• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help! Windows Loads Too Slow.

Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
UK
System Name Home Desktop
Processor AMD FX-6300 Piledriver 3.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte G8-78LMT-S2P
Cooling Out-of-the-box cooler
Memory 4GB of Corsair VS2GB 1333D3
Video Card(s) Saphire R7 250 1GB GDDR5
Storage Seagate Barracuda ST500DM002 SATA 3
Display(s) ACER V173 17"
Case Novatech
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Novatech 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#1
Hi,

I've recently built a desktop PC for my home to the following specs (same as in the drop down menu to the left under my name)

CPU: AMD Piledriver FX6 3.6GHz
MOBO: Gigabyte G8-7LMT-S2P
RAM: Corsair 2 x 2GB of 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 6450
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 500Gb
PSU: Novatech 750W

O/S: Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit

Ever since I first built the machine, the boot time (from power on to desktop appearing and all startup programs like firewall etc being ready) has been around 1m30s. From what I've heard - perhaps wrongly - is that with these specs I should be expecting things to be a little faster than that. So, I set out and started removing programs from the start up section of msconfig with no significant change to the boot time. I turned off all the extra shiny bits in windows, like the aero theme - no change still. I've updated the BIOS, run malware/spyware/virus scans and still nothing. I've defragged the HDD and still no change. Can anyone suggest something I might have missed? I don't know if its relevant or not but I do NOT have a user account setup in Windows. Could this be causing a problem? I should point out I've not tried overclocking as I only have an out-of-the-box cooler at present.

Any ideas would be great. :banghead:

In advance, thanks :)
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#2
when have u last defraged that 500gb hdd?

and try go to Start-->Run type msconfig choose boot click Advanced options... and click on "Number of processors" and all 6 cores in the roll window there and see if that plus a defrag won't help a little ^^
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#3
how old is the harddrive? seagate drives dont age well.

also turn on fast boot from bios and things.


your motherboard is not really AM3+, and its in the low low end. that might be the problem.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
UK
System Name Home Desktop
Processor AMD FX-6300 Piledriver 3.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte G8-78LMT-S2P
Cooling Out-of-the-box cooler
Memory 4GB of Corsair VS2GB 1333D3
Video Card(s) Saphire R7 250 1GB GDDR5
Storage Seagate Barracuda ST500DM002 SATA 3
Display(s) ACER V173 17"
Case Novatech
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Novatech 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#4
Hi,

Drive has been defragged in the last 24hrs and it's only about 6 weeks old. All 6 processors are enabled in msconfig. As for 'fast boot', I couldn't find such an option in the BIOS, although I did turn on the 'Turbo Core' feature within the BIOS. No change still...

The system initially boots very rapidly up to the point where windows starts to load. The initial windows screen with the swirly coloured blobs goes fast enough but then the next screen (with swirly blue circle cursor thing) takes about 45s or so to progress to the desktop. Once windows has finished loading, everything runs really nicely.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#5
well i guess you have hit your limit. everything seems to be fine. BTW, your motherboard does not officially support that CPU of yours. i think that might be the problem.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,212 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,802
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
sounds like a format and fresh drivers are due, antivirus and firewalls do slow down a machines boot sequence too. That ram is at the low end for that setup, if the mobo supports 1600 put it in
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,483 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,640
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#7


download ccleaner and disable startup from there perhaps and run cleaner while you're at it too.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,624 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#8
Have you installed the motherboard driver?

Get them from here: you might not be running the correct sata driver

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3833#dl

Edit - 1m30 isn't all that slow for a HDD. My HTPC takes at least 3 mins from when i press the power button.

Edit 2 - Superfetch can also cause problems with boot and load times. You may want to try disabling that in services just to see if it makes a difference.
 
Last edited:

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,723
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#9
You could try Soluto and see how long things are taking to boot, how ever it's web based to now although with a good firewall you can block the app from connecting online and it still works..

Shame they got to nosy as i am sure they are collecting data of peoples PC's but as i said you can block that shit with a good FW.

To see a good example how long the system takes to boot use Boot Racer how ever it don't tell you sadly what times the apps that load take.


Old install used to be faster ?, maybe some apps need to be removed from the start up or it is time for a fresh OS install. Might want to do a chkdsk too see if there is any errors on the drives.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#10
If the board doesn't fully support the CPU it might be working in fail-safe mode (800Mhz), that might be the reason for the slow boot.

Boot into Windows and run CPU-Z to check your processor speed. If CnQ is enabled it should run at 800Mhz but once it gets loaded it should go up. Run a program like Intel Burn Test or OCCT to load the processor and check your speeds.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2005
Messages
509 (0.11/day)
Likes
51
Location
Germany,Hannover
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-3570K
Motherboard Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Scythe Ninja 3 Rev. B
Memory Patriot DIMM 8 GB DDR3-1866 Kit (PV38G186C9KRD, Viper 3 Venom Red)
Video Card(s) Palit 650GTX 1GB DDR5
Storage 1TB SATA 600 Hitachi HDS721010DLE630
Display(s) 23" LCD TN-Film from Asus with Tilt/Pivot
Case Zaria A20 !!!THANK YOU TECHPOWERUP.COM!!!
Audio Device(s) onboard Sound
Power Supply BeQuiet 720W, cable management..
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#11
well apart from all the usual stuff here like ccleaner and msconfig, defrag...

guess what mine issue was a while back?

inside the eventlog of windows 7 you can find some red marked allerts like "dll" that didn't load properly on startup.

you have to look inside your "event log" from windows:
The Windows System Event Log can be found through right clicking the My Computer icon and left clicking Manage. Next, click Event Viewer in the tree on the left and click System.


with that info you can atleast take away some bricks from the startup process :D

EDIT:

why would this board not support his cpu? according to gigabyte it takes from rev 3.1 up to 5.0 some bulldozer and rare a vishera cpu?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
1,050 (0.31/day)
Likes
132
Location
Pikeville NC
System Name In the works
Processor 4670k
Motherboard ASUS Z87
Cooling 5x120mm
Memory 8GB Sniper Gskill 1833
Video Card(s) MSI 970 Gaming
Storage 2x 240gb SSD's + 1TB seagate
Display(s) 27" Acer 1920x1080
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply OCZ Power 600W Modular
Keyboard Corsait K70 with red switches
Software Win10
#12
1m30s really is not that slow.... and is about what i would expect from that type of PC without some extreme micro management.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,212 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,802
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13
You could try Soluto and see how long things are taking to boot, how ever it's web based to now although with a good firewall you can block the app from connecting online and it still works..

Shame they got to nosy as i am sure they are collecting data of peoples PC's but as i said you can block that shit with a good FW.

To see a good example how long the system takes to boot use Boot Racer how ever it don't tell you sadly what times the apps that load take.


Old install used to be faster ?, maybe some apps need to be removed from the start up or it is time for a fresh OS install. Might want to do a chkdsk too see if there is any errors on the drives.
Yeah I do chkdsk with certain parameters along with defrag from CMD. Black Viper is a good place to go for startup processes too
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,476 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,025
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#14
Have you gone into the BIOS and set it from IDE mode to AHCI mode? this will increase your times.

Run a HDD scan just incase the HDD is faulty? sometimes it can happen to brand new drives.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#15
1m30s really is not that slow.... and is about what i would expect from that type of PC without some extreme micro management.
This. If you don't like it you can start cutting corners by limiting what starts at boot but in general that not too bad. If you don't like it, buy an SSD. I don't think anything other than hard drive access speeds are to blame unless your filling memory and hitting swap space.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
UK
System Name Home Desktop
Processor AMD FX-6300 Piledriver 3.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte G8-78LMT-S2P
Cooling Out-of-the-box cooler
Memory 4GB of Corsair VS2GB 1333D3
Video Card(s) Saphire R7 250 1GB GDDR5
Storage Seagate Barracuda ST500DM002 SATA 3
Display(s) ACER V173 17"
Case Novatech
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Novatech 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#16
Hi guys, thanks for the input. Aquinus, I think you might be right. I've tried pretty much most of what you guys have suggested and I'm not making any headway. I think we'll leave it at that (at least until I get afford some better gear!)

Once again, thanks for all your help. Awesome response. Cheers dudes :)