• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help needed with 59 fps stutter when playing a vsync locked, 60fps game .

Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#1
In games that I can run easily with vsync locked at 60FPS. For example -

Nail'd
FIFA 11
NFSHP

to name a few, they will sometimes/most of the time, flicker between 59fps/60/61. When it goes to 59FPS it causes stutter which throughout the course of a game, especially in sports or racing games can actually be very annoying. I have tried using D3Doverrider but it displays the same problem when that frame is dropped?

Is this a normal problem or is it my monitor?

Any solution to this as ideally I just want it locked hard to 60FPS?

EDIT - I do not have this issue with Bad Company 2 or Just Cause 2 and also when recording with Fraps I have noticed that it locks at 30fps and doesnt deviate down to 29fps or upto 31.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
921 (0.29/day)
Likes
186
Location
London, UK
Processor AMD FX 8350 Black Edition @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Samsung Green 16GB 30nm 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX HD 7950 DD 3GB @ 850/5000Mhz
Storage 240GB Intel 520 SSD + 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" QHD
Case Fractal Design R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760W
Mouse Corsair Raptor M40
Keyboard Corsair Raptor K50
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
whats the refresh rate of the monitor set to in the games?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,721 (0.59/day)
Likes
416
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green, 512 GB Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#5
Yeah, it is kind of odd... I remember Doom 3 used to drop to 59, but it didn't stutter or anything.
 

ctrain

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
393 (0.13/day)
Likes
72
#7
Not sure on the stuttering, but my guess otherwise is that you see the fps move because it's inaccurate by nature.

The frame time for 60 fps isn't a whole number, depending on how it's rounded the frame counter might be slightly off. The lower the fps, the more accurate it should be which might explain your 30 fps mystery of it not moving there.

1000 / 60 = 16.6667~
1000 / 16.6667 = 59.99988~


I just tried enabling vsync in Quake and it flickers from 59 to 60 rapidly.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
software in the background causing the problem is my guess.


i have seen dozens of comments like this usually followed up by "hey guys, it was X" with X varying between each person.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2010
Messages
1,655 (0.60/day)
Likes
729
Location
Philly
System Name Primary Rig
Processor Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard Biostar TA790GX 128M
Cooling Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm , 6x120mm, MOS-C1
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066 @ 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 5830 800/1000 @ 885/1225
Storage 320GB, 400GB, 500GB, 1.5TB
Display(s) Hannspree HF259
Case CM 690
Power Supply OCZ 850W
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06: 18545/5219 CPU Mark 7.0: 3911.2 Cinebench R10: 11826/3359 x264 HD 2.0: 75.6/23.9
#9
We are talking about microstutter right?

In my experience it's a very common issue and disabling vsync actually can help quite a bit. Another thing to try is if you're overclocking the card, set it back to default (or lower the clocks).

I've tried everything under the sun, and a few things above the sun, and I still get microstutter in GTA IV... :(
i have seen dozens of comments like this usually followed up by "hey guys, it was X" with X varying between each person.
Best. Sentence. Ever.

This is the solution to 90% of the problems I've encountered in life.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.37/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#10
Are you running anything with an overlay? Or running the game from within steam where it's not supported, xfire or raptr? Turn off AV
 

LifeOnMars

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#11
Not sure on the stuttering, but my guess otherwise is that you see the fps move because it's inaccurate by nature.

The frame time for 60 fps isn't a whole number, depending on how it's rounded the frame counter might be slightly off. The lower the fps, the more accurate it should be which might explain your 30 fps mystery of it not moving there.

1000 / 60 = 16.6667~
1000 / 16.6667 = 59.99988~


I just tried enabling vsync in Quake and it flickers from 59 to 60 rapidly.
But does yours stutter as it flicks between 59 and 60? Mine produces a noticeable step stutter between the frame change.

Mussels - I run a minimal install of windows 7. I hate excess background processes.

SF2 - GTAIV runs as smooth as butter on my rig on high.

Mike - No overlay of any sort, tried with and without FRAPS and still that momentary step stutter.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#12
Which driver revision are you using? Also, what settings in NFS HP? Everything high in-game what settings in nvidia control panel? I am going to attempt to reproduce what you are seeing as I have TONS of background processes and never experienced the issue. Also, shouldn't be hard drive because essentially, we have the same one ;)

EDIT:

Ok just ran through Roadsters Reborn, no nudges at all in the 60fps lock, nvidia 260.89 driver set. I think if you have antivirus it is playing it's toll.
 
Last edited:

LifeOnMars

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#13
Which driver revision are you using? Also, what settings in NFS HP? Everything high in-game what settings in nvidia control panel? I am going to attempt to reproduce what you are seeing as I have TONS of background processes and never experienced the issue. Also, shouldn't be hard drive because essentially, we have the same one ;)

EDIT:

Ok just ran through Roadsters Reborn, no nudges at all in the 60fps lock, nvidia 260.89 driver set. I think if you have antivirus it is playing it's toll.
Hi Jr. I have no antivirus installed, my settings in the control panel are generally standard with high quality filtering and 3fps for maximum pre rendered frames. I am using the 266.58 drivers. I'm really starting to think it's a monitor issue.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
625 (0.23/day)
Likes
257
Location
SATX
System Name Bandit 2: Ryzen Boogaloo
Processor AMD R5 1600 @ 3.75 GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling EKWB EK-Kit L240
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 16GB @ 2933 14-16-16-34
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2 500GB; Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 10 Professional
#14
Fifa 11 is stuttering/stalling during game play, correct?

I have this same issue on my PS3, and have heard other people having this problem as well across multiple platforms, so you're not alone. There really isn't a solution as far as I know until EA gets off their Lazy Boy and addresses this issue. It's extremely annoying, so I know exactly what you're going through.

One suggestion I heard was to increase resolution to 1920x1080, but I don't know if this will help you at all.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#15
Hi Jr. I have no antivirus installed, my settings in the control panel are generally standard with high quality filtering and 3fps for maximum pre rendered frames. I am using the 266.58 drivers. I'm really starting to think it's a monitor issue.
Most i can say at this point is to revert back to the 260 driver set and run "Let 3d application decide" in nVidia cp. See if it helps any.

@f22a
That may be the issue as I was playing at 1080p. Will edit with my findings @ 1680x1050

EDIT:
Nope, played the exact same way, just all out smooth.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.37/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#16
Are you running an HDMI cable or DVI? If its HDMI is it an older cable at all?
 

LifeOnMars

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#17
I'm running a DVI cable.

Jr - I have tried practically every driver that has been released since the 460 GTX came out. All have the same issue so I don't think it is driver related.

Bandit - It's not attrocious stutter and is quite random and it's really only like 1frame/1 second lag. I have seen the PS3 stutter and that is shocking.

Out of interest I have to use a switch card on my mobo to run my graphics card at the full 16x2.0 can these ever cause issues? I have checked GPUz and it is running at full speed.... just speculating :)

EDIT - This 59fps stutter also affects a fully patched "The Saboteur". It runs at a constant 60fps which is smooth as and then hiccups/hitches when it goes to 59fps but it does that quite frequently exactly like FIFA. Is it an EA issue? I doubt it but it's annoying as hell and ruins a perfectly playable game otherwise.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.37/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#18
I'm running a DVI cable.

Jr - I have tried practically every driver that has been released since the 460 GTX came out. All have the same issue so I don't think it is driver related.

Bandit - It's not attrocious stutter and is quite random and it's really only like 1frame/1 second lag. I have seen the PS3 stutter and that is shocking.

Out of interest I have to use a switch card on my mobo to run my graphics card at the full 16x2.0 can these ever cause issues? I have checked GPUz and it is running at full speed.... just speculating :)
A switch card, kind of like the old SLI/Non-SLI cards they use to use?

Do you have Triple Buffering enabled? This should add an extra frame, but it will cause stuttering occasionally, then smooth out. Try turning that off.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
625 (0.23/day)
Likes
257
Location
SATX
System Name Bandit 2: Ryzen Boogaloo
Processor AMD R5 1600 @ 3.75 GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling EKWB EK-Kit L240
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 16GB @ 2933 14-16-16-34
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2 500GB; Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 10 Professional
#19
I'm running a DVI cable.

Jr - I have tried practically every driver that has been released since the 460 GTX came out. All have the same issue so I don't think it is driver related.

Bandit - It's not attrocious stutter and is quite random and it's really only like 1frame/1 second lag. I have seen the PS3 stutter and that is shocking.

Out of interest I have to use a switch card on my mobo to run my graphics card at the full 16x2.0 can these ever cause issues? I have checked GPUz and it is running at full speed.... just speculating :)

EDIT - This 59fps stutter also affects a fully patched "The Saboteur". It runs at a constant 60fps which is smooth as and then hiccups/hitches when it goes to 59fps but it does that quite frequently exactly like FIFA. Is it an EA issue? I doubt it but it's annoying as hell and ruins a perfectly playable game otherwise.
I think it is more of an EA issue than an actual hardware issue at this point. The stuttering seems common in the sports games for whatever reason. Madden 11, I'm told, also experiences this same issue during game play.

Yeah, the PS3 stuttering is really bad, but like you said, it only happens randomly. Of course, I have to wonder if it's actually the hard drive in my PS3 slim that's causing this issue, as it seems only slim users experience this phenomenon.

Your thread reminded me of the problem I'm having with Fifa 11. Almost every other title I own doesn't experience this issue.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#20
Out of interest I have to use a switch card on my mobo to run my graphics card at the full 16x2.0 can these ever cause issues? I have checked GPUz and it is running at full speed.... just speculating :)
Take it out and run the card at 8x 2.0. Shouldn't give a performance hit.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.48/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#21
With vsync on if the games stutters at 59 FPS that could be a sign that the actual frame rates of the game is much lower with vsync off. It appears to me that your setup isn't capable of playing those games with vsync on. As you need your minimum frame rates to be at least 60 FPS. Any dips with min/average would cause stuttering in such cases.

If you believe it should based on IQ/resolution, etc. Then you are going to need to look at:
-background processes
-chipset settings
-CPU overclock settings
-CPU/GPU/Chipset temps
-Driver settings
-etc


Sidenote:
Your stats say you are using 1T timing? Why not change that to 2T and see if that helps.
 
Last edited:

LifeOnMars

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#22
With vsync on if the games stutters at 59 FPS that could be a sign that the actual frame rates of the game is much lower with vsync off. It appears to me that your setup isn't capable of playing those games with vsync on. As you need your minimum frame rates to be at least 60 FPS. Any dips with min/average would cause stuttering in such cases.

If you believe it should based on IQ/resolution, etc. Then you are going to need to look at:
-background processes
-chipset settings
-CPU overclock settings
-CPU/GPU/Chipset temps
-Driver settings
-etc


Sidenote:
Your stats say you are using 1T timing? Why not change that to 2T and see if that helps.
You see, with FIFA 11 especially, I have looked at the frames I'm getting with vysnc off and it never dips below 150fps....seriously. The tearing is awful though and my monitor does not handle it well. I did actually try reverting back to 2T timings but no joy unfortunately.

EDIT -

I'm gonna try and find a way of capturing this so I can show you guys how it occurs.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.37/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#23
You see, with FIFA 11 especially, I have looked at the frames I'm getting with vysnc off and it never dips below 150fps....seriously. The tearing is awful though and my monitor does not handle it well. I did actually try reverting back to 2T timings but no joy unfortunately.

EDIT -

I'm gonna try and find a way of capturing this so I can show you guys how it occurs.
Do this, beef your Refresh rate up to 70hz, and turn Vsync off. See if tearing still occurs.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
167 (0.05/day)
Likes
37
Location
Slovenia
System Name Sata Buster
Processor i5 6600K@4.6GHz 1.250Vcore
Motherboard MSI Z170A-M3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury 2x4GB DDR4 2133MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti OC TwinFrozr
Storage Intel 330 240GB SSD + WD 1TB RE4
Display(s) Asus P279q
Case Fractal R3
Audio Device(s) Int. Realtek - Yamaha RXV596 - Sennheiser HD280
Power Supply CoolerMaster V850
Software Win7 64bit
#25
I can say for NFS:HP I have the exactly same issue. Playing with 60FPS almost whole game thru, but getting 59FPS dips and kinda stalls fluidity of game. I was wondering if better GFX card would solve this problem. I also tried D3DOverrider and triple buffer and got somehow same result.

I remember going from 8800GTS to HD5850 card and while playing Burnout Paradise Ultimate I got similar FPS dips as now in NFS:HP. 8800GTS was fluid eg. constant 60FPS in Burnout. Those games are both made by Criterion.