• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help with BSOD

Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
866 (0.28/day)
Likes
429
Location
Baguio City, Philippines
System Name hmmm...
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K // AMD Athlon II X4 630
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Gene // MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S // Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 4x8gb DDR3 2400mhz G.Skill Sniper // 2x2gb DDR3 1333mhz GSkill Value RAM
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980 Ti // Palit GTS 250
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500gb + 3x2tb WD20EZRX // 1tb Seagate 7200.12
Display(s) LG IPS234V // AOC 2217V
Case Corsair Graphite 760T // Lian-Li PC-7 Plus
Audio Device(s) Onboard // Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX650 // Cougar CM 550
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M65 // Logitech MK120
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 // Logitech MK120
Software Windows 10 Professional x64 // Windows 7 Professional x64
#1
I got three BSODs just now around 10-15 min apart. The first time it happened I didn't change any setting. The second time it happened, I changed all the setting in BIOS to the "Optimized Default" then loaded the XMP profile. Then BSOD again. So now I loaded the "Optimized Default" and didn't change anything in the BIOS. The CPU's been overclocked ever since I bought and installed it around a month ago crunching 24/7. I tested the OC using the OCCT CPU:Linpack test for 12 hours and it passed and it's been crunching ever since. No BSOD's until now. I don't know how to interpret a BSOD :laugh: so could someone please help me out?

I took a picture of the BSOD and I could also upload the .dmp file if someone needs it:


edit:
.dmp file
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#2
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#3

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#4
Needs more vcore or VTT/QPI like frogger said :)
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.80/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#5
Probably vcore. I've noticed crunching, for some rigs it can take months for instability to show.

Try a bit more vcore and see how it goes.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,745 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,009
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#6
Very good responses there ^^^ in my experience it will almost always be one of these, some of which already suggestede....

VCore too low
QPI volts too low
Uncore (am a little out of date so not sure if this still applies to your system)..... set too high
Memory..... possibly VDimm set too low or clocks set too high.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.80/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#7
At least with my 2600K, it never fails. That's BSOD is always vcore for me :laugh:
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
866 (0.28/day)
Likes
429
Location
Baguio City, Philippines
System Name hmmm...
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K // AMD Athlon II X4 630
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Gene // MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S // Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 4x8gb DDR3 2400mhz G.Skill Sniper // 2x2gb DDR3 1333mhz GSkill Value RAM
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980 Ti // Palit GTS 250
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500gb + 3x2tb WD20EZRX // 1tb Seagate 7200.12
Display(s) LG IPS234V // AOC 2217V
Case Corsair Graphite 760T // Lian-Li PC-7 Plus
Audio Device(s) Onboard // Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX650 // Cougar CM 550
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M65 // Logitech MK120
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 // Logitech MK120
Software Windows 10 Professional x64 // Windows 7 Professional x64
#8
Try a bit more vcore and see how it goes.
I'll try this first coz I don't know what that QPI/VTT thing is... I need to read more about it. This is my first Intel PC. I used to have a lowly 7750BE on an Asus M3A78-CM board and all I did with that was raise the multi to get 3.1ghz :).

Thanks all for the replies... Can't wait to get this PC crunching again... :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
171 (0.07/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel i5-3450 3.1GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M
Memory G-Skill DDR3 8GB (2x4GB) RipjawsX Dual Channel 1600MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ X² Boost Clock
Storage OCZ Agility 2 64GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2450H 24"
Case X Blade
Power Supply OCZ Fata1ity 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#9
Hi guys, any chance someone can help me with this error that I have been recieving for about 24h now. Happens randomly, mainly when playing games such as LFS, Witcher.

BlueScreen 2057
BCCode 116

 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#10
Hi guys, any chance someone can help me with this error that I have been recieving for about 24h now. Happens randomly, mainly when playing games such as LFS, Witcher.

BlueScreen 2057
BCCode 116
Hi

uninstall your vga driver; follow this guide by erocker - http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502

try using a driver prior to the 12.xx series from the AMD archive - http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/previous/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
171 (0.07/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel i5-3450 3.1GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M
Memory G-Skill DDR3 8GB (2x4GB) RipjawsX Dual Channel 1600MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ X² Boost Clock
Storage OCZ Agility 2 64GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2450H 24"
Case X Blade
Power Supply OCZ Fata1ity 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#11
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
171 (0.07/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel i5-3450 3.1GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M
Memory G-Skill DDR3 8GB (2x4GB) RipjawsX Dual Channel 1600MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ X² Boost Clock
Storage OCZ Agility 2 64GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2450H 24"
Case X Blade
Power Supply OCZ Fata1ity 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#12
Did every step to the letter. It just froze on me again, however, this time there was no blue screen, it just froze while I was in the witcher 2. It was quite random, same as before. But again, no blue screen, nothing. Just went blank. And no error message when I loaded windows. Oh and ill update my system info.

EDIT: Also I have a 5450 or a 5650 GPU in another PC. I can try and put that in here just to see if it is indeed my aging 3870 going on the blink.

EDIT2: It's actually a 5670 512MB

Im guessing that this is really not going to be better than the 3870 performance wise?
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#13
Did every step to the letter. It just froze on me again, however, this time there was no blue screen, it just froze while I was in the witcher 2. It was quite random, same as before. But again, no blue screen, nothing. Just went blank. And no error message when I loaded windows. Oh and ill update my system info.

EDIT: Also I have a 5450 or a 5670 GPU in another PC. I can try and put that in here just to see if it is indeed my aging 3870 going on the blink.
Hi

If you are able to play other games with the HD 3870 without these issues; it would appear to be the Witcher 2, make sure you have the latest game patches if you are not using a steam version

This may help trouble shoot the blank screen/ctd - http://www.thewitcher.com/support/w2/#q25 - it appears the game is buggy

a couple of things you should try [more details in the link]

1) Turn off all unnecessary software running in Windows background, including 3D graphics software and overclocking utilities
2) In some cases turning off antivirus software helps [*only do this as a last resort]; it is not wise to disable antivirus software.

For Windows Vista and Windows 7: [while in windows desktop - press and hold down shift key/press mouse
button; select - open command window here], you may need to run this while logged in with administrator rights
- Proceed to start -> run and type: cmd
- In opened window type command: bcdedit /set IncreaseUserVa 3072
- Restart PC

nb: if this is not a steam game make sure to reinstall DirectX

Best of luck

atb

Law-II​
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
171 (0.07/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel i5-3450 3.1GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M
Memory G-Skill DDR3 8GB (2x4GB) RipjawsX Dual Channel 1600MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ X² Boost Clock
Storage OCZ Agility 2 64GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2450H 24"
Case X Blade
Power Supply OCZ Fata1ity 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#14
Nope, happens randomly, but in particular when running games. Happens in Live For Speed, The Witcher 2, BF3... Tomorrow I will take out my 3870, and put in my 5670 and see if it has the same errors.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#15
That does sound look like a driver error. A driver sweep and re install should take care of it for you.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
171 (0.07/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel i5-3450 3.1GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M
Memory G-Skill DDR3 8GB (2x4GB) RipjawsX Dual Channel 1600MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ X² Boost Clock
Storage OCZ Agility 2 64GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2450H 24"
Case X Blade
Power Supply OCZ Fata1ity 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#16
Had already done a complete and comprehensive uninstall + install of drivers, not only the same ones, but also older ones. SO far so good for now. Has not crashed yet (still using the 3870). When and if it does crash again, I will swap it out for the 5670 just to see if has the same BSODs.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#17
Had already done a complete and comprehensive uninstall + install of drivers, not only the same ones, but also older ones. SO far so good for now. Has not crashed yet (still using the 3870). When and if it does crash again, I will swap it out for the 5670 just to see if has the same BSODs.
Good deal man :toast: Hope it stays "fixed"
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Messages
171 (0.07/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel i5-3450 3.1GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M
Memory G-Skill DDR3 8GB (2x4GB) RipjawsX Dual Channel 1600MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ X² Boost Clock
Storage OCZ Agility 2 64GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2450H 24"
Case X Blade
Power Supply OCZ Fata1ity 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#18
Okidoki my 3870 kept suffering from random restarts where screen would go blank/show artifacts, not showing BSODS, so I guess it was just on the way out tbh.

Got my 5670 in atm, had it running smoothly no problems for about 36 hours, drivers ok, no crashes while playing games.

Looking into FPS with witcher 2, lfs, bf3, it actually seems to be a slight slight improvement over the 3870 which I was suprised about. Anywho, will wait for the 660Ti to be released before gettting a new shiny GPU.
 

brutusln

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#19
BSOD - This is a Virus

Okay, I've check all the forums from MS to AVG.

Most technies are treating this Blue Screen of Death like it's a legitimate Windows error message, but it's not.

It's the AVG BSOD trojan.

1) Has your browser home page changed to AVG?
2) Is your McAfee or other virus software unable to scan?
3) Is there an AVG toolbar on your browser now?

I am unable to run my virus software. Malwarebytes finds the trojan, but is unable to quarantine it.

Anyone else willing to say this might not be a driver issue?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#20
Your computer doesn't like you, at all... Just sayin.. >.> I kid..
Listen to the rest of these guys, they seem to have it under control. :)