,031
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#12
You don't want to do that when overclocking. Best thing to do right now is to put the CPU back at stock clocks and read the voltage under load. Then take that voltage (your actual stock voltage) in input that into the bios. Then overclock from there.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
One thing I am going to do is buy some heatsinks for the VRM chips as this board soesn't have them.
I was just going to say, before you start upping the voltage to the CPU put heatsinks on the VRMs. They get hot even at stock, and I wouldn't be surprised if that high sensor is located in the VRM area of the board.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.19/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#14
Okay I set the clock back to stock and ran Prime95.

My TMPIN1 maxed at 69c and my voltage peaked at 1.448

My CPU never went past 48c
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#15
You don't want to do that when overclocking. Best thing to do right now is to put the CPU back at stock clocks and read the voltage under load. Then take that voltage (your actual stock voltage) in input that into the bios. Then overclock from there.
If you bothered to look at the screenshot, you will notice that the voltages ARE the standard FX voltages (looks like LLC is enabled and power saving is off however).

Op just play with your multiplier, not your ref bus. Your Packagetemp (coretemp) just make sure that doesn't go over 62C. But yes, without VRM cooling your motherboard won't last very long.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#16
i would advise you to get some heatsinks for your motherboard VRM first. that board is kind of famous for burning out its VRM under overclocking :)
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
340 (0.19/day)
Likes
44
Location
Central Illinois
Processor AMD FX-8370 Black Edition
Motherboard MSI 990FXA Gaming Board
Cooling Corsair H-105 liquid cooler
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16GB 1866 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Samsung 840 250GB SSD/ Samsung 850 EVO 500GB Storage
Display(s) Acer 25 inch 2560x1440
Case Corsair 760-T
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova Full Modular 750w
Mouse CM Storm
Keyboard CM Storm
#17
I did not see anything about LLC in my Bios. :confused:

i would advise you to get some heatsinks for your motherboard VRM first. that board is kind of famous for burning out its VRM under overclocking :)
I am going to do that when I figure out which size my chips are so I do not buy the wrong heatsinks :)

Here is a pic of my Motherboard.



Do these appear to be the right size copper sinks for those chips?

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#18
tbh I wouldn't waste the expense, just done some research in your motherboard and well DDD mentioned the vrms burn out, that's because it comes with a massive warning not overclock.

https://spreadsheets.google.com/spr...D79Joo7tdE9xMUFlMEVWeFhuckJEVF9aMmtpUFE&gid=0

get a new board

oh and when overclocking my 4100 I tend to have auto voltages up to 4.4ghz stable (it keeps the temps down on the vrms), and higher frequencies I need to lock on higher voltages and adjust LLC accordingly. but my board is crap and 4+1 phase design and throttles when vrms are hot, it can keep full load and full voltage up to 30 seconds (yes I even timed how long throttling takes for benching purposes)

more voltage and more LLC = higher vrm temps and when full load....itll burn ya finger on the vrms.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,392 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,031
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#19
If you bothered to look at the screenshot, you will notice that the voltages ARE the standard FX voltages (looks like LLC is enabled and power saving is off however).

Op just play with your multiplier, not your ref bus. Your Packagetemp (coretemp) just make sure that doesn't go over 62C. But yes, without VRM cooling your motherboard won't last very long.
I did bother to look at the screenshot. Are you sure that it IS the standard voltage? My FX chip didn't have that high of voltage.

*Lazermonkey, please be sure to edit your posts instead of double/triple posting. Thanks. :)
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
1,550 (0.37/day)
Likes
291
Location
City 17, California, U.S.A.
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ stock.//AMD 5350 AM1 APU.
Motherboard Biostar TA970.//ASUS AM1M-A.
Cooling AMD vanilla Wraith.//APU oem.//80mm Arctic Cooling fans both cases.
Memory 16G G.Skill TridentX @ 1866mhz.//8G low/low Crucial 1600mhz.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 8G RX 580 Pulse @ stock.//APU.
Storage Seagate 1T SSHD.//WD 500g Black.
Display(s) Dell S2309W 23" 1080p, shared.
Case Blue Chenming 301KB. (Vintage beauty).//Antec NSK 1300.
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer.//Onboard Realtek.//Shared Logitech 2.1's.
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610.//Antec NSK 1380 psu.
Mouse Logitech MX518, shared.
Keyboard Logitech K310, shared.
Software Windows 10 Pro x64.//Windows 10 Home x64, XP Pro x86 dual boot.
Benchmark Scores FX rig is the gamer.//AM1 rig is the daily driver.
#20

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
I did bother to look at the screenshot. Are you sure that it IS the standard voltage? My FX chip didn't have that high of voltage.
Yeah, I was just about to say, neither did mine. But AFAIK there isn't a "standard" voltage, the VID will be different from each chip due to binning so the stock voltage will be different. So your advice is sound, set everything back to stock, read voltages, and manually put that voltage in as a starting point.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#22
I did not see anything about LLC in my Bios. :confused:



I am going to do that when I figure out which size my chips are so I do not buy the wrong heatsinks :)

Here is a pic of my Motherboard.

http://www.cpusolutions.com/store/pc/catalog/970a-g43_1435_detail.jpg

Do these appear to be the right size copper sinks for those chips?

http://www.enzotechnology.com/images/mos-c1_photo2.jpg

i think this was made for MSI motherboards, and should fit yours. just measure the hole distance in your motherboard. and compare to the specs here
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/7...yte_-_87mm_x_16mm_x_296mm.html?tl=g40c16s1859

or look at these too
http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g40...t_HeatsinksCoolers-Mosfet_Chipsink-Page1.html

still wont fit?
get these http://www.frozencpu.com/products/7...m_x_65mm_x_12mm_-_10_Pack.html?tl=g40c16s1859 and put them on individually.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#23
That is what I suggested in his other thread.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#24
so did i. i thought it was someone else there :S i suck at remembering names.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
172 (0.09/day)
Likes
38
Processor 4GHz intel i7 950
Motherboard GA X58-USB3 F5
Cooling Noctua C12P
Memory 48GB G.Skill RipjawsZ
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 480 873/1746/1848
Storage Intel 520 Series
Display(s) HP 2210m
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Antec True Power New 750
Software Windows 8 Pro
#25
Yeah, I was just about to say, neither did mine. But AFAIK there isn't a "standard" voltage, the VID will be different from each chip due to binning so the stock voltage will be different. So your advice is sound, set everything back to stock, read voltages, and manually put that voltage in as a starting point.
Pretty much every Piledriver is 1.4125v at Turbo, being the highest of the VID range.
I've personally used two 8350's with this VID and a 6100. The Default P1 state has also been 1.375 on all 3 CPUs. Give or take 0.05v depending on the motherboard for the real voltage.

AMD don't really have crazy fluctuating default VIDs like intel, which is why you can undervolt the VID to the extreme very often. I have a II 240 which undervolted by ~.35v, my old 1055T went down .5v. never undervolted the 8350s however because I only ever went upwards in clock speed :p