• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help needed with computer shutdowns

WillbaldMerkatz

I am a novice in computer builiding and hardware. I own an ASUS laptop. For some time I have been having problems with it shutting down during intensive use of particular games, especially network multiplayer (World of Warships, Vermintide 2, Company of Heroes 2), to the point of some of them becoming unplayable even on lowest settings. Technician called for help identified the problem as thermal throttling (he also changed thermal paste and cleaned the insides of the laptop). ThrottleStop confirms that the problem is yellow Core limit PL1, accompanied by EDP Other on the Ring. I have tried underwolting and few other things I could find articles about in various places but so far nothing works. Can someone help identify and deal with the problem (or at least confirm there is nothing to be done)?

Specs:
ASUS ROG Strix gl502
Nvidia GTX 1070
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700HQ CPU @ 2.80GHz 2.81 GHz
RAM 32 GB
Windows 10 Home

Processor Ryzen 7800X3D
Motherboard ASRock X670E Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax
Memory 32GB DDR5 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 4090 Trio
Storage Too much
Display(s) Acer Predator XB3 27" 240 Hz
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Topping DX5, DCA Aeon II
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 850w
Mouse G305
Keyboard Wooting HE60
VR HMD Valve Index
Software Win 10
Multiplayer game components typically add more CPU load so it would go with the narrative that your CPU is thermal throttling.

Do you happen to have idle / load temperatures, the frequency the CPU hits at idle / load, and CPU fan RPM numbers? This will give us an idea of how bad the thermals are. For example, if thermals are extremely bad, as in the CPU is going down to or near base clock that might indicate a lack of contact.

You can gather the above data with HWInfo if all of it is not present in throttle stop.