1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help! Pc Died

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dracolnyte, Nov 2, 2006.

  1. dracolnyte New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok so this is what happened today, i bought a new IDE WD 250GB harddrive and i plugged it in, got the master slave things correct. BTW my system specs are, amd athlon 2200+ @ 1.8GHz, 768MB of RAM, i think 2100 or 2700 speeds, 9800 pro, and a 250 watt PSU. i plugged the new HDD in, got into windows and formatted it. and when i resetted the computer, nothing comes on the screen, not even that POST boot sound. first i thought it was the PSU not enough power, so then i unplugged some stuff like cd, floppy, but still would not boot. ok so i just decided to put back everything together without the new harddrive, STILL WOULD NOT BOOT!, no message on screen either. what gives?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    try unplugging everything except your graphics card.no hds,no cd drive.nothing except board and card.

    ave you got anther psu to try?.if above dont work try another psu.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. dracolnyte New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nothing happens, same as before
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    reset the bios see if it boots
    I mean clear the cmos duh
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. dracolnyte New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    by removing the battery?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    yes that'll do it.leave it out for an hour or so.you could also try to find the reset jumper on the board.switch the jumper over and power up the machine then off.the move jumper back.if your not sure just remove battery for a while.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. dracolnyte New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    for how long period of time?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    5 or 10 mins should do.an hour is overkill i suppose.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,501 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    For some mobos, even an hour is sometimes not enough. Mine, it takes a good 20 minutes.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Hershey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    try unplugging your video card and just using onboard ..

    also

    if nothing is working , just have your processor , and mobo + keyboard + orginal HD installed and make sure your BIOS is set to boot from CD for hte first & 2nd option leaving 3rd option for HDD-0 and reboot ..

    also make sure its the right windows copy you have installed on the computer sometimes windows is ghetto!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,956 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    I highly doubt most motherboards these days have integrated graphics.

    He cant even go into bios man... total system faliure. Lemme guess... he probably statically damaged the motherboard. Thats the only explanation. Can you be more specific about the specs?

    Im guessing this is your first system upgrade, am i right?

    Hey dude, is this your first system upgrade?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,768 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Singapore
    Its better to be safe then sorry. Did you bump into any hardware while installing your hard disk? Also its safer for you to try out each part of your hardware like Processor/Gfx and ram. By the way that's quite a low psu watts you have there. Have you tried changing to a higher power ones?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. dracolnyte New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    16 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    tried taking out the battery for like 10 mins, still nothing happens,
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    does your cpu fan spin when you turn it on?.does any of the case fans spin when you turn it on?.have you checked the fuse in the plug?.

    if none of the fans spin at all.it could be the psu dead.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,956 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    They spin up then stop suddenly, thats what he said....

    THEREFORE THE MOTHERBOARD IS DEAD
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)