• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help with i7 870 please

Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#51
and do you think that FSB 200, Ram multi 8, and CPU multi 18 (and making it slowly higher) is too much? with 200FSB is there a need of QPI link changes?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#52
Yeah. I think that is asking too much out of that board.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#53
maybe it worths trying, if it wouldnt work the PC just wouldnt boot... or could get something damaged?

and is adding +100mV to processor on this board too risky? should I maximally add +75mV?

thank you very much for your advices
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#54
You can in theory damage something even going an extra 100mhz overclocked. Running past manuf specs can damage anything.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
701 (0.35/day)
Likes
43
Processor Ryzen 5 1600 3.9ghz vcore on aut with offsett +
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-PRO
Cooling Cooler master Hyper 212 hyper led turbo 750 rpm, noctiu NF-P12PWM
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 Strix OC - 8GB
Storage 1x1tb samsung 850 evo,1x 525gb Crucial MX300 m.2 ssd (games) 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 1 Acer predator x34 and 1 Dell U2515H as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r5
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Razer deathadder 2013
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Karspersky internet security
#55

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#56
You're full of it. Tell me then what is this?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
701 (0.35/day)
Likes
43
Processor Ryzen 5 1600 3.9ghz vcore on aut with offsett +
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-PRO
Cooling Cooler master Hyper 212 hyper led turbo 750 rpm, noctiu NF-P12PWM
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 Strix OC - 8GB
Storage 1x1tb samsung 850 evo,1x 525gb Crucial MX300 m.2 ssd (games) 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 1 Acer predator x34 and 1 Dell U2515H as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r5
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Razer deathadder 2013
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Karspersky internet security
#57
Not saying it's true, i just just told you what i so, if it's not true just tell me ok. ;-)

I don't know evereything thats why i sometimes ask alot of questions
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#58
is it a coincidence that QPI link frequency is very similar to Uncore clock?

and "You can in theory damage something even going an extra 100mhz overclocked. Running past manuf specs can damage anything. "

does that mean that its worth trying? (FSB 200) :)

and why shouldnt I put RAM clock over 1600MHz? In Slovakia some pc guys told me that its a random chance... maybe they will be able to run 1800MHz, but could they be damaged?
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#59
today - FSB 165, cpu 3,62 GHz 22 multi, RAMs 1650 MHz 10 multi, seems stable, could I keep on Pushing the FSB up?

I didnt raised the ram or cpu voltage (cpu is still +50 mV and RAMs 1.50V)

I think that these RAMs could live with these or higher clocks or not? Could they be OCed to lets say 1800MHz?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#60
today - FSB 165, cpu 3,62 GHz 22 multi, RAMs 1650 MHz 10 multi, seems stable, could I keep on Pushing the FSB up?

I didnt raised the ram or cpu voltage (cpu is still +50 mV and RAMs 1.50V)

I think that these RAMs could live with these or higher clocks or not? Could they be OCed to lets say 1800MHz?
Try 22*182 +75mV and ram at 1.65V
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#61
RAM with 10 multiplier... ok? 1820MHz, I think they are able to live with it :)

But why 1.65V? I think these are 1.5V version of grey series, it is also written on them, on their stickers.

If you look on the stickers of 1.65V Kingston RAMs you sent on newegg link a few days ago, there is written 1.65V.

So they cant be the same.

I think they could be hurt with 1.65V. Or not? But if the pc will boot with 1.5V 1820MHz RAMs is there any reason to raise the voltage?

Thank you very much for your time
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#62
RAM with 10 multiplier... ok? 1820MHz, I think they are able to live with it :)

But why 1.65V? I think these are 1.5V version of grey series, it is also written on them, on their stickers.

If you look on the stickers of 1.65V Kingston RAMs you sent on newegg link a few days ago, there is written 1.65V.

So they cant be the same.

I think they could be hurt with 1.65V. Or not? But if the pc will boot with 1.5V 1820MHz RAMs is there any reason to raise the voltage?

Thank you very much for your time
You are going above the rated speed of the ram so you will need more voltage just as you would for the CPU. 1.65V is the limit for ram on intels new spec
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#63
Again you are also over locking uncore and qpi. That extra voltage will help stable everything out. Trying not to sound like a broken record. As of right now with those clocks you mention your technically over locking the board to facilitate higher imc bandwidth.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#64
CPU Multi = 22, FSB = 182, RAM Multi = 8, CPU Voltage +75 mV, RAM Voltage 1.5V

Windows freezed on the "intro" logo and PC turned off

CPU Multi = 22, FSB = 175, RAM Multi = 8, CPU Voltage +75 mV, RAM Voltage 1.5V

Stable

Next steps -

1. Raise FSB to 182 and put CPU Voltage to +100mV? (Or is there any other way to make it stable?
2. Could I set the RAM Multi to 10? Wont be the 1750MHz too much?

Thank you for your help
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#66
Set ram multi to 10x and try again
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#67
Edit

CPU Multi = 22, FSB = 182, RAM Multi = 8, CPU Voltage +75 mV, RAM Voltage 1.5V

Windows freezed on the "intro" logo and PC turned off

CPU Multi = 22, FSB = 175, RAM Multi = 8, CPU Voltage +75 mV, RAM Voltage 1.5V

Unstable - blue screen

CPU Multi = 22, FSB = 168, RAM Multi = 10, CPU Voltage +50 mV, RAM Voltage 1.5V

Unstable - blue screen

Highest I reached

CPU Multi = 22, FSB = 165, RAM Multi = 10, CPU Voltage +50mV RAM Voltage 1.5V

Stable
Running now

So if the CPU Voltage doesnt make this pc stable what else should I change? Will the RAM Voltage make the PC stable?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#68
Looks like you maybe hitting a wall with that lower end motherboard.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#69
:( Ok so nothing else will make it more stable?

What is hitting a wall, a CPU power supply? Or this Mobo cant handle higher FSBs?

But thank you very much for your help and time...
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#70
The motherboard is holding it back now.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#72
But is there any other way to try? +100mV? Is it too much?
Honestly I don't know how much 100+mV is to that board. could be 1.3V could be 1.4V I dunno until its tried and check CPUZ
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
117 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#73
Sorry :) With OCCT CPU Burn test turned on I get max 1,19 CPU Vcore

(In BIOS I have +50mV now)

So if I count right +100mV should throw max CPU Vcore to 1,69... Is it acceptable, or worth trying?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#74
@Brandon

Between 1.25-1.28v
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
701 (0.35/day)
Likes
43
Processor Ryzen 5 1600 3.9ghz vcore on aut with offsett +
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-PRO
Cooling Cooler master Hyper 212 hyper led turbo 750 rpm, noctiu NF-P12PWM
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 Strix OC - 8GB
Storage 1x1tb samsung 850 evo,1x 525gb Crucial MX300 m.2 ssd (games) 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 1 Acer predator x34 and 1 Dell U2515H as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r5
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Razer deathadder 2013
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Karspersky internet security
#75
Std Asrock oc settings (choose 3.6ghz) 180x 20 and about 1.235 volt no turbo boost

Hope that vil give you a clue to how much vcore you need (going for 4.0-4.5 ghz)

Havn't read all the replays but what's best no turbo boost or turbo boost on?

QPI Link just about 3230mhz
 
Last edited: