1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help picking a 50$ mobo

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by ShadowFold, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  2. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,169 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    530
    Location:
    Florida, US
    i'd go with this board instead
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    $50 .. and need one for an e2200?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,169 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    530
    Location:
    Florida, US
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Thanks Jr. I might get that. Im not buying Gigabyte ever again lol..
     
  7. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Chicago

    I don't blame you. I've had nothing but problems with them. And customer support sucks.:rolleyes:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,169 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    530
    Location:
    Florida, US
    what's wrong with giga-byte
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I contacted them yesterday, they havent replyed yet.. thats pretty bad in my book when ASUS replyed in hours last time I used them.

    I had a Gigabyte board and it pooped on me.. thats the one im RMA'ing
     
  10. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,169 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    530
    Location:
    Florida, US
    oh k nvm, good luck
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I have noticed many many mor epeople complaining about the newer Giga-Byte boards. I am not sure if it's due to customer base, being such a large company with alot of reputation. Or if it's just isolated to a few of their newer boards.

    I have noticed though that most of the complaints are about the same exact model of P35 board that you owned.
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Remember to check the combo deals. For right now you can get it with the better NB heatsink for free.

    Just remember, northbridge does get warmer than most other DFI boards. Other than that it looks good .... BUT .... If you can come up with an extra $10 and don't mind MIR's ........

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813127031
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I dont want another P35 and I like the extra PCI-E16x slots :) when I buy hardware I like to keep it for atleast a year or two cause I hate upgrading..
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That was the same board I was going to get. I only suggested the P35 because they are known to be good clockin' boards. It's just too bad you came acrossed a dud.

    EIther one of the DFI's look awesome. That's one brand you can't go wrong on.

    Just one small note, as soon as you get it, flash to the newest bios because that P965 board supports Wolfdales and does a little better with overclocking. Have fun!
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ive never flashed a bios before but dont you need a floppy drive? Does the P965 suport my E2200 out of the box?
     
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I will have to search around but I am at work, so it's tough for me to post.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    hehe alright thanks for the help tho
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    OK, I am free for a few moments then I have to go offline. Hard for me to tell but it looks like it may not.

    EDIT: Anyone else have a DFI board that they had to update bios to get cpu supported?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Alright, I just need to know how to flash a BIOS. Im really considering that P965 board because of the two PCI-E slots and the features looks nice.
     
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well, DFI does have a Windows based bios flasher. That's only assuming you can get to Windows in a bootable state.

    I would email DFI customer support or read the forums.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Alright im gonna email DFI now
     
  24. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,459 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,467
    Location:
    Houston
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Sorry I dont do open box lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)