• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help With Office 2013 Install

Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
947 (0.21/day)
Likes
115
System Name GRAYSCALE\Butterfly
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz\Intel 4690k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero \Asus Z97 Maximus Hero VI
Cooling Custom Water\Stock
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200 \2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) NVidia Titan Xp w/ EK Block \ MSI Reference GTX 780
Storage 512GB Samsung 960 PRO (M.2)\128GB OCZ Vertex 4 + 500GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG Swift\Acer x213h 21.3'' 1920x1080 LCD
Case Thermaltake P3 Core\NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Integrated w/ AKG K702 65th Anny's\Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HXi 1000 \Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum\2014 Razer Naga
Keyboard Ducky One TKL RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro (x64)\Windows 10 Pro (x64)
#1
So I'm trying to install the new Office for my father-in-law. He had Office 2010 which has been uninstalled, but upon trying to install 2013 it states that a previous version of Office is installed.

Obviously I have uninstalled it, ran CCleaner's registry cleaner, and dug out any old folders I could find. I have also used Microsoft's little tool that was made for this issue to no avail. I even went so far as to re-install 2010 and then re-uninstall it :banghead:.

Any other ideas?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,975 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,928
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#3
Office 2013 is supposed to work side-by-side with older versions.
Our IT department sent a note about home use (Office 365, specifically), and this warning:

***WARNING***
Installing this version of Office will overwrite any other versions of Office on your system. Since this is subscription-based license, if you leave, or it is decided later to end our contract with Microsoft, these installations will no longer function. Please make sure you have your original media for your current installation in case you need to restore it in the future.
A suggestion... re-install Office 2010, then try to install 2013?
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#4
What version of 2013 are you installing (Home, Pro, etc.), and how (CD?)?
Office 2013 is supposed to work side-by-side with older versions.
I can confirm that I have Office 2010 (32-bit) and Office 2013 (32-bit) installed side-by-side. You cannot mix and match 32-bit and 64-bit versions as far as I'm aware.

OP can we get a pic of the error message? Also, do you have any old versions of Visio installed?
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,440 (1.58/day)
Likes
1,621
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#5
did you "customize" install instead of "upgrade" ???
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
947 (0.21/day)
Likes
115
System Name GRAYSCALE\Butterfly
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz\Intel 4690k
Motherboard ASUS Maximus X Hero \Asus Z97 Maximus Hero VI
Cooling Custom Water\Stock
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill RGB DDR4-3200 \2x8GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) NVidia Titan Xp w/ EK Block \ MSI Reference GTX 780
Storage 512GB Samsung 960 PRO (M.2)\128GB OCZ Vertex 4 + 500GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus PG278Q ROG Swift\Acer x213h 21.3'' 1920x1080 LCD
Case Thermaltake P3 Core\NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Integrated w/ AKG K702 65th Anny's\Integrated
Power Supply Corsair HXi 1000 \Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum\2014 Razer Naga
Keyboard Ducky One TKL RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro (x64)\Windows 10 Pro (x64)
#6
Ill get some answers for you guys when I can, like I said this is for my father-in-law so I dont have the PC on hand currently.

I can tell you that its the Pro version, and trying to use a downloaded install. The disc is coming in the mail in the next few days.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,751 (0.73/day)
Likes
868
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#7
Use the windows installer clean-up proggy, see if it's listed, and remove it if so.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
210 (0.12/day)
Likes
127
Location
Nashville, TN
System Name red_stapler
Processor Core i5-2500K 4.4GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE3
Cooling Deepcool Gamerstorm, SP120HP chassis fans x5, NZXT Grid+
Memory Kingston HyperX 16GB DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7950 PCS+ OC 1060/1500
Storage Crucial MX100 128GB / Seagate 1TB/8GB Hybrid / WD Green 2TB
Display(s) n/a
Case NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Rosewill Quark 650 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Rapid
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Steam, Etc.