• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help setting up RAID

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (1.24/day)
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
Ok I have 2 40gb IDE HDD's and I need help setting them up in raid :cool: just as an experiment. Can anyone give any basic help for me.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.46/day)
XP or Vista?

You'll have to re-install either one your using. Vista is easy to use with RAID, I think. XP with the motherboard disc (raid drivers), still doesn't see my raid! :mad: I did have a RAID0 setup, but started to have problems. It's a pain to get dual boot to work on a RAID, but by the time i got it working. I didn't won't anymore. ha ha
 
Last edited:

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (1.24/day)
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
Its Vista but that is installed on another disc. I was thinking about setting up a server edition 2008
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,223 (0.86/day)
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 9 7950x3D delid
Motherboard Asus X670E Hero
Cooling Custom Bykski loop CPU, GPU, 2x 360 rads, and 1x 280 rad with Arctic P12 and P14 ARGB fans
Memory G.Skill DDR5-6000 64GB CL30
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 4090 Aorus Master
Storage Kingston Fury 2TB and 4TB NVME
Display(s) Samsung 57"
Case Lian Li O11 mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 1000w SFX-L
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 11 Pro
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,455 (0.40/day)
System Name PC
Processor i7 9700KF
Motherboard MSI Z390 A PRO
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) PALIT RTX 4070 Dual 12Gb
Storage 2X Crucial MX500 2TB SSD, Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD
Display(s) DELL C34H89x 34" Ultrawide
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 64bit
Last edited:

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (1.24/day)
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
Well how much are raid cards for IDE these days.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
8,234 (1.35/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 3080Ti STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB , 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1621+ RAID5
Display(s) Corsair Xeneon 32" 32UHD144 4K
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Virtuoso XT Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G604s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 11 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
software raid is crap and pointless... sorry to be harsh, but its true :)
For raid 1... it could be usefull for backup purposes(but very slow)... and for raid 0 , its a waste of time

I could transfer over from my RAID-0 array on my OS drive ~10GB of music in under 3 minutes using software raid (on the motherboard). I dont see that as pointless.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (1.24/day)
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
software raid is crap and pointless... sorry to be harsh, but its true :)
For raid 1... it could be usefull for backup purposes(but very slow)... and for raid 0 , its a waste of time

Even if it is crap and pointless I want to know so I can learn how to do it in the future.
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (0.80/day)
Even if it is crap and pointless I want to know so I can learn how to do it in the future.

Its simple. But its important to know that setting up RAID will require formatting your drives.

Plug in drives.
Go into bios - set drives to RAID instead of IDE.
Raid configuration utility should now appear during bootup.
Create RAID array by following the prompts in the utility.
Reboot and install windows xp, loading your raid drivers off a floppy disk that you created using the raid disk creator on your mobo cd.
Thats it.

If you want a dual boot with vista. You can then use xp to run Norton partition magic and create a partition on your hard drives to seperate the two OS's. Reboot and install Vista on the other partition.

If you are prepared with the software and hardware, its piss easy.
Id just like to also say that the RAID setup isnt the same for all hardware, but it should be pretty similar.
I used the Intel Matrix Raid setup rather than JBOD or the Jmicron onboard raid ports.
 
Top