• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HELP!!! says hard disk error at start up!!!!

Q

quasar923

Guest
#1
when i start my computer it goes throught bios then through the raid thing that started happing not long ago but its been working with that. i dont have raid but it gives me a screen and says press tab for raid. but after that it says hard disk error press controll alt delete to restart. i do. same thing happens again. i go to bios reload defaults. nothing. reset cmos. nothing. i did however last night rearange my bios settings but it was working fine. i raised a few volteges, not that much but it was fine last night and now its reset to default. what do i do?!?!?!
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#2
Boot up, go to BIOS and check Advanced screen and change SATA mode ,from RAID, to IDE.:toast:
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#3
Boot from the Windows XP disk and do a repair/recover installation. If Namslas' tactic fails.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#4
you're not suppossed to go through the raid thing i believe...
 
Q

quasar923

Guest
#5
oh and im out of a cd drive atm mine broke doesnt read anyhting idk why it was only a year old and it was good. but im getting one somtime this week from newegg.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#6
oh and im out of a cd drive atm mine broke doesnt read anyhting idk why it was only a year old and it was good. but im getting one somtime this week from newegg.
If the problem is with windows- then wait until you have another CD drive.
 
Q

quasar923

Guest
#7
ok no changing it to ide did get rid of that raid thing. thank you for that. but it still doesnt go into windows . it still says "A disk error occured. Press ctrl+Alt+Del to restart", then that blinking dash mark below it all.
 
Q

quasar923

Guest
#8
yea. ok i will ill ask my dad if i can take his dvd drive from his comp and put it to mine. so all i do is click the fix not reinstall bc that will delete all my stuff and i dont want that.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#9
Sata mode tell the BIOS "Raid" or "not"(IDE). As long as SATA is enabled in the "ON CHIP SATA" section it should work for a single drive.


EDIT: no the "repair" function will not reformat the entire drive only the windows portions that have errors.
:toast:
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#10
ok no changing it to ide did get rid of that raid thing. thank you for that. but it still doesnt go into windows . it still says "A disk error occured. Press ctrl+Alt+Del to restart", then that blinking dash mark below it all.
I just fixed my freinds ASUS motherboard (p4c800 deluxe)computer with the same error. I tried everything even re-formating the HDD; ended up having to replace the HDD. (finnishing up on the updates right now)


:toast:
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#12
it depends, if its a a bad drive, then you can warranty it and get a new one as long you haven't done something to void the warranty, but try other things first before doing that. try going to install windows xp on the cd and then it'l detect that you already have windows xp installed so it'll ask if you want to repair it, and you hit yes, and it'll rewrite the windows files, it wont erase any of your personal files.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#13
my friend had pc that said that hdd is dead, but it worked perfectly after formating it...
 
Q

quasar923

Guest
#14
alright well i just oredered a dvi cable and the dvd drive so it should be here in 3 days (thursday). so ill talk to you all then i guess unless i come up with some more questions.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#15
lol, I got tired of waiting for things to come to me and then send them back if something goes wrong. Next time i'm buying something, I won't do it online (unless I will see some ridiculous prices). (of course research will still be online)

EDIT: today had to send RAM back
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#16
lol, I got tired of waiting for things to come to me and then send them back if something goes wrong. Next time i'm buying something, I won't do it online (unless I will see some ridiculous prices). (of course research will still be online)

EDIT: today had to send RAM back
sorry to hijack your thread, but is it the ram that you bought and it killed like 3 oses on your comp? i think i was on your thread a few days ago lol.