• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help:: Window Freezes whenever I run Cooling Down test

meepokman

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Dear all,

I was intending to OC my CPU to 3GHz.

I refreshed the BIOS of my EP45-UD3R and installed Windows 7 64 Bit.

But whenever I start running Cooling down test w/ Prime 95, my Windows would freeze. (Thus I cannot do screen capture... I have to use my digicam to take a pic).

Can someone kindly advise what seems to be the problem and if I should continue to OC.

Many thanks.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
803 (0.18/day)
Likes
463
Location
Romania
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard ASRock P67 Extreme4
Cooling Ninja 3 fanless
Memory Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 XMS3 rev. A
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING X 6GB
Storage Intel 535 Series 120GB + WD 6400AAKS
Display(s) Benq EW2420
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Win 10
#2

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.32/day)
Likes
681
#4
and still no solution?
The solution is up to you. I've never had the test lock up on any of the CPUs that I've tried it on and many other users have never had a problem with this test. If you read the link that burebista posted you will find that if your CPU is not 100% stable, it can freeze during this test.

You might have to tweak your voltages a little.
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,866 (0.65/day)
Likes
524
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#5
then your OC is not stable. theres no solution for this without changing your OC settings.
please post your system specs also so we could help you more easily
 

koorosh

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Location
Iran
System Name Heftop!
Processor Pentium Dual Core T3400 @ 2.16 GHz
Motherboard Toshiba
Memory 2GB Kingston + 1GB Samsung DDR2
Video Card(s) Crappy GMA X4500 128MB shared
Storage Toshiba 500GB 5400rpm
Display(s) 15.4"
Case Satellite Pro S300-EZ1511
Software Vista HB SP2 32bit | Fedora 16 x86_64
#6
I don't see the CPU is overclocked in the picture. However you can try some voltage increase. And by the way you disabled speed step right?
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.32/day)
Likes
681
#7
Even when a CPU is not overclocked, you still have to make sure the voltages are set correctly. The AUTO setting might be good enough to boot up but it doesn't mean that your computer will be 100% stable. Same with memory. Everything needs to be thoroughly tested.

You don't need to disable SpeedStep when you are overclocking. If your CPU is stable then SpeedStep will work fine, even when overclocking.

To pass the cool down test, your CPU has to be stable. The number one cause of lock ups when Prime95 ends is voltage related. You can either fix this or say to hell with it and not bother running the cool down test. I like my CPUs to be 100% stable but 99% stable is good enough for many users.
 

koorosh

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
Location
Iran
System Name Heftop!
Processor Pentium Dual Core T3400 @ 2.16 GHz
Motherboard Toshiba
Memory 2GB Kingston + 1GB Samsung DDR2
Video Card(s) Crappy GMA X4500 128MB shared
Storage Toshiba 500GB 5400rpm
Display(s) 15.4"
Case Satellite Pro S300-EZ1511
Software Vista HB SP2 32bit | Fedora 16 x86_64
#8
You don't need to disable SpeedStep when you are overclocking. If your CPU is stable then SpeedStep will work fine, even when overclocking.
I thought this is about Core ix models, Core 2s still bother with speedstep.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.32/day)
Likes
681
#9
Some people like SpeedStep. I don't use it on Core 2 CPUs but I have used it when overclocking and it didn't limit my overclock in any way.
 

meepokman

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Hi,

unclewebb, you are right. The moment I bump up my Vcore voltage to 1.3v, the cool down tests does not hang anymore.

BUT the core temperature is quite high (refer to attached image). This is too high for Q8400 whose max temp is 72?
 

Attachments

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,866 (0.65/day)
Likes
524
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#11
Hi,

unclewebb, you are right. The moment I bump up my Vcore voltage to 1.3v, the cool down tests does not hang anymore.

BUT the core temperature is quite high (refer to attached image). This is too high for Q8400 whose max temp is 72?
do your have a decent cooler? Don't try to overclock with a Stock cooler.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
803 (0.18/day)
Likes
463
Location
Romania
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard ASRock P67 Extreme4
Cooling Ninja 3 fanless
Memory Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 XMS3 rev. A
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING X 6GB
Storage Intel 535 Series 120GB + WD 6400AAKS
Display(s) Benq EW2420
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Win 10
#12
unclewebb, you are right. The moment I bump up my Vcore voltage to 1.3v, the cool down tests does not hang anymore.
OK, from now I'll officially recommend CPU Cool Down Test for the ultimate stability check weapon. :D

About your temps. Your TJMax is 100. Keep distance to TJMax>20 in daily using and forget about temps.
With other words you're perfect fine, enjoy your rig.
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
1,144 (0.32/day)
Likes
681
#13
The 72C rating is measured by taking a Dremel tool and cutting a groove into the top of your CPU and running a thermocouple to the geometric center of your CPU. No one actually does this so that number is completely meaningless to most users.

Intel decided a much better idea would be to put sensor at the hottest spots on the core. These are the sensors that RealTemp reports. This allowed them to raise the maximum operating temperature. When they used to try and rely on temperatures from the center of the CPU, they had to start throttling the CPU way too soon out of fear that some other part of the CPU might be way too hot. With individual core sensors, no more fears. Thermal throttling and thermal shut down is based on core temperature data. If RealTemp reports OK in the Thermal Status area then that means the CPU is operating within the Intel recommended guidelines. As burebista says, as long as your CPU is running stable and is not thermal throttling, there is no need to give your core temperatures a second thought.

Glad to hear that a little more core voltage increased your stability. I had no idea that this test would also become useful for stability testing. I thought a 10 minute cool down test was a little long but compared to 8 hours of Prime95, it's not bad at all. :)

Time to get overclocking. You have piles of headroom before throttling will begin. No worries. When overclocking you tend to lose stability long before core temperature becomes too high.