1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HELP! Sapphire 6950 2gb "has stopped responding and has recovered"

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ianjamila, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. ianjamila New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Just in 2D at the desktop, fast scrolling, or grabbing a window and moving it around quickly is generally enough to cause video artifacts and a brief lockup then:

    "Display driver AMD Driver has stopped responding and has sucessfully recovered"

    There's also a corresponding warning in the Event Log each time it happens

    "Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered."

    Its not allowing me to play any games either.

    Windows can't even recognize it when i go to properties
    It still says that my graphics rating is 1.

    My specs are:
    Asus p67 sabertooth
    core i-5 2500k
    8gb G.skill Sniper
    Corsair TX 750
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
     
  2. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,153 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    check temps make sure its not overheating, try underclocking the card ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    What is happening is called a VPU recover, your system is having to reboot the card whenever it receives load. First thing I'd do is check that it is connected to the PSU properly and is receiving enough power then check that the card is properly seated on the motherboard. If it is, reinstall drivers if no luck, try on a different machine or on a fresh OS.

    Does your device manager recognize it?
     
  4. ianjamila New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Its at stock speed :( not overheating
     
  5. ianjamila New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i tried reseating it. Same problem. I will do the other things that you said.

    Although I will try to RMA it at my local retail shop. I'll go there later and they will test it. :p
     
  6. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Ahh yeah mate, forgot if you bought it local then yeah just let them do the work, hope they swap out your product for you straight away. :toast:
     
    ianjamila says thanks.
  7. ianjamila New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks Man. :) Will send feedback as soon as possible. :toast:
     
    random says thanks.
  8. ianjamila New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Just returned it for a Powercolor 6950 pcs++ will try it out later. :D
     
  9. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Great choice :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)