• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help, my computer won't boot.

Havoc151

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
The other day my computer froze so I held down the power button to turn it off but now when I hit the power button it looks and sounds like everything turns on ( MB, hdd, graphics card, watercooling etc....) but nothing shows on my monitor ( the monitor works fine). And also now when I hold down the power button to turn it off, nothing happens, it won't turn off!
Please help, any advice would be appreciated!
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#2
Hmmm the 2 reasons i'd suspect would be...

1: PSU - not giving out enough power.

2: Graphics Card.

From what you've mentioned theres not much to go on at the moment.
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#3
You should tell us the specs of you computer, so we have somthing to go by.
Was it overclocked?
have you tryed reseating the ram and any other cards you might have on the motherboard eg graphics card, sound card, and cards?
unplug everything and plug it back in?
do you have the mother board manual? you may need to clear cmos

use the prosess of elemination, take out anything your computer dosent need to run, eg sound card or extra ram.

try to tell us about your computer
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#4
can you tell if its booting up? can you here the windows startup sound?
dose the computer beep at you when you turn it on? it it dose how many times? again check you manual, if you dont have one find the model of your motherboard and download it.

Have you added any new hardwear recentley?
 

Havoc151

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Specs: Asus crosshair motherboard
3gig of mem
Amd 5200 black CPU (not overclocked)
Nvidia 8800gt (not overclocked)
Seagate raptor HDD
Watercooled
I have not added anything new to it!
I can't tell if it's booting, can't hear any beeps. Didn't even think to listen for windows sounds. I've tried taking all cards out and putting them back in. I put a different graphics card in with the same results so it can't be the graphics card.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
614 (0.14/day)
Likes
76
Location
New Sewickley, PA
System Name six pack
Processor Phenom II X6 1090T BE
Motherboard ASRock 890FX Deluxe3
Cooling Cool-it ECO ALC Water cooler
Memory 4GB G-Skill Flares CL7
Video Card(s) 1GB HIS HD4890 930core / 1025mem 4100mhz effective
Storage 320Gb Seagate Barracuda (w/perpendiular recording) and 750GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) Acer B273HU 2048 x 1152 native resolution
Case Xoxide X-Sentric Professional Series w/250mm Fan
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2 Value
Power Supply 750 Watt Apevia Warlock
Software Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit (w/dreamscene patch)/Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06:10,516 3Dmark Vantage: P8537
#7
I doubt it but the gpu may have died. Can you try with onboard video or a backup card?

Try clearing C-mos to reset the bios.

Could it be your monitor? try the monitor on a different computer or a different monitor on the broken computer.

While powered off, reconnect all of the power connections internally, something may have jostled loose.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#8
I doubt it but the gpu may have died. Can you try with onboard video or a backup card?

Try clearing C-mos to reset the bios.

Could it be your monitor? try the monitor on a different computer or a different monitor on the broken computer.

While powered off, reconnect all of the power connections internally, something may have jostled loose.
He mentioned he tried a diffrent card, i do agree on clearing the CMOS though.
 

DR.Death

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
1,737 (0.38/day)
Likes
63
Location
Canada
System Name death machine
Processor intel 6600 quad core cooled by scythe mutgen 2
Motherboard dfi lanparty UT P35-T2R
Cooling air
Memory crucial ballistic tracer 4 gb
Video Card(s) nvida 260 gtx
Storage segate baracuta 500 GB , western digital blue 1TB
Display(s) asus 23.6 vh242h
Case lian-li pc-a70 full tower
Power Supply 650 watt Antec Earth Watts
Software windows 7 and lots of other titles
#9
it sounds like the motherboard if there is no beeps or any response the that's probably what it is
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#10
it sounds like the motherboard if there is no beeps or any response the that's probably what it is
We shouldn't assume that he has a speaker connected to his motherboard... I don't hear no beeps at boot due to that very reason.
 

Havoc151

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
The monitor works fine, I reset CMOS by takin the battery out for 5min then put it back in. Same problem, still no solution.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#12
What PSU?

And double check all power connections on motherboard (AND VIDEO CARD), reseat all memory.

Sounds like a weak PSU, or inproperly seated memory.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,476 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,026
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#13
Id re spot the RAM check it first, then re spot the GPU, and if that doesn't work, ya Motherboard is dead.

Ive had this happen once before, it turns on, everything is moving, fans etc, but the screen stays black? means the mobo just died =/
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
1,993 (0.52/day)
Likes
268
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
Could be the PSU not providing enough juice to the system. Try checking every connection as everybody else suggested. That happened once to my mate his PSU was dieing.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.39/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 6700K Skylake
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA ACX 2.0 Superclocked GTX 980 ti SLI'd
Storage 2TB Samsung 850 Pro , 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win7 x64 Professional
#16
motherboard due to no error beeps.... also its an ASUS. Call Asus tech support for your region. ;)
 

BradleyKZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#17
Ive had this problem three times recently and its been weak power supply all three times. Did your pc randomly switch off when playing games ever?
 

Havoc151

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
So I bought and installed a new MB, still nothing so I assume it is not my Asus MB. Is it possible that it could be my HDD, I don't hear it reading when I turn it on, and there is still no bios screen. The screen stays black. Any other suggestions?
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#19
So I bought and installed a new MB, still nothing so I assume it is not my Asus MB. Is it possible that it could be my HDD, I don't hear it reading when I turn it on, and there is still no bios screen. The screen stays black. Any other suggestions?
well try unpluging your hdd then as your computer will still post with no Hard Drive
 

DR.Death

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
1,737 (0.38/day)
Likes
63
Location
Canada
System Name death machine
Processor intel 6600 quad core cooled by scythe mutgen 2
Motherboard dfi lanparty UT P35-T2R
Cooling air
Memory crucial ballistic tracer 4 gb
Video Card(s) nvida 260 gtx
Storage segate baracuta 500 GB , western digital blue 1TB
Display(s) asus 23.6 vh242h
Case lian-li pc-a70 full tower
Power Supply 650 watt Antec Earth Watts
Software windows 7 and lots of other titles
#20
could the CPU cause this
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#21
could the CPU cause this
It could well be, i wonder if he's tryed each RAM stick separetley?
i think he tryed a diffrent vid card, so its probley not that.
so maybe the psu like a few ppl have alredy said
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.03/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#22
Yo it happend to me a few times do this
1. unplug computer from outlet
2. hit power button on computer ----It will try to start but theres no electricity
3. remove battery mobo battery
4. wait 15 mins
5. put battery back in
6. plug it back up
7. Start Pc
 

troyrae360

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#23
Yo it happend to me a few times do this
1. unplug computer from outlet
2. hit power button on computer ----It will try to start but theres no electricity
3. remove battery mobo battery
4. wait 15 mins
5. put battery back in
6. plug it back up
7. Start Pc
Im not sure, but wouldnt the fact that he bought and installed another mobo allredy account for that?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.03/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#24
NVM didnt read the whole entire thread

what psu does that have?
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
732 (0.16/day)
Likes
87
Location
NY
System Name Ummmm...Mine
Processor I7 920 @ 4.2ghz @ 1.29v's load
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Custom 1/2 inch H20
Memory 3x2gb Patriot Sector 7 @2008Mhz 27-9-11-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 580 SC 900/1800/1090
Storage 1-Mushkin 60gb SSD 1-500GB WD Black and 2-1TB 32mb WD Black
Display(s) 25 inch Hanns-G 2ms
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Turtle Beach Catalina
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Pro Series-Modular
Software All Kinds...and then some.
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 11 P7066 Compare Link- http://3dmark.com/3dm11/251153
#25
So I bought and installed a new MB, still nothing so I assume it is not my Asus MB. Is it possible that it could be my HDD, I don't hear it reading when I turn it on, and there is still no bios screen. The screen stays black. Any other suggestions?


You have let us know what PSU your using.......It's very relevant in this situation..........it "sounds" like your PSU or CPU to me......I'm leaning more toward the latter though....do you have a spare compatible CPU around?