1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me Overclock my e8400 past 4.5ghz

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by quasar923, Oct 19, 2008.

  1. quasar923 Guest

    I currently have my e8400 at 4.05ghz at 9x450 fsb. my system is listed in my specs. im looking to get over 4.5ghz 24/7 stable and to have safe coolish temps. i would like it to not go over 60C full load and to be under 50C idle. i have raised the NB and cpu Vcore voltages up some.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,938 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    good luck unless you have a phase those temps will never happen.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. quasar923 Guest

    would it be safe to be over 60C on load? I would like to reach 4.5ghz on air and the cooler i have now, the Sunbeam Freezer Pro, Direct Touch Heat Pipe.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    If you can't get any more FSB raise the FSB voltage a little.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,645 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,145
    tjmax for your chip is 100c or 105c. It's safe to go over 60c, however going above 1.45volts on your chip will do damage if you are going above that voltage all the time.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Sig...
     
  7. Eternal

    Eternal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    72 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Old Britannia...
    4.5 eh?.. Thats gonna be a tad tricky to run stable 24/7. Unless, as spearman said, raising the voltages. But, again... Stability. Uhum :s
     
  8. infrared

    infrared

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,397 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Is your chip a C0 or E0 revision?

    If you went for 4.2ghz it would work out quite nicely. My E0 chip needs 1.32v for 4.2ghz, which keeps things nice and cool.

    467 x 9 = 4.2ghz.

    Set a 4:5 divider on the ram, giving you 1168mhz on the ram, and timings to 5-5-5-10.

    With that ram (assuming it will reach 1250mhz), you can overclock to 500fsb on that divider, giving you 4.5GHz on the cpu. This would be great for running benchmarks but i'd recommend against using it 24/7. It's your call though. Keep in mind that the 45nm chips will start to degrade with more than 1.4v
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. quasar923 Guest

    i got it to 4.14 ghz (460x9) ram is at 1100 somthing 5-5-5-15, would it be much faster if i put it down to 5-5-5-15?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    What fan do you use and if you have a C0 stepping the highest u could get is aprox. 4.25
     
  11. quasar923 Guest

    im the fan that came with the CPU cooler, its pretty powerful, id say maybe 70 cfm or more. i also dont know what stepping the cpu is. can i find out in CPU-z?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Holy sh*t if its already on stock fan and you got 4.14 GHz then you got a pretty good OC. If you buy an aftermarket one then 5 GHz will be easy.
     
  13. quasar923 Guest

    no its not stock heat sink, im using the sunbeam freazer pro, DTH, read my original post, im just using the fan that came with it on it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    4.5GHz? Get at least a Zalman CNPS9700LED and maybe we'll talk.
     
  15. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Nah S1283 is better, half the price performs much better.
     
  16. infrared

    infrared

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,397 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2008
  18. quasar923 Guest

    i just bought the sunbeam cooler, im not getting another one.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. blastboy

    blastboy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    45 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    What are you temps at your current speed?
     
  20. amit_talkin

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    157 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    India
    I am running my E8400 E0 @ 4.05 GHz ( 450x9) 24x7 on 1.275v. Ambient temp. is around 35c.
    Idle temp. is 43C and on 100% load it goes up to 62c.However whenever I restart my PC it always bootup with default 3GHz speed.so I always have to full shutdown system instead of restart. but I dont care abt it bcaz system is stable.
    I have OCZ Vendetta2 CPU cooler. FSB voltage raised to normal+ 0.15v.
    [​IMG]

    now to get just 450Mhz more I had to increase vcore up to 1.425, FSB voltage normal+ 0.3v , that time temp. was idle = 48c.and went upto 74C on 100% load..although It was not stable..so I decided to stay at 4.05 GHz. ( ignore EIST vdrops on both screenshots..I have tested 4.5Ghz with EIST and C1E disabled..but was unstable).
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2008
  21. dalekdukesboy

    dalekdukesboy

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    602 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    that's funny...I've got a similar but different setup so to speak I have an evga 680i mobo with latest bios and the e8400 with c0 stepping and the highest it gets (so far) is 4.27 ghz and I've gotten it to boot higher than that and even into winows and running programs...BUT it flakes out and for example the windows xp system information tool starts telling me the mhz is 105 or something crazy when it should say 4400, and also I started playing a game and it skipped a few of the intro screens...loaded the game ok, but then proceeded to render the game at about 1,000 times the speed it should have been and a couple times it rebooted itself. Anyhow it's just funny that unless there is a setting I've missed to tweak spearman seems almost prophetically right on the max cpu overclock in this case...still, I don't think going higher than even 4 ghz for typical usage is smart, technically the HIGHEST voltage the processor tolerates for safe long term useage according to intel is 1.36 volts. Is it false or just purposely a very conservative "cover their asses" rating? Could be, but admittedly unless longevity isn't an issue I can't imagine using any more than say 1.45 volts TOPS for continued use...and even that I believe is the very top range and more than likely would shorten the processors life to some extent.
     
  22. Bigjohn

    Bigjohn

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    400 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    WOW.
    What motherboard? 4.05ghz on air is an awesome overclock. Does that thing sound like a JET taking off or WHAT?

    TJMax on the 45nm chips is actually about 95c. the guy who wrote REAL TEMP tested this heavily. I totally agree on the voltage thing.

    Yeah. I'm on water (swiftech h2o 220 kit) and my temps are in the 40's idle, 53 or so on load (transcoding video, with all my other stuff running too...) What are your temps on AIR? What ARE your current voltages?
     
  23. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    [​IMG]

    c0. this is about the right voltages for 4.5ghz on a c0. the e0 i got yesterday is managing 4.5 prime stable at 1.352v. for refrence i always run 9 mult.

    btw this chip is dead and gone too. ran 1.8ish volts benching the shit out of it for about a month before it died. the degredation @ 1.4 is a bit of a myth really. its really more around 1.5 before you get any noticable degredation.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)