• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help- PC On BootLoop. Fix Upgrade or Buy New?

Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
46 (0.09/day)
Likes
8
System Name Windows 10 64bit
Processor ntel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
Motherboard : Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H77-D3H (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
Memory 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gforce 1060 3b.
Storage 447GB KINGSTON SUV400S37480G ATA Device (SSD)
Power Supply thermaltalk TR2 RX 550pp
#1
Hi all
my pc stoped working.
when i start it, it go to a bootloop with a black screen(with nothing on it).
working for 4-5sec and then restart itself.
this goes on and on.
also no beep sounds ever.

tried the following:
tried to remove/clean/replace slots of the ram.
tried to set my old G.Card.
tried to unplug the cables press the shutdown button for 30sec and restart.
tried to remove battery several times.
tried to unpluge every thing (cd room, HD,SSD)
tried to unpluge every thing but SSD
tired to start it without ram to check if it beeps- no beeps.
tired to connect the screen directly to the motherboard, same result(this neve working for me i think).
tried to reconnect the cables.

whay you guys think?
is the motherboard is gone?
is it the PSU?

nothing seems to work.
the screen and cables are fine(working on other pc).
please tell me if there any other thing i can try.

anyway i think it might be a good time for me to upgrade the pc.
what you recomand me to buy?

i think to upgrade the following:

-new motherboard(that support as much ram as possible)
-add ram(new ram?).
-new PSU(if needed)
-new Proccessor

basicly i think maybe to upgrade all but the G.card and the SSD.
if im going to upgrade i want a strong pc.
i started to develop some apps/progs and found i need as much ram/cpu as possible,
so i think i7 will be a must for me.


my Current PC:

graphic card: Gforce 1060 3b
motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H77-D3H (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
Intel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
ram: 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
storage: 447GB KINGSTON SUV400S37480G ATA Device (SSD)

psu: thermaltalk TR2 RX 550pp
model psf500v-30



please tell me what your thoughts?
fix the old?
upgrade?
just buy a new?

thanks for helping!
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
5,746 (4.29/day)
Likes
3,432
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#2
Have you tried booting in to the bios and setting initial display output to onboard?
Remove the GPU from the slot when trying this.
I recently had similar issues with W10 and graphics drivers giving me a black screen, so had to boot in safe mode and use D.D.U. before reinstalling.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
8
Location
Netherlands
Processor Intel i7 7700K @4800Mhz | Intel i7 4790K @ 4700Mhz
Motherboard AORUS Z270x G8 | Gigabyte SOC-Force Z97x
Cooling Custom Loop - Alphacool;Bitspower;Hardware Labs;XSPC | Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory G Skill TridentZ 16Gb 3466Mhz | Crusial Ballistix Tactical 16Gb
Video Card(s) 2 x ASUS Strix 1070 SLI | MSI Aero ITX 1070 + ASUS Strix 1060 6Gb + MSI Aero ITX 1060 6Gb
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb | Samsung 850 EVO 250Gb | + WD Black - Red HDDs ∑8Tb
Display(s) 2 x DELL UltraSharp U2312HM | PHILIPS PFK6309
Case NZXT Tempest Custom Mod | Aerocool Custom Mod
Power Supply Enermax Platimax DF 600W | Seasonic Focus Platinum 850W
Mouse Logitech MX Performance
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software W10 | W2016
#3
also no beep sounds ever.
Just to be on the safe side... is there any beeper connected to the motherboard pins?
There at the lower left corner white block, orange pins:

ed1d5269-5b36-4964-987a-c280a93134c3.png


Also... have you resetted the bios with shorting the CLR_CMOS pins? Removing the battery doesn't automatically clear bios, ie. if the psu is plugged in or it was powered up and capacitors are charged, there are several circumstances it will keep the settings.

If nothing works, as a last solution you can always download the latest firmware and try Q-FLASH it... you know there is a dedicated USB port to do that.
All info is in the user manual 31.page - Chapter 2 BIOS Setup
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
46 (0.09/day)
Likes
8
System Name Windows 10 64bit
Processor ntel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
Motherboard : Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H77-D3H (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
Memory 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gforce 1060 3b.
Storage 447GB KINGSTON SUV400S37480G ATA Device (SSD)
Power Supply thermaltalk TR2 RX 550pp
#4
looks like the speaker doesn't connected.
im sure it was back then for sure, maybe i disconected it(unlikely)? i dont see any disconnected jumpers though.
parhaps i should buy one and connect it?

please take a look, it doesn't connected right?
what are the connections near it? the came from the back of the case. reset/power?

20180525_124134 (1).jpg


i tried now to reset the bios via cmos pins.
didn't helped.
tried again to set my old g.card/motherboard ones, nothing happened.

i don't familiare with the dedicated usb, you think it might help me?
all you are saying is related to the motherboard. maybe i should just replace it?

Have you tried booting in to the bios and setting initial display output to onboard?
Remove the GPU from the slot when trying this.
I recently had similar issues with W10 and graphics drivers giving me a black screen, so had to boot in safe mode and use D.D.U. before reinstalling.
black screen man.
i cant boot to the bios.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,701 (1.56/day)
Likes
945
Location
Visca la Terra Lliure!
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#5
Having that little speaker is very helpfull!
And having a second PSU at home for "those days"....
If you want to go the "do it yourself" route, you need parts and tools!

Or just take it to a computer shop nearby...
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
46 (0.09/day)
Likes
8
System Name Windows 10 64bit
Processor ntel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
Motherboard : Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H77-D3H (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
Memory 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gforce 1060 3b.
Storage 447GB KINGSTON SUV400S37480G ATA Device (SSD)
Power Supply thermaltalk TR2 RX 550pp
#6
i want to diagnose what is the problem.
and get recomandation's for a pc hardware upgrade
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
357 (0.09/day)
Likes
239
Location
Where the beer is good
System Name Karl Arsch v. u. z. Abgewischt
Processor i5 3770K @5GHz delided
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Professional
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 240
Memory 4x 4GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Samsung 830 - 512GB; 2x 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung T240 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Shinobie XL
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Cougar G600
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard CMStorm Ultimate QuickFire (CherryMX Brown)
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,052 (0.93/day)
Likes
2,674
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#8
Many motherboard have a little piezoelectric "button" speakers integrated on the motherboard. They look like this or something similar:



Otherwise, you can connect a very inexpensive System Speaker to the motherboard's case speaker connector, typically found in the Front Panel I/O header as shown by biowiet above in post #3. If a motherboard does not include a speaker, we always add one to our builds. That short single beep at boot indicating a successful POST (power on self test) is reassuring. Note that $8.95 price is for 20 speakers.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,883 (5.46/day)
Likes
6,483
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
46 (0.09/day)
Likes
8
System Name Windows 10 64bit
Processor ntel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
Motherboard : Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H77-D3H (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
Memory 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gforce 1060 3b.
Storage 447GB KINGSTON SUV400S37480G ATA Device (SSD)
Power Supply thermaltalk TR2 RX 550pp
#10
i will purchase the speaker. but it will take a few days until then.
the cpu looks ok.
the board is in the case.

what you guys think? what might be the issues?
psu? board? both?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,883 (5.46/day)
Likes
6,483
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#11
i will purchase the speaker. but it will take a few days until then.
the cpu looks ok.
the board is in the case.

what you guys think? what might be the issues?
psu? board? both?
Take the board out of the case, run it.

I also said to inspect the pins in the socket.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
696 (1.03/day)
Likes
532
Location
Croatia
System Name Tamagotchi Extreme
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim with Arctic MX-4
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB with back plate
Storage Mushkin Triactor 240GB + Toshiba X300 4TB
Display(s) Philips 237E7QDSB/00 23" FHD IPS
Case Aerocool Aero-1000 white + 4 Arctic F12 PWM Rev.2 fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio Boost 3 with Nahimic Audio Enhancer
Power Supply FSP Hydro G 650W (80 Plus Gold)
Mouse Sharkoon Shark Force
Keyboard E-Blue Cobra II
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 1.82.2 (4,8 GHz + XMP): 574 ST / 2887 MT
#12
Is there any weird smell from any component when you power-up your PC?

Did you try to remove the CMOS battery for 10 minutes and then install it back again. That's how I usually reset BIOS.

I would assume it's either faulty motherboard or issues with the PSU, but again, that's only my assumption.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
46 (0.09/day)
Likes
8
System Name Windows 10 64bit
Processor ntel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
Motherboard : Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H77-D3H (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
Memory 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gforce 1060 3b.
Storage 447GB KINGSTON SUV400S37480G ATA Device (SSD)
Power Supply thermaltalk TR2 RX 550pp
#13
Take the board out of the case, run it.
i prefer not to do that.
I also said to inspect the pins in the socket.
pins look ok.

Is there any weird smell from any component when you power-up your PC?
no smell.
the Capacitors looks fine.
nothing seem to be burned to my eye.

Did you try to remove the CMOS battery for 10 minutes and then install it back again. That's how I usually reset BIOS.
i will try it now and report if it will work but i doubt it.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,052 (0.93/day)
Likes
2,674
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#14
10 minutes? No need to do that. CMOS memory devices are electrical memory devices that - by their very nature - are specifically used in these circuits because they instantly (within a couple clock cycles) dump any stored data once voltage on the "holding pin" of the device is removed. So all you have to do is unplug the computer from the wall (to remove the +5Vsb standby voltage), then pull the battery for a few seconds (15 is more than enough), then that is it. There are NO capacitors in that circuit that need time to bleed off voltages.

Or better yet, unplug from the wall then just move the reset CMOS jumper virtually every motherboard has to the reset position for a few seconds, then move it back. You don't have to remove the battery. Shorting the two reset pins dumps all the voltage in that circuit to ground so any data in the CMOS device is lost forever.

Remember, user changes to the BIOS are specifically designed they can be reset easily. If motherboard designers wanted that data to be more robust and harder to reset, they would have chosen a different device than a complementary metal–oxide–semiconductor (CMOS) device. Instead they would have chosen something like a EEPROM that requires a lot more effort to reset.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
8
Location
Netherlands
Processor Intel i7 7700K @4800Mhz | Intel i7 4790K @ 4700Mhz
Motherboard AORUS Z270x G8 | Gigabyte SOC-Force Z97x
Cooling Custom Loop - Alphacool;Bitspower;Hardware Labs;XSPC | Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory G Skill TridentZ 16Gb 3466Mhz | Crusial Ballistix Tactical 16Gb
Video Card(s) 2 x ASUS Strix 1070 SLI | MSI Aero ITX 1070 + ASUS Strix 1060 6Gb + MSI Aero ITX 1060 6Gb
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb | Samsung 850 EVO 250Gb | + WD Black - Red HDDs ∑8Tb
Display(s) 2 x DELL UltraSharp U2312HM | PHILIPS PFK6309
Case NZXT Tempest Custom Mod | Aerocool Custom Mod
Power Supply Enermax Platimax DF 600W | Seasonic Focus Platinum 850W
Mouse Logitech MX Performance
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
Software W10 | W2016
#15
looks like the speaker doesn't connected.
please take a look, it doesn't connected right?
what are the connections near it? the came from the back of the case. reset/power?
No, there is no speaker connected. Can't remember if I've got them with the chassis or with the motherboard or both. If you have any packages from the original boxes, try to find a beeper there.
If you have a fairly old chassis you might even have it "integrated" (hot glued)... if you think there was one connected you might only need to find the loose connector in the chassis.
Yes, the others are exactly those and the LED feedbacks.

black screen man.
i cant boot to the bios.
Do this:
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
46 (0.09/day)
Likes
8
System Name Windows 10 64bit
Processor ntel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
Motherboard : Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H77-D3H (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
Memory 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gforce 1060 3b.
Storage 447GB KINGSTON SUV400S37480G ATA Device (SSD)
Power Supply thermaltalk TR2 RX 550pp
#16
then pull the battery for a few seconds (15 is more than enough)
unplug from the wall then just move the reset CMOS jumper virtually every motherboard has to the reset position for a few seconds, then move it back
did that, didnt work.
dark_elf said:
looks like the speaker doesn't connected.
please take a look, it doesn't connected right?
what are the connections near it? the came from the back of the case. reset/power?
No, there is no speaker connected. Can't remember if I've got them with the chassis or with the motherboard or both. If you have any packages from the original boxes, try to find a beeper there.
there was one back then for 100% it beeped and all.
no idea when or where it gone.
i dont see anything unpluged sadly.



tried that, same result.
after i shutdown-pressed until it boots and shut down itself.
the when start again- same result black screen, bootloop.
tried that several times.
tried to hold it for 60sec as well, nothing changed.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,052 (0.93/day)
Likes
2,674
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#17
Take the board out of the case, run it.
i prefer not to do that
You may need to. Note that cases are typically designed to support 1000s of different motherboards of several shapes and sizes. That means most cases support more motherboard standoffs than motherboards have mounting holes. It is not uncommon for new builders and experienced builders alike to insert an extra standoff under the board during assembly that shorts out the board (hopefully just temporarily) when power is applied. Or some other foreign object could be under there. The only way to find out is to remove the board. And if doing that, I recommend putting it all together outside the case on a large, unfinished (bare wood) bread/cutting board, or plain (no graphics or printing) sheet of cardboard. If it works outside the box, you know you have a problem with the assembly in the case. Just note where the two wires from the case's front panel power button connect to the motherboard. You will need to momentarily short those two pins together to signal the power supply to boot.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
5,746 (4.29/day)
Likes
3,432
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#18
While everyone is thinking about a fix for your current system, I'm going to suggest moving to an AMD Ryzen system,
An R5 2600 Processor or higher would be ideal for your intended usage, and is reasonably cheap compared to Intel, the largest cost would be the DDR4 Ram currently.
You can also list your current system for sale in the forum's buy/sell/ trade section to offset the cost.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
46 (0.09/day)
Likes
8
System Name Windows 10 64bit
Processor ntel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
Motherboard : Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H77-D3H (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
Memory 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gforce 1060 3b.
Storage 447GB KINGSTON SUV400S37480G ATA Device (SSD)
Power Supply thermaltalk TR2 RX 550pp
#19
today i purchase and connected a inner speaker to the pc:
appearantly i have a short fast beeping(like +20 short constant beeps).

this is the exact flow when i press powerup:
1-short fast beeping
2-reboot and no beeps for a few seconds
3-then reboot again and short fast beeping.

tried to remove the g.card
tried to powerup without card.
tried to remove one ram.
tried to remove both rams.

what is the beeps saying?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,052 (0.93/day)
Likes
2,674
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#20
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
46 (0.09/day)
Likes
8
System Name Windows 10 64bit
Processor ntel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
Motherboard : Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H77-D3H (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
Memory 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gforce 1060 3b.
Storage 447GB KINGSTON SUV400S37480G ATA Device (SSD)
Power Supply thermaltalk TR2 RX 550pp
#21
according to this:
https://www.gigabyte.com/Support/Faq/816
and this:
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/748806-Beep-Codes-for-a-gigabyte-MB

Continuous short beep :Power supply unit failed.
so this must be the reason?

here is a copy&past from the link above:

What does BIOS beep sound mean?

1.AWARD BIOS 1short beep :System normal 2 short beep :CMOS Error 1 long beep and 1 short beep:Memory error 1 long beep and 2 short beep:Graphic card error 1 long beep and 3 short beep :AGP error 1 long beep and 9 short beep :Memory Error Continuous long beep :Memory not correctly installed Continuous short beep :Power supply unit failed 2.AMI BIOS 1 short beep :Memory Error 2 short beep:Memory parity check error. 3 short beep :basic memory 64K address check error 4 short beep :Real Time Clock malfunction . 5 short beep :CPU error 6 short beep:Keyboard error 7 short beep :CPU interruption error 8 short beep:Graphic card error 9 short beep :Memory error 10 short beep :CMOS error 11 short beep :CPU cache memory malfunction
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,883 (5.46/day)
Likes
6,483
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,052 (0.93/day)
Likes
2,674
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#23
Well, it cannot be a total PSU failure or else there would be no power to cause a beep. So it must be a missing rail. I would certainly verify all connections first. And remember, just about all motherboards these days require at least two connections.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
46 (0.09/day)
Likes
8
System Name Windows 10 64bit
Processor ntel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
Motherboard : Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. H77-D3H (Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10GHz)
Memory 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) Gforce 1060 3b.
Storage 447GB KINGSTON SUV400S37480G ATA Device (SSD)
Power Supply thermaltalk TR2 RX 550pp
#24
i tried reconnect the 2 connections several times between the board and the PSU.
the beeps remains the same.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,883 (5.46/day)
Likes
6,483
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Top