• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help OC Ryzen 5 3600

Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
683 (0.17/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling TCP-612
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
Gigabyte says you can safely vcore at 1.55v on Ryzen, just sayin'.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.65/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
Gigabyte says you can safely vcore at 1.55v on Ryzen, just sayin'.
Said to whom, where and when exactly?
Did you ever give yours 1.55V?
And Ryzen is a general name of latest AMD CPUs. Which one you're refering to? ZEN, ZEN+ or ZEN2...?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
8,416 (2.15/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
Ok so it’s at limit probably won’t last that long...so what can I do to oc it but safely?
set 41.5 and and?
Increase your cooling capacity, the only way anyone ever got more out of a cpu usefully is to increase the cooling capacity of it's cooler and the system as a whole first then dial up performance but tbf 4.2 all core will heat up most systems , getting much beyond that will require a lot of cooling, effort and noise.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
179 (0.30/day)
Location
Italy
System Name The Worker
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI b450 Tomahawk Max
Cooling Arctic Freezer 33 eSport One
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3200 Mhz Corsair vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx 1660 Ti OC @2030Mhz core and 7400Mhz memory
Storage 2x 250Gb Samsung 850 Evo, 3TB HDD
Display(s) Asus mx259q
Case Corsair Spec Alpha
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CoolerMaster G750M
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Gamdias Hermes e2
Software W10 64bit, Some Linux distros
Increase your cooling capacity, the only way anyone ever got more out of a cpu usefully is to increase the cooling capacity of it's cooler and the system as a whole first then dial up performance but tbf 4.2 all core will heat up most systems , getting much beyond that will require a lot of cooling, effort and noise.
Atm I don’t have time and money to buy something better, to be fair I‘m happy with the actual situation probably stick with it for the next few years and then change the whole system

Ok... I expected a little longer than 9sec run... (at least a minute) but this will do as long as future screenshots will be taken the same way.
This will be your starting point.

See that PPT/TDC/EDC values? (raw value and %)
The default CPU PBO limits are

-----default-----(yours)
PPT: 88W--------(83W)
TDC: 60A---------(46A)
EDC: 90A---------(77A)

PPT: Power Package Tracking (total CPU socket power draw)
TDC: Thermal Design Current (max Current draw when throttling >95C)
EDC: Electrical Design Current (max Current draw when normal)

Under the same workload mine was:

-----default-----(mine)
PPT: 88W--------(86W) +2
TDC: 60A---------(49A) +3
EDC: 90A---------(78A) +1

The difference between them is due to temp.
Yours 66~67C
Mine 62~63C

And all these are monitored and regulated by silicon manager. The lower the temp the more watt and ampere the CPU is allowed to draw.
But your temps are more than acceptable.
What you can do now and may try to improve things, is to cap EDC.
If you bring that 77A EDC down the silicon manager will see potential less silicon stress, and may try to increase power draw with more clock and voltage. Some how it tries to take the stress headroom created by EDC reduction.

So, go to BIOS under XFR Enhancement and set PBO to manual like this

PPT: 90
TDC: 0 (default)
EDC: 70
PBO Scalar: Auto

...and run the R20 again.
Thanks, tomorrow I’ll try and let u know
 

GLD

Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
1,614 (0.30/day)
Location
City 17, California, U.S.A.
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600, AMD Wraith Prism.
Motherboard ASUS TUF X570-Plus (Wi-Fi).
Cooling Antec 120mm RGB case fans.
Memory 4x8gb, G.SKILL F4-3600C16D-16GVKC.
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX 5600 XT.
Storage Crucial P1 1TB NVMe with EKWB heatsink.
Display(s) ASUS VP278QG 27", 1080p, 75hz, FreeSync.
Case Antec GX202.
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound, Logitech 2.1's, Logitech G430 headphones.
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750.
Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy.
Keyboard Logitech G213.
Software Windows 10 PRO, x64.
No hijacking, just saying, I am happy with the stock performance of my Ryzen 3600, but I am not liking the 75*C temps it hits while gaming. I wouldn't want to OC it. It's toasty enough!
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
683 (0.17/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling TCP-612
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
Gigabyte says you can safely vcore at 1.55v on Ryzen, just sayin'.
Said to whom, where and when exactly?
Did you ever give yours 1.55V?
And Ryzen is a general name of latest AMD CPUs. Which one you're refering to? ZEN, ZEN+ or ZEN2...?
lol all the time



Gigabyte voltage references here:

 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,695 (1.18/day)
Gigabyte says you can safely vcore at 1.55v on Ryzen, just sayin'.


lol all the time



Gigabyte voltage references here:

Is that the Gigabyte X470 (Pinnacle-Ridge) Overclocking Guide ?

In that guide GB never mention going above v1.38 let alone being safe and they have a dislcaimer on the second page

Gigabyte said:
Disclaimer: Overclocking will technically void your warranty. While it’s usually safe, there is potential to damage the chip if you push voltages too high.
EDIT: The one you posted links to X370. Thats even older.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
683 (0.17/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling TCP-612
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
Is that the Gigabyte X470 (Pinnacle-Ridge) Overclocking Guide ?

In that guide GB never mention going above v1.38 let alone being safe and they have a dislcaimer on the second page
1.38v yeah for SoC :laugh:
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
683 (0.17/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling TCP-612
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
Gigabyte X470 Overclocking Guide from Gigabyte not a third party

Don't think Gigabyte has put out a X570 Guide but if you want to keep saying X370/1800X guide applies to all be my guess. There is no shortage of people putting out bad info.
3rd party?


I'm just quoting gigabyte. Don't get butthurt when you are already wrong like 3x :laugh:
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
2,138 (1.07/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Ol' Beastie R4.0
Processor Ryzen 4650G
Motherboard B550i Aorus Pro AX (F10)
Memory 16GB 4000 16-16-16 @ 1.48V
Storage 256GB PM981
Case NCASE M1v5
3rd party?


I'm just quoting gigabyte. Don't get butthurt when you are already wrong like 3x :laugh:
truly a bruh moment

Are you going to tell me next that Ryzen 3000 chiplets are manufactured on 14nm LP GF like your 1600?

Nice troll.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
683 (0.17/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling TCP-612
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
truly a bruh moment

Are you going to tell me next that Ryzen 3000 chiplets are manufactured on 14nm LP GF like your 1600?

Nice troll.
Eh?

I'm not telling you that. Just quoting Gigabyte.

But by all means if you want to run frequency that is lower that stock turbo, then use a voltage lower than what the board applies during that power state. I would question why you would want less performance than stock settings :confused:
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
2,138 (1.07/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Ol' Beastie R4.0
Processor Ryzen 4650G
Motherboard B550i Aorus Pro AX (F10)
Memory 16GB 4000 16-16-16 @ 1.48V
Storage 256GB PM981
Case NCASE M1v5
Eh?

I'm not telling you that. Just quoting Gigabyte.

But by all means if you want to run frequency that is lower that stock turbo, then use a voltage lower than what the board applies during that power state. I would question why you would want less performance than stock settings :confused:
What kind of good shit are you smoking? I'm trying to convince OP to rely on stock settings and play with PBO settings to OC, so he can get respectable MT when he needs it and better ST otherwise, while cutting down on Vcore and degradation he doesn't need. Stock doesn't ever exceed 1.34v at short duration full load and only in certain applications and current draw.

The chip in question here is Matisse, not Summit Ridge. Go buy a Matisse chip, run 1.55v fixed Vcore through it, and let us know how that goes, mhmm?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
683 (0.17/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling TCP-612
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
What kind of good shit are you smoking? I'm trying to convince OP to rely on stock settings and play with PBO settings to OC. Stock doesn't ever exceed 1.34v at short duration full load and only in certain applications and current draw.

The chip in question here is Matisse, not Summit Ridge. Go buy a Matisse chip, run 1.55v fixed Vcore through it, and let us know how that goes, mhmm?
What are you babbling to me about then?

I'm simply stating a quote from Gigaybyte about Ryzen, and you are trying to tell me I'm wrong.

Perhaps you should go back and read my posts in this thread, and stick to buying overpriced highly binned low leakage chips :laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,695 (1.18/day)
What are you babbling to me about then?

I'm simply stating a quote from Gigaybyte about Ryzen, and you are trying to tell me I'm wrong.

Perhaps you should go back and read my posts in this thread, and stick to buying overpriced highly binned low leakage chips :laugh:
You did state "safe" then applied the guide which is let me quote it

Gigabyte said:
Chapter 2: How to overclock Your AMD Ryzen 1800X CPU
To everything. Making a blank statement well... Like i said previously
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
683 (0.17/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling TCP-612
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
You did state "safe" then applied the guide which is let me quote it

To everything. Making a blank statement well... Like i said previously
No I quoted the guide from Gigabyte. Though it is true I have run well over 1.55v for years on many CPUs :laugh:

I also didn't post anything about 1800x, or maybe you are just quoting yourself now :confused:
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,695 (1.18/day)
No I quoted the guide from Gigabyte. Though it is true I have run well over 1.55v for years on many CPUs :laugh:

I also didn't post anything about 1800x, or maybe you are just quoting yourself now :confused:
Read the Gigabyte X370/1800X guide you keep posting 3 times now. Its a X370 & 1800X OC guide.

Don't tell me you keep quoting it and don't know what its about.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
683 (0.17/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling TCP-612
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
Read the Gigabyte X370/1800X guide you keep posting 3 times now. Its a X370 & 1800X OC guide.

Don't tell me you keep quoting it and don't know what its about.
No, you can go read the guide. Then you can go buy a Ryzen. Then you can practice tuning. Report back when have made meaningful progress.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,695 (1.18/day)
No, you can go read the guide. Then you can go buy a Ryzen. Then you can practice tuning. Report back when have made meaningful progress.
I have a 3700X (Look at the Zen Garden thread for screens). I don't need to read guides from 2 gen old arc and do blanket statements that be silly.

Did you just changed your Syspecs :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
683 (0.17/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling TCP-612
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
I have a 3700X (Look at the Zen Garden thread for screens). I don't need to read guides from 2 gen old arc and do blanket statements that be silly.
Great. You now need step 3 and 4, or did you give up already?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.65/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
@damric, do you think that 1.55Vcore and 1.38 SoC voltage is relevant to this thread and Matisse? The OP has ZEN2 chip and those voltage values will turn his CPU into very nice firework that I would see from where I live...

So please stop making irrelevant and dangerous suggestions to the OP. Obviously you ain’t know much about Matisse and 7nm process node.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
683 (0.17/day)
System Name Borg Cube
Processor R5 3600
Motherboard X470 Taichi
Cooling TCP-612
Memory 32GB @3800CL16
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Silicon Power A80 1TB x2
Display(s) Samsung UE590
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z623
Power Supply LEADEX II
Mouse Cooler Master MM710
Keyboard Logi G105
Software 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/damric/
@damric, do you think that 1.55Vcore and 1.38 SoC voltage is relevant to this thread and Matisse? The OP has ZEN2 chip and those voltage values will turn his CPU into very nice firework that I would see from where I live...

So please stop making irrelevant and dangerous suggestions to the OP. Obviously you ain’t know much about Matisse and 7nm process node.
Did I tell the OP to immediately run his run his voltage up that high? No. But my board sure as hell puts out that much voltage at stock to put my 1600 in a turbo state. And rightfully so, as it is a high leakage potato. Hell, it needs 1.47v just to have a stable 24/7 all core overclock of 3.90GHz.

I made the comment because you are pillow biting about 1.3v knowing good and well that the motherboard pushes that much and more during normal p-states. All you got to do is look up the VIDs to see this, or put windows into high performance mode and look at CPU-Z with a 3600 lol.

Apparantly what you don't understand is that the 3600 SKU is the lowest quality and leakiest silicon of the 7nm, meaning that it will take a lot more voltage than the higher binned SKUs to reach equivalent stable clock speed. Your fears come from lack of experience. Instead of buying high bin, low leakage SKUs that can run on lower voltage, try buying the low end once and a while, live a little, and crank it up. Don't let some random on reddit make you live in fear. Actually dig into your motherboard registers and look for yourself.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
179 (0.30/day)
Location
Italy
System Name The Worker
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI b450 Tomahawk Max
Cooling Arctic Freezer 33 eSport One
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3200 Mhz Corsair vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx 1660 Ti OC @2030Mhz core and 7400Mhz memory
Storage 2x 250Gb Samsung 850 Evo, 3TB HDD
Display(s) Asus mx259q
Case Corsair Spec Alpha
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CoolerMaster G750M
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Gamdias Hermes e2
Software W10 64bit, Some Linux distros
Ok... I expected a little longer than 9sec run... (at least a minute) but this will do as long as future screenshots will be taken the same way.
This will be your starting point.

See that PPT/TDC/EDC values? (raw value and %)
The default CPU PBO limits are

-----default-----(yours)
PPT: 88W--------(83W)
TDC: 60A---------(46A)
EDC: 90A---------(77A)

PPT: Power Package Tracking (total CPU socket power draw)
TDC: Thermal Design Current (max Current draw when throttling >95C)
EDC: Electrical Design Current (max Current draw when normal)

Under the same workload mine was:

-----default-----(mine)
PPT: 88W--------(86W) +2
TDC: 60A---------(49A) +3
EDC: 90A---------(78A) +1

The difference between them is due to temp.
Yours 66~67C
Mine 62~63C

And all these are monitored and regulated by silicon manager. The lower the temp the more watt and ampere the CPU is allowed to draw.
But your temps are more than acceptable.
What you can do now and may try to improve things, is to cap EDC.
If you bring that 77A EDC down the silicon manager will see potential less silicon stress, and may try to increase power draw with more clock and voltage. Some how it tries to take the stress headroom created by EDC reduction.

So, go to BIOS under XFR Enhancement and set PBO to manual like this

PPT: 90
TDC: 0 (default)
EDC: 70
PBO Scalar: Auto

...and run the R20 again.
Hi, sorry for the long time I took to make it but I have to study also.

This is what I get.

Gained +/- 50 points

Desktop Screenshot 2020.01.19 - 18.10.39.96.png
Desktop Screenshot 2020.01.19 - 18.08.37.53.png
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.65/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
Did I tell the OP to immediately run his run his voltage up that high? No. But my board sure as hell puts out that much voltage at stock to put my 1600 in a turbo state. And rightfully so, as it is a high leakage potato. Hell, it needs 1.47v just to have a stable 24/7 all core overclock of 3.90GHz.

I made the comment because you are pillow biting about 1.3v knowing good and well that the motherboard pushes that much and more during normal p-states. All you got to do is look up the VIDs to see this, or put windows into high performance mode and look at CPU-Z with a 3600 lol.

Apparantly what you don't understand is that the 3600 SKU is the lowest quality and leakiest silicon of the 7nm, meaning that it will take a lot more voltage than the higher binned SKUs to reach equivalent stable clock speed. Your fears come from lack of experience. Instead of buying high bin, low leakage SKUs that can run on lower voltage, try buying the low end once and a while, live a little, and crank it up. Don't let some random on reddit make you live in fear. Actually dig into your motherboard registers and look for yourself.
Your lack of knowledge in ZEN2 aspects is at full demonstration right now, and obviously you didn’t follow every post in this thread. If you had read the posts and states that many wrote here beside me, users that done their homework and know how to observe readings and how to interpret them, you would know that you can’t apply same voltage at given speed like when its on auto boosting at same speed.
1. If a ZEN2 CPU is auto boosting avg at 4.2GHz single core with avg 1.45V you cannot set static 4.2GHz with static 1.45V You will exceed silicon limits.
2. If a ZEN2 CPU is auto boosting avg at 4.05GHz all core with avg 1.38V you cannot set static 4.05GHz with static 1.38V you will exceed silicon limits.
3. and so on...

Of course I'm aware that 3600 is the bottom of the barrel silicon quality (I own one, and not some high binned SKU), and requires the highest voltage of all ZEN2 SKUs to run the same speeds. Thats why it is contrained to such low speeds by default. What we are trying to pass here is that its completely wrong to set static voltage to a given static speed just because you see this value due to auto boosting. Its false practice and lack of knowledge.

Do you even know what the name FIT is? Have you ever heard of silicon FITness controller on ZEN2? The only defence of the CPU against degradation? Do you own and experiment a ZEN2 SKU? Any experience with one? Did you spend hours after hours of testing, observing, asking other ZEN2 users for operating info, reading about and try to understand its core technology and how this thing work and behave?

...or you just looking VIDs and copy the values? Oh this is so experienced practice...

Do you know terms like PPT/TDC/EDC? Once you set ZEN2 to a static OC and voltage the silicon FITness controller is off and no longer regulates silicon stress and cant protect the silicon. I've said it before, but you didnt read it or choose to ignore it or did not understand it. The internal manager of ZEN2 flactuates clock and voltage hundreads of times within a sec to keep performance as high as possible and keeping silicon preservation altogether in conjunction with temperature, avoiding irreversible electromigration... You cant copy or simulate this kind of operation and behaviour with any manual OC ad voltage settings.

I hope the OP and/or any other ZEN2 user will not be drifted by your false states and practices. As far as I'm concerned you can keep your great and exciting "living on the edge overclocking" life and enjoy it.

Hi, sorry for the long time I took to make it but I have to study also.

This is what I get.

Gained +/- 50 points

View attachment 142630View attachment 142629
I'm confused a little...
I see the PPT/TDC/EDC values and percentage and cartainly are not as I suggested...

I suggested...
PPT: 90
TDC: 0
EDC: 70

And these settings must be like...
PPT: 1000
TDC: 115
EDC 168
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
179 (0.30/day)
Location
Italy
System Name The Worker
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI b450 Tomahawk Max
Cooling Arctic Freezer 33 eSport One
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3200 Mhz Corsair vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx 1660 Ti OC @2030Mhz core and 7400Mhz memory
Storage 2x 250Gb Samsung 850 Evo, 3TB HDD
Display(s) Asus mx259q
Case Corsair Spec Alpha
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CoolerMaster G750M
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Gamdias Hermes e2
Software W10 64bit, Some Linux distros
Your lack of knowledge in ZEN2 aspects is at full demonstration right now, and obviously you didn’t follow every post in this thread. If you had read the posts and states that many wrote here beside me, users that done their homework and know how to observe readings and how to interpret them, you would know that you can’t apply same voltage at given speed like when its on auto boosting at same speed.
1. If a ZEN2 CPU is auto boosting avg at 4.2GHz single core with avg 1.45V you cannot set static 4.2GHz with static 1.45V You will exceed silicon limits.
2. If a ZEN2 CPU is auto boosting avg at 4.05GHz all core with avg 1.38V you cannot set static 4.05GHz with static 1.38V you will exceed silicon limits.
3. and so on...

Of course I'm aware that 3600 is the bottom of the barrel silicon quality (I own one, and not some high binned SKU), and requires the highest voltage of all ZEN2 SKUs to run the same speeds. Thats why it is contrained to such low speeds by default. What we are trying to pass here is that its completely wrong to set static voltage to a given static speed just because you see this value due to auto boosting. Its false practice and lack of knowledge.

Do you even know what the name FIT is? Have you ever heard of silicon FITness controller on ZEN2? The only defence of the CPU against degradation? Do you own and experiment a ZEN2 SKU? Any experience with one? Did you spend hours after hours of testing, observing, asking other ZEN2 users for operating info, reading about and try to understand its core technology and how this thing work and behave?

...or you just looking VIDs and copy the values? Oh this is so experienced practice...

Do you know terms like PPT/TDC/EDC? Once you set ZEN2 to a static OC and voltage the silicon FITness controller is off and no longer regulates silicon stress and cant protect the silicon. I've said it before, but you didnt read it or choose to ignore it or did not understand it. The internal manager of ZEN2 flactuates clock and voltage hundreads of times within a sec to keep performance as high as possible and keeping silicon preservation altogether in conjunction with temperature, avoiding irreversible electromigration... You cant copy or simulate this kind of operation and behaviour with any manual OC ad voltage settings.

I hope the OP and/or any other ZEN2 user will not be drifted by your false states and practices. As far as I'm concerned you can keep your great and exciting "living on the edge overclocking" life and enjoy it.


I'm confused a little...
I see the PPT/TDC/EDC values and percentage and cartainly are not as I suggested...

I suggested...
PPT: 90
TDC: 0
EDC: 70

And these settings must be like...
PPT: 1000
TDC: 115
EDC 168
Oh maybe because I set in Ryzen master the PBO as OC governor
 
Top