• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hey guys i need help!

Adrian24

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
New York City
System Name Adrian's Computer
Processor MD Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition Callisto 3.1GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 80W Dua
Motherboard MSI NF750-G55 AM3
Cooling 2x 180mm[In] 2x 120mm[In] 2x180mm[Out]
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ZOTAC ZT-95TES2P-FSL GeForce 9500 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
Storage Seagate 7200rpm 250GB Western Digital 5400rpm 60GB
Display(s) Dell 21" 16:10 LCD
Case XCLIO Godspeed One Advanced Fully Black Finish 0.5 mm SECC / ABS Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Built IN 5.1 4 Speakers /w 10" Sub
Power Supply SIGMA SHARK SP-585 585W ATX12V
Software Windows Xp sp3
#1
HI My name is Adrian And im new here :D

Im pretty new at over clocking so i figure i should go look for help instead of using the trail and error method which can potentially cause some damage.

I recently built a computer which i thought was pretty decent. I bought it keeping future upgrades in mind. It supports DDr3 Ram Am3 processor etc. etc. The problem is that my mother board by default Clocks mY Patriot ram at 1066 MHZ (Running dual channel mode 2 gigs total). I want to over clock to go to 1600 MHZ <-- Max supported by the Ram. Can you guys help me out? Here are my system specs.


  • CPU: AMD Phenom II Castillio Dual-Core Processor 3.1 GHZ
  • M/B: MSI NF750-G55
  • RAM: 2 GB Patriot PC3 12800 (DDR3 1600) 7-7-7-18 1.8v
  • Video: ZOTAC ZT-95TES2P-FSL GeForce 9500 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR3
  • PSU: SIGMA SHARK SP-585 585W ATX12V
  • Cooling: All Stock Fans. How ever if it counts for any thing my Case has 2X180MM 2x120MM 2x80MM

None of my parts are over clocked or have ever been.

Also I have no idea where to start so like what software will be necessary Etc. Etc.

If any one can please help me it would be greatly Appreciated. Thank You
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,471 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,151
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
You need to set your RAM divider in the bios to 1600mhz, manually set the timings to 7 7-7-18 and set the RAM voltage to 1.8v.
 

Adrian24

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
New York City
System Name Adrian's Computer
Processor MD Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition Callisto 3.1GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 80W Dua
Motherboard MSI NF750-G55 AM3
Cooling 2x 180mm[In] 2x 120mm[In] 2x180mm[Out]
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ZOTAC ZT-95TES2P-FSL GeForce 9500 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
Storage Seagate 7200rpm 250GB Western Digital 5400rpm 60GB
Display(s) Dell 21" 16:10 LCD
Case XCLIO Godspeed One Advanced Fully Black Finish 0.5 mm SECC / ABS Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Built IN 5.1 4 Speakers /w 10" Sub
Power Supply SIGMA SHARK SP-585 585W ATX12V
Software Windows Xp sp3
#3
I hvent found a setting in my bios which would allow me to do this.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#4
I've gotta say it'll be glad to help, but even educated overclocking is trial and error.
 

Adrian24

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
New York City
System Name Adrian's Computer
Processor MD Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition Callisto 3.1GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 80W Dua
Motherboard MSI NF750-G55 AM3
Cooling 2x 180mm[In] 2x 120mm[In] 2x180mm[Out]
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ZOTAC ZT-95TES2P-FSL GeForce 9500 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
Storage Seagate 7200rpm 250GB Western Digital 5400rpm 60GB
Display(s) Dell 21" 16:10 LCD
Case XCLIO Godspeed One Advanced Fully Black Finish 0.5 mm SECC / ABS Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Built IN 5.1 4 Speakers /w 10" Sub
Power Supply SIGMA SHARK SP-585 585W ATX12V
Software Windows Xp sp3
#5
*Thanks for the quick responses i must say first.

What i was hoping Binge is that some one might guide me that way i wont make any beginners mistakes.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,265 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,452
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#6
In your BIOS find a setting labeled RAM config. or something along those lines. It will be set to auto. Change that to manual. Then the options you need to tweak will be in the list of new stuff.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,471 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,151
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#7

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#8
*Thanks for the quick responses i must say first.

What i was hoping Binge is that some one might guide me that way i wont make any beginners mistakes.
The only thing you need to know as a beginner to be cautious is that overclocking, no matter what you do, can lead to software errors, and if you're careless hardware failures. Stay within the voltage maximums set by the manufacturer, back up your data (better yet don't keep anything you wouldn't mind losing on your OCed machine), and accept that you're going to get enough blue screens to make any computer illiterate person wet his/her pants.
 

Adrian24

New Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
New York City
System Name Adrian's Computer
Processor MD Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition Callisto 3.1GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 80W Dua
Motherboard MSI NF750-G55 AM3
Cooling 2x 180mm[In] 2x 120mm[In] 2x180mm[Out]
Memory Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ZOTAC ZT-95TES2P-FSL GeForce 9500 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
Storage Seagate 7200rpm 250GB Western Digital 5400rpm 60GB
Display(s) Dell 21" 16:10 LCD
Case XCLIO Godspeed One Advanced Fully Black Finish 0.5 mm SECC / ABS Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Built IN 5.1 4 Speakers /w 10" Sub
Power Supply SIGMA SHARK SP-585 585W ATX12V
Software Windows Xp sp3
#9


Ok So i fliped the setting that says FSB/DRAM Ratio to [1:4] And the Bios now says that the Ram is clocked at 1600 MHZ. But i check CPU-Z and this is what it tells me
Max Bandwidth:pC3-8500F (533mhz) Is that normal? (I have dual channel and this the reading from slot 1)