• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

help with failed flash hd6950

Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#1
i got Visiontek hd6950 2gb and i tryed to flash it as everyone else did but unfortunatly i failed!! there was no erorrs while flashing just when i rebot pc there was no signal from gpu any more!! now i wanted to flash it back using integrated gpu on motherboard but when 6950 is in slot i dont get signal from integrated gpu either!! do i need to have pci-e card to flash it back or what??
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
i got Visiontek hd6950 2gb and i tryed to flash it as everyone else did but unfortunatly i failed!! there was no erorrs while flashing just when i rebot pc there was no signal from gpu any more!! now i wanted to flash it back using integrated gpu on motherboard but when 6950 is in slot i dont get signal from integrated gpu either!! do i need to have pci-e card to flash it back or what??
You will need either a PCI or if your board has extra PCIex slots, a PCIex card.

Put bad flash card in second slot then the spare card in first slot.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#3
thank you for fast reply!! i tought so but it nice to be sure!! :)now im going to get my second card...
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#4
ok i have one more question since i started to shit around with bios-es....,when i get secnd card runing i can try other 6970 bios before i flash it back to orig bios file??or is a smart thing to do and get orig bios on it??
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#5
can i use nvidia as spare card??and is ther a chance to break that card too??
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#6
is a smart thing to do and get orig bios on it?? THIS
nb: If you get a chance; fill in your system spec's in UserCP, will help members of TPU assist you

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#7
ok i fill my pc spec!! and managed to boot pc from igpu...but i totaly have no luck puting card working...,i try several flashing modes and some of them finish it but doesnt realy fix it!some flashing mods dont work at all!! last one i try i with hardware unlock and hp usbflash tool and it said it susces but when i start pc here is what i get on gpu-z
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/03/31/ex4.png
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#8
Hi

Uninstall the AMD catalyst driver shutdown and reboot your PC and take another GPU-Z screen once you have done this.

did you use the original bios?

nb: this may help

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,367 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#9
If your card has a BIOS switch you can use that to hot-flash the BIOS. That's how i revived my card. Boot with the other profile, flip the switch while it's running and flash it. Reboot and it should work. You can find guides online for this as well and follow them to the letter so you won't mess the other BIOS as well. If you have a card with single BIOS, you have to use some other gfx card to boot the system with it.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#10
not orig bios

Hi

Uninstall the AMD catalyst driver shutdown and reboot your PC and take another GPU-Z screen once you have done this.

did you use the original bios?

nb: this may help

atb

Law-II
i did big mistake when i first flash card and didnt save my orig bios!!! but i downloaded one on this site visiontek hd 6950 2gb!! that is my card ...but stil cant manage to get that one to work either.i uninstall drivers reboot pc and now i have this on gpu-z
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/03/31/fc4.png
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#11
If your card has a BIOS switch you can use that to hot-flash the BIOS. That's how i revived my card. Boot with the other profile, flip the switch while it's running and flash it. Reboot and it should work. You can find guides online for this as well and follow them to the letter so you won't mess the other BIOS as well. If you have a card with single BIOS, you have to use some other gfx card to boot the system with it.
i dont think would be woried so much if my card have bios switch.. any help apriciated..
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#12
why you think i cant flash properly?? i allways think its halfway done!!i think i will make screen shots of my next flash try!! and post it here
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#13
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#14
i done one more flash using bootable usb!! here is what now gpu-z read!
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/03/31/d9d.png
i didnt install any driver yet,but from my expirience when i do install it and reboot pc it freeze at point where should be welcome screen.then i hard reset and start it up using last known good config,and that is it...,is my card realy dead or is this fixable??
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#15
i done one more flash using bootable usb!! here is what now gpu-z read!
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/03/31/d9d.png
i didnt install any driver yet,but from my expirience when i do install it and reboot pc it freeze at point where should be welcome screen.then i hard reset and start it up using last known good config,and that is it...,is my card realy dead or is this fixable??
Hi

have a look at the links I posted

fingers crossed you may be able to save your vga card

If it is a reference design?!

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#16
Hi

have a look at the links I posted

fingers crossed you may be able to save your vga card

If it is a reference design?!

atb

Law-II
i think its non reference but just to be sure how can i tell??
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,367 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#17
To get a signal from an integrated GPU you have to change motherboard BIOS setting so that onboard GPU is initialized first. It comes under various names, but it's usually under Integrated or PCIe. Also don't forget to "rewire" the monitor to GPU and not to your PCIe graphic card ;)
Though in some rare cases system will refuse to boot with a "broken" graphic card regardless of what you set in the motherbord BIOS. When that happens, there isn't much you can do because even with another PCI card, you won't be able to boot a system to re-flash your PCIe gfx card...
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#18
To get a signal from an integrated GPU you have to change motherboard BIOS setting so that onboard GPU is initialized first. It comes under various names, but it's usually under Integrated or PCIe. Also don't forget to "rewire" the monitor to GPU and not to your PCIe graphic card ;)
Though in some rare cases system will refuse to boot with a "broken" graphic card regardless of what you set in the motherbord BIOS. When that happens, there isn't much you can do because even with another PCI card, you won't be able to boot a system to re-flash your PCIe gfx card...
thank you for reply..,but i already figured out how to boot to integrated gpu...,i already try few flashing option for my hd6950 but all failed!! now im searching for visiontek hd 6950 2gb original bios...,i got no clue is one in techpowerup vga bios colection original!can someone confirm that??i will try few other bioses but dont know either to try 6970 bios or 6950 one..,anyway best flashing option for me is with bootable usb.. i have all files rdy on it, just put diferent bioses to try out!! will inform you guys later on ...
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#19
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#20
oh big good thank you so much!!! :) my card is ALIVE and if anyone else have same problem here is the link for making usb flash tool and just keep flashing your card with diferent bioses .!! ive done mine with xfx 2gb one!!thank u guys for suport too :)
cheers...
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=335318
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#21
oh big good thank you so much!!! :) my card is ALIVE and if anyone else have same problem here is the link for making usb flash tool and just keep flashing your card with diferent bioses .!! ive done mine with xfx 2gb one!!thank u guys for suport too :)
cheers...
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=335318
Hi

That is great news, thank you for the feedback

nb: well done give yourself a pat on the back

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited: