1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help needed, need new cpu, but abit is worthless

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dunnleed08, Dec 10, 2005.

  1. dunnleed08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    222 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in some sh@#%$!part of tennessee
    ...... I Need Help...please......pleease, Dont Make Me Call Abit's Tech Support...it'sits Like Getting A Monkey To Explain Its Actions....i Have A Pc Based On An Abit Is-10 V 2.0, And I Want To Upgrade The Cpu....i Am Unfortunately Alittle New To This, So I Want To Make Sure I Dont Spend 200 Bucks On Something That Isn't Fully Compatible.....so, If Anybody Know Which P4 Cpu With A Fsb Of 800mhz Runs Best With Abits Socket 478 Please Let Me Know...also, Is Hyper Threading Really Neccesary??

    P4 2.2ghx 400fsb....abit Is-10...radeon 9800 Pro All-in-wonder....two Dvd Burners, Hp And Lite-on
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. jeremymtc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Howdy,

    The absolute "best" socket 478 CPU you could run on that board would be the P4EE 3.73Ghz model, but even now it is quite spendy. A nice alternative would be a P4 Northwood 3.4 (fastest Northwood processor) or 3.2 Northy - both though a little hard to find now, and also a bit expensive considering their age, but sweet chips nonetheless. The high-end Northwoods do like high quality memory (OCZ non-VX Gold for example) for best performance, so you may want to take that into consideration.

    Hyperthreading on the older processors is not important at all if you are primarily gaming, but does have a measurable improvement if you are doing A/V encoding or multi-tasking. In my experience, it's not worth the bother to enable with the older Intels for general and gaming uses.

    Hope this helps.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. dunnleed08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    222 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in some sh@#%$!part of tennessee
    thank you

    ....!@$%!$^!#$^....i really wanted to take a pro's advice.....but, i had a nice big bit of money(my girlfriends, actually) burning a hole in my pocket...i just purchased a p4 prescott 3.0e gh/z socket 478, 800fsb, 1 mb cache..i wasn't to sure about the prrescott because so far i heard that they are no better than northwood(i some cases worse), but i had a coupon and got a good deal.

    by the by...do you think that will run, at least at an acceptable level, with kingston pc3200 valueram, or should i seriously consider dropping even more hard earned money into silicon............by the way, thank you for your advice..i've learned a great deal fromn xs's forums, you all really take care of each other

    ohh yeah, those two you suggested are 90nm tech. right?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. jeremymtc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey, that's not a bad cpu at all. You might just want to keep an eye on the temperature if doing any overclocking, but good score with your girlfriend's money :toast:. Kingston 3200 ought to do the job well enough, again, as long as you're not doing any crazy overclocking. Have fun with it!

    Cheers, Jeremy

    *edit - and btw, the Northwoods I mentioned are all 130nm, your Pressie is a 90nm part*
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. dunnleed08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    222 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in some sh@#%$!part of tennessee
    shyyyte, .13

    so, how do i find out if the is-10 runs on 90nm tech......need to find out, don't want to have to return anything to zipzoomfly(they are f@!#%!@ dic@#%!@ about that)


    ....ohh yeah, they'll give you all the money they earn if your, well, hard drives big enough.......ha, j/k<<----corny humor, i love it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. jeremymtc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Process won't matter, as long as it's socket 478. Don't worry about it :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. dunnleed08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    222 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in some sh@#%$!part of tennessee
    cool

    ...thats a load off...thanks for all the advice, and putting up with my ignorance, i just get alittle freaked when that much money is envolved, take it easy
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. tony929292

    tony929292 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    362 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    the 3.73 is not a 478 nor a 800 fsb cpu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. dunnleed08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    222 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in some sh@#%$!part of tennessee
    meaning to ask

    when i instal my new cpu...should i simply do the thing where you copy the files from your windows to disk to reopen driver and hardware signing(iforget the names of the files)...do a repair instal....or a fresh install.....again, i am going from a 2.2 ghz northwood fsb 400 to and 3.0 prescott 800 fsb....thanks for the help
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. tony929292

    tony929292 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    362 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    i a, pretty sure it like memory u dont have to do any thing
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. jeremymtc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You're right Tony, I was thinking of the 3.4EE Galatin, but wrote 3.73. Doh!

    Dunnleed, you should be OK with just a chipset driver update.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,205 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Florida
    LOL!!!! hahaha :laugh: that was sooooo random im not rippin on ur advice tony but its like



    "mr A" well what type of bread should i get?..."mr B" well sour dough is good..."mr A" i like whi...."TONY" those bannanas arent ripe........mr A and mr B together :eek:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. dunnleed08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    222 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    in some sh@#%$!part of tennessee
    huh

    wait a minute...i'm confused i should get banannas with white bread?
    (i kinda knew the 3.73 thing myself, i just wanted to be polite...)



    ...,,anyway, i'm not sure that i follow you on the chipset thing....is it that the chipset instal tells the comp. how to deal with hardware??? i guess that makes sense, thanks ya'll
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)