• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help with 7800 gs volt mod

onetu3

I've just tried to volt mod my bfg 7800 gs and since this is my first time volt modding, I'm not quite sure about a few things. And to make matters worst, I accidently removed a wrong resistor and now my computer won't even power up with the 7800 gs attached. So I was wondering if there was anything I can do to fix it or is my card pretty much a goner.

Here's a picture taken from the vr-zone 7800 gs mod guide to show the resistor that I accident removed (circled in blue). I've already removed the resistors circled in red according to the mod guide at that site.

Sn33kyp33t

wow can you say RMA...or find that resistor and hope you can put it back on the correct way

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
System Name EVA-01
Processor Intel i7 13700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus Z690 HERO EVA Edition
Cooling ASUS ROG Ryujin III 360 with Noctua Industrial Fans
Memory PAtriot Viper Elite RGB 96GB @ 6000MHz.
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 24GB OC EVA Edition
Storage Addlink S95 M.2 PCIe GEN 4x4 2TB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT OLED PG42UQ
Case Thermaltake Core P3 TG
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vegas
Power Supply be quiet DARK POWER PRO 12 1500W
Mouse ROG STRIX Impact Electro Punk
Keyboard ROG STRIX Scope TKL Electro Punk
Software Windows 11
by the way when BFG says no on the RMA ....try giving infrared a pm and see if he can work some magic!

System Name W.I.P.
Wow. Do you still have the resistor if so solder that bad boy back on! BTW, Sneeky is this attack of the clones or what? :wtf:

onetu3