• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help With Workaround

Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
548 (0.15/day)
Likes
178
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
The computers in the library have the right-click disabled. This means that I cannot copy and paste anything, as well as access useful tools that the right-click menu offers. Is there any way to get around this???
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,702 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,385
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#2
If they keyboard has it, you can use the right click key that is located on (AFAIK) all Windows supported keyboards that is inbetween the windows logo button and the control key on the lower right side of the keyboard. This way you can single left-click on what you need to while holding down the key to get the context menu.

It has a picture of the right click context menu with the arrow cursor.

Though its probably disabled completely in the registry.

I find it funny. Libraries will let you watch porn on their computers, but they dont want you copy/pasting anything because of copyright infringement. Yet you can still print a web page. :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.63/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#3
Theres keyboard shortcuts you can use for almost everything.
highlight the paragraph or word / picture you wish to copy & use "ctrl+c" for copy & "ctrl+v" for paste

ctrl (key) + C (key) for "Copy"
ctrl (key) + V (key) for "Paste"
ctrl (key) + X (key) for "Cut"
ctrl (key) + Z(key) for "Undo"

etc...etc...etc...
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
548 (0.15/day)
Likes
178
Location
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
System Name This PC
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Water Cooling - CPU Only
Memory 8GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 TI - EVGA FTW3 - Slave BIOS
Storage Corsair Force GT 128GB / Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) AOC AGON AG271QG - 165 Hz - AHVA
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 1.2kW HCP
Mouse Logitech G403 - Wired
Keyboard Rosewill - MX Browns
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
I am talking about enabling the right-click menu, so that I can enable the command prompt, so that I can enable the regedit.exe. In order to run all of these, I need to get the registry editor open, but I can't do that, because it requires right clicking things. Is there any other way to get the run command prompt to come up, because the run command is absent from the start menu?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,675 (4.82/day)
Likes
4,764
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor r4 1400 (r7 1700 temporary): Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard Biostar X370 GT5 : Generic
Cooling CM 212+ : Liquid cooled
Memory 2x4GB Viper Elite 2667 16-18-18 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) XFX Double D R9 290 : XFX R5 220
Storage Toshiba 256GB NVME HGST 2x2TB Raid0 : WD 3TB + HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case CM Masterbox RGB: DIYPC D480-W White Window
Audio Device(s) Radeon HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Mouse Tt Challenger : None
Keyboard Rosewill Neon : None
Software Windows 10+ Zorin 12.3: Zorin 12.3
#5
Try Windows key+r "??"
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
258 (0.06/day)
Likes
48
Location
Massachusetts
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Video Card(s) XFX 7870
Storage 120GB OCZ SSD, 2x1TB storage
Display(s) Asus 27" IPS, Samsung 23" secondary
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Power Supply Corsair 650w
Software Win7 Ultimate
#6
From an administrator's standpoint, if you give users access to the command prompt, they can do anything they want, given the knowledge. If it is disabled, there is not much you can do unless the admin is lazy and didn't really disable it beyond the built in tools. You can try any number of tricks used to get a prompt running, like the batch file trick. If file permissions are set correctly you are most likely out of luck. You could try making a batch file that calls up regedit, but I would hope that was locked down too.
.bat to run for regedit:

cd %windir%\system32\
start regedt32.exe
 
Top