• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

help with video card upgrade

eddie722

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
help, I have a gateway gt5034 media center computer with nvidia geforce 6100 on the motherboard. It has an anthlon 4200 dual core processor with a 300 watt power supply.
the red in the monitor flashes on for a few minutes then off for a few days. I have a
geforce 7300 gt card, but I have not been able to get the computer to regonize and install it. Is the problem with the red in the 6100 or somewhere on the c51gu01 foxconn motherboard? I have swapped monitors, and its the same on either one.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#2
Did you add the video card, I checked the specs and that video card does not come with the system, in this case I have no real idea, the problem could be anything because that system's psu has only 300 watts and 16A on the 12V rail but the bad thing is that 3 rails, the 3.3V, 5V and 12V rails can only output a combined maximum of 280 watts from what I see in the specs, can you double check

the card could also be the problem, if you can get a hold of another system, test the card using 3dmark even if the card is new

what your saying is that when you put in the card you get no output at all right, but what do you mean by red.

these are your system specs right

http://reviews.cnet.com/desktops/gateway-gt5034-media-center/4507-3118_7-31766769.html?tag=sub
 

eddie722

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
yes, those are the system specs. the 6100 is factory stock on the motherboard. the monitor started flashing about a month ago. just at random, the red color disapears. for example, the red mcaffee M turns black. my son uses the computer for fsx and train simulator 2006, so i figured maybe he had fried the 6100. i thought now would be a good time to put in a video card, perhaps take care of better graphics,(also use the monitor dvi) and get the red back into the picture. i bought the 7300gt at the recommendation of a gateway tech. they could not tell me where the problem might lie. i figured compusa for 45 after a rebate would be reasonable for the 7300. the 7300 fan does spin, but there was no output on the vga or dvi connection. thanks for your help !!
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#4
does your motherboard have the option of totally disabling onboard graphics

also do not be tempted to open the monitor, a monitor has enough volts in it to seriously hurt your or kill.
 

eddie722

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
the monitor is a samsung 930-b and works fine on my older computer. i have not been able to disable the onboard graphics. using the device manager i click on disable on the 6100 display adapter but then it tries to reinstall it on the next boot up. when i put the install cd in for the 7300, it reinstalls the 6100. when i check the device manager, the 7300 is nowhere to be found. the blue is driving me a bit crazy.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#6
You need to disable it completely by enetering the bios upon boot, when you turn the computer on it should say gateway and show the keys to press to enter the bios
'
then you should be able to 1 disable it or 2 switch the primary graphics adapter

before you disable it make sure you have the card installed

if you don't see the option then tell me your motherboard model
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.70/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#7
to answer your question, yes the red means the onboard video is going out so you do need a video card.

if it was the motherboard the computer would have more serious problems than a little color.

follow the advice you already got to make it work, you must disable the onboard grafics before the new card will take over.

when rebooting keep hitting the DEL key continuosly and the bois screen will come on, then you must find the area where the video settings are and disable onboard grafics
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#8
come back okay
 

eddie722

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
i did not see the option in the bios to disable the primary or switch adapters. are these features locked out on my motherboard?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#11
to answer your question, yes the red means the onboard video is going out so you do need a video card.

if it was the motherboard the computer would have more serious problems than a little color.

follow the advice you already got to make it work, you must disable the onboard grafics before the new card will take over.

when rebooting keep hitting the DEL key continuosly and the bois screen will come on, then you must find the area where the video settings are and disable onboard grafics
Then save your settings and exit, before you push "Y" for yes switch the monitor cable from the onbaord video port to the video card.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#12

eddie722

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
i had found that thread also, and did download and unzip it. i can't get the computer to boot to the cd drive. do you know how to do that part>?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,959 (1.36/day)
Likes
831
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#14
in a bios there is a boot priority order.. it needs setting so the cd gets looked at first..

if a bootable cd is in the drive the system boots from it.. if not it skips and goes for the hardrive which should be second in the list..

if u have a floppy u can make that the first choice.. it could be floppy.. CD.. then hardrive for instance..

trog