• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help please??

Mystisy

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2020
Messages
3 (0.05/day)
So I've been having this issue lately and I don't know what is causing it.

My screen will randomly get all these green and red square graphical errors on it, then my screen will go black, after a few seconds it usually comes back on and it crashes some programs after. But it never happens when I am in game.

Specs:
CPU AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Aorus B450 M
GPU AMD Radeon RX 560
Don't really remember the rest
But all the parts are only a couple months old except the GPU and the HDD.

I am thinking maybe its my GPU thats failing but I want to be sure before I go and get a new one. also find it really weird how it does not happen when I am in game if that is the case
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,233 (0.31/day)
Location
Heart of Europe
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) 120hz
Case open bench
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
normally thats the graphiccard memory going bad or your monitor +\or cable is nuts
maybe get a friends gpu to borrow and test?

so you are telling us if ya ingame all is ok for hours? if yes then i am with with freedom eclipse
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,571 (4.29/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Find out what your power supply is and get back to us.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,917 (0.36/day)
Check out the event log for "display driver" errors. Sounds like bad graphics card.
 

Mystisy

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2020
Messages
3 (0.05/day)
normally thats the graphiccard memory going bad or your monitor +\or cable is nuts
maybe get a friends gpu to borrow and test?

so you are telling us if ya ingame all is ok for hours?
I've tried like 3 different cables can try different monitor just dont have any other HD ones, and yeah I can be in game consecutively for hours
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,233 (0.31/day)
Location
Heart of Europe
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) 120hz
Case open bench
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
if it crashes programs after the fault it should not be your monitor
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
1,325 (0.31/day)
Location
USA
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-8700K CPU @ 3.70GHz
Motherboard EVGA 121-KS-E375
Cooling Stock (Temp.)
Memory GEIL 8192 MB X2 (DDR4-2137) - XMP 2.0 - P/N: CL16-16-16 D4-2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER (TU104-410)
Storage Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB & Samsung SSD 950 PRO 256GB
Display(s) LG 32" Widescreen
Case Corsair Carbide Series 400
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX850 Platinum
Mouse Razer Viper Ultimate
Keyboard DAS
Software Windows 10 1909 64 Bit
Have you tried updating your graphics drivers? But i recall something similar happening to my AMD card a few years back pretty sure it was from overclocking it a wee bit much :)
 

r9

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,641 (0.61/day)
System Name PC1| PC2|Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6600k| Ryzen 1600| 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Memory 16GB DDR4 |16GB DDR4 | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1070|2 x RX570 |On-Board
Storage 512GB SSD+1TB SSD|512GB SSD+1TB|2x256GBSSD 2x2TBGB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Software Windows 10 |Windows 10| Server 2012 r2
That sounds like a bad gpu.
You can downclocking the gpu and adding a bit more voltage.
It's possible that it can't run and the default ones.
Still not a good sign but you might be able get a bit more use out of it.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,522 (4.60/day)
Not sure what a power supply has to do with it...they dont cause artifacts.

That said, sounds like the card is bad if you tried different cables and outputs on the card, and different drivers. If all efforts dont work and it is out of warranty ty, try to bake it (see threads on how to do this). Maybe a reflow can help.
 
Top