• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help, please! Don't know how to proceed...

ocprgmr

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have moved most of an HP system over to a new case and am monitoring the CPU temps and need some guidance. Here are my specs:

  • Motherboard: IPIBL-LA (http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...t=3623090#N443)
  • Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 2.40Ghz (not overclocked)
  • BIOS: American Megatrends 5.13 (10/24/2007) no flash available, some areas disabled by HP
  • Memory: Corsair XMS 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz (4 x 2048)
  • CPU Cooler: Corsair H50 Hydro Series
  • Case: Thermaltake V4 w/ Corsair HX620 pws
  • Video: ASUS GeForce GTX 460 1GB GDDR5 PCIe
  • OS: Win 7 64bit Ultimate

A bit of explanation...

The H50 was a recent addition after moving to the new case and I started monitoring the CPU temps and I thought they were running too high and I got a couple of BSoDs. After installing the H50 the temps dropped from about 145f (50% CPU load) to around 125f (50% CPU load). I tried moving fans around and that didn't seem to work.

This past weekend, I was to the point that I was thinking that it was the fact that the case I moved to had 1) a bigger power supply and 2) it was located at the top of the case right above the cpu. So, made the choice to move to a new Thermaltake V4 case where the power supply sits at the bottom and it has plenty of air flow. At the same time I took the opportunity to re-seated the pump on the H50. After cleaning off the thermal paste (it comes pre-applied to the copper plate on the pump) I saw some nicks on the copper (see attached photo). I used some Antec Formula 5 (only one available at my local computer store) and applied according to their directions.

After restarting the computer, it seemed that even though the temps would jump up with cpu usage, they would drop back down much faster than before. I breathed a quick sigh of relief. It was a bit too soon. The next morning I decided to play a little WoW since that's where I was seeing the more consistent higher temps, and I was seeing 129f to 133f across all 4 cores. I was not a happy camper. What was a bit surprising was that I did notice that Core 3 was now the core that seemed to get hotter after re-seating, when previously it was Core 0.


Now for the questions...

What could be causing the high cpu temps?

If this was your system, what would be your next steps -- within reason and given the following: I'm limited to a 17" high case. I can't really afford to change the mobo or processor.

Could the fan blowing air into the H50 not be running fast enough? I don't have any control over it thru BIOS.

Should I see about RMA'ing the H50 because of the nicks on the copper plate?

Is the thermal paste supposed to be applied to the heatsink or to the processor? Is the Antec Formula 5 okay to use, it's supposed to be the same as Arctic Silver.

Any suggestions? :banghead: :confused:

Also, I use this system on a daily basis for work, not just for play so it gets a lot of use and I can't have it down, so quick, prompt help is very much appreciated!
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
896 (0.29/day)
Likes
77
Location
Baltimore, MD
System Name Cool Runnings Mark 2
Processor i7 4770k No OC
Motherboard MSI Z87 MPower
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill TridentX 2400MHz 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 AC+
Storage Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD, 3 more HDDs
Display(s) Acer G276HLDbd Black 27" 6ms, Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms
Case Corsair 600t
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win10 Pro 64-bit
#2
the h50 block looks fine. and your temps are not high at all. about 55-60C. your bsod problem isnt temps its something else.
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.02/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#3
What power supply are you using to power this system? That is a really important question.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#4
Your H50 is fine.
 

ocprgmr

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
the h50 block looks fine. and your temps are not high at all. about 55-60C. your bsod problem isnt temps its something else.
I read somewhere, yesterday, and of course I can't find the link anywhere, that I should be trying to keep the temp around 42c. The BSoD was after the temps had gotten over 145F. I'm not sure just how high it had gotten because I had stepped away from the machine temporarily. I did some research and several video's I watched on CPU stress testing showed the exact same BSoD error message that I got -- which was why I presumed mine was related to too high temps. BTW, when I dropped my temps down after installing the H50, the BSoDs stopped.

What power supply are you using to power this system? That is a really important question.
Corsair HX620. I first upgraded from the 300w that was in my original HP system to an Ultra 550 (Tiger Direct brand) and then to the Corsair once I moved to the Thermaltake V4 case with the bottom power supply.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,401 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,923
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#6
I read somewhere, yesterday, and of course I can't find the link anywhere, that I should be trying to keep the temp around 42c. The BSoD was after the temps had gotten over 145F. I'm not sure just how high it had gotten because I had stepped away from the machine temporarily. I did some research and several video's I watched on CPU stress testing showed the exact same BSoD error message that I got -- which was why I presumed mine was related to too high temps. BTW, when I dropped my temps down after installing the H50, the BSoDs stopped.



Corsair HX620. I first upgraded from the 300w that was in my original HP system to an Ultra 550 (Tiger Direct brand) and then to the Corsair once I moved to the Thermaltake V4 case with the bottom power supply.
Did you apply thermal paste?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#7
I would let the paste settle in for a few days. If you still don't like the temps try adding another fan to the rad to give it a push/pull air flow
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
658
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#8
Id be willing to bet the mobo is bad every time i see a high end cpu stuffed in an oem computer the cheapo boards they use wind up failing before anything else.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.52/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
#9
I read somewhere, yesterday, and of course I can't find the link anywhere, that I should be trying to keep the temp around 42c. The BSoD was after the temps had gotten over 145F.
42C is not necessary. I've been running a Q6600 for two years, and it will keep running past 80C (176F). Though I don't know how long it would last that way. About 70C and lower is safe, so as others have said temps are not your problem.

Always look at temps in celsius, not fahrenheit. Gets confusing otherwise.
 

ocprgmr

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Did you apply thermal paste?
Yes...
At the same time I took the opportunity to re-seated the pump on the H50. After cleaning off the thermal paste (it comes pre-applied to the copper plate on the pump) I saw some nicks on the copper (see attached photo). I used some Antec Formula 5 (only one available at my local computer store) and applied according to their directions.

Id be willing to bet the mobo is bad every time i see a high end cpu stuffed in an oem computer the cheapo boards they use wind up failing before anything else.
I really didn't want to hear this... :( Is there anyway to tell this? Is it telling that I saw the higher temps move from one core (core 0) to a different core (core 3) after I re-seated the pump? I do think that I positioned the pump differently.

Is there any kind of testing I can do?

What's the impact of replacing the motherboard? Would it be worth it to keep the processor and memory? I don't want to have to replace everything if I don't have to. I don't have a lot of "extra" money or time. :cry:
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
658
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#11
Your temps are fine that's not the issue idk why your going by Fahrenheit but unless you see temps over 176F your not in the realm of temp related issues.

As far as testing anything short of a new board wont help, I just recently went though a similar situation if the board is bad everything connected to it will act screwy.

Replace the motherboard with something like ep45-ud3p and your set, your cpu and mem should be fine for quite some time with a good board like that you can easily oc that cpu to 3ghz+ which is even better.

In fact theirs someone selling 2x of them for 110 each on TPU [FS] 2 x GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 A...
If it turns out not to be the board you should have no problem re selling it as they are one of the most loved 775 skt motherboards around
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,401 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,923
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#12
Ok your temps are fine. You are getting BSOD's now. What are the errors you are getting?

Don't worry about the mobo yet. Lets not panic. Chances are if your mobo was really bad it would just up and die. They don't normally "slow death".
 

ocprgmr

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
Your temps are fine that's not the issue idk why your going by Fahrenheit but unless you see temps over 176F your not in the realm of temp related issues.

As far as testing anything short of a new board wont help, I just recently went though a similar situation if the board is bad everything connected to it will act screwy.

Replace the motherboard with something like ep45-ud3p and your set, your cpu and mem should be fine for quite some time with a good board like that you can easily oc that cpu to 3ghz+ which is even better.

In fact theirs someone selling 2x of them for 110 each on TPU [FS] 2 x GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 A...
If it turns out not to be the board you should have no problem re selling it as they are one of the most loved 775 skt motherboards around
I've never been good at relating to Celsius. :eek: I'm really surprised that my system would be able to handle that high of temps, but okay. :confused:

I'll keep that info around just in case.


Ok your temps are fine. You are getting BSOD's now. What are the errors you are getting?

Don't worry about the mobo yet. Lets not panic. Chances are if your mobo was really bad it would just up and die. They don't normally "slow death".
I'm sorry. I didn't make it clearer. I haven't had any BSOD's since I installed the H50 which is one of the reasons I was fairly certain it was related to high temps.
 

ocprgmr

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
I want to thank all of you for responding to such amateur questions. :)

I have a few more if you don't mind....

I have a Thermaltake V4 case (http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?C=1390&ID=1967#Tab2) that allows for the following fan placements:

  • Rear - Cooler Master Blade Master PWM Intake (H50 radiator)
  • Top
    • Back-unavailable due to radiator
    • Front -Scythe 120mm SLIP STREAM SLIM Exhaust
  • Bottom - empty atm (need slim due to modular power)
  • Front - Antec Tri-Cool Intake

What fan placements would you change (other than I need intake on the radiator)? The Cooler Master has the speed and the 4 pin needed to connect to CPU FAN header. I have no control over the BIOS section related to fans etc. HP had ASUS disable that. So if y'all think that I need to get some sort of hardware to control the fans, please suggest it. :D

Oh, and do you think any of this will help?

Thanks, again!