• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Help XFX 7970 FX-797A-TDFC voltage lock

Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have been all over many forums trying to find a modified bios or a way to modify my Bios to unlock voltage beyond 1.175 V

I have 2x FX-797A-TDFC from XFX, I chose these cards because XFX generally has good support and a lifetime warranty.....

Is there a program to edit my current Bios or can someone do it for me I have used VBE7 but it wont allow me to change the voltage any higher.

I found another Bios for a DD XFX 7970 that VBE7 will allow the voltage to go to 1.238V and even higher but I am afraid to chose the wrong BIOS and brick the card.(i have two other cards i should be able to use to unbrick but I would still prefer to do it right the first time)

Current Factory BIOS

http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/131977/XFX.HD7970.3072.120715.rom

The one I want to attempt to use

http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/132565/XFX.HD7970.3072.120718.rom

the device ID match in both bios but the stock bios has Subsystem ID 3212 and the new bios has 3214.

I can edit the subsystem ID to match the stock BIOS and attempt to flash it.

for the record I am doing this in attempts to increase my LTC mining output

maybe there is a different BIOS editor I can increase my voltage in the Stock Bios ?.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#2
Check that you have the stock HD 7970 PCB and not something that XFX designed(they have like 7 models listed on EK cooling configurator) because if you do the flashing of the cards will brick them and if it doesn't the VRM(that XFX design) isn't very good and is liable to overheat if you raise voltage. If you do have a reference PCB any reference PCB bios should work so you'll be fine.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#4
Yeah in that case you have a problem because the VRM on that card only has 4 phases and will have serious problem feeding an overvolted Tahiti core. BTW over volting causes an increase in power draw that is greater than the frequency gain so your mhz per watt and hashes per watt would drop.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I am only getting 490 KH/s for LTC mining and i feel I should be getting at least 600 KH/s alot of people get 700+

I have tried several versions of cgminer, tried gui miner and the highest I have seen is 530, with BTC mining i get 650+
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#6
what frequency are your cards at now? because even with voltage tuning you will most likely not get over 1200mhz.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#8
yeah you aren't gonna get much more even if you unlock voltage
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
then how are others getting 700+ i just talked to a guy getting 750 with less core clock than me !
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888 (1.01/day)
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#10
then how are others getting 700+ i just talked to a guy getting 750 with less core clock than me !
You said it yourself he has less core clock and is getting more hashes so he either has more GPUs or he did software optimizations. Trust me if you put 1.3V through the core you'll probably only get 1210mhz which would get 6% more hashes bringing you up to ~519KH/s while you power draw would by increase by at least 10%
 

geocurt

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
then how are others getting 700+ i just talked to a guy getting 750 with less core clock than me !
I have the TDKC (4 of them) and I find them to run best around 975/1600 - I've never found a better mem clock setting than 1600, though you can play around with the core clock a bit.

Bigger is not always better in mining.
 

geocurt

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,376 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#14
I can't tell if you're trolling - are you saying that a gigabyte bios can be flashed on an xfx card without bricking it? I didnt' know that was possible.
Sure it can work. One just needs to make sure that the cards themselves use the same components and are of the same design. Get a picture of the card of the bios you want to use. Compare it to your card (take the cooler off). If they match, the bios might work.

Thing is there's too many people thinking flashing the bios is some kind of magic. Try overclocking your card first.
 

geocurt

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
Sure it can work. One just needs to make sure that the cards themselves use the same components and are of the same design. Get a picture of the card of the bios you want to use. Compare it to your card (take the cooler off). If they match, the bios might work.

Thing is there's too many people thinking flashing the bios is some kind of magic. Try overclocking your card first.
Thanks for the info. Actually what I'm really after is undervolting. I'm mining with these cards and I get great hash but they are frying themselves. Tried replacing the thermal pad with arctic silver 5 last night and it didn't help a bit.