• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hi Guys ! I need help about Dynamic and Dedicated memory for my GPU

Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
System Name Windows 8.1 Pro
Processor Intel Core-i3 3210 3.2 GHZ 3rd Gen.
Motherboard Gigabyte P75-D3
Memory G.skill Ripjaws 4 GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7770 1GB GHZ Edition
Storage Western Digital 1 TB Blue
Case Thermaltake Commander MS-I
#1
i have just noticed that my graphic card using the dynamic memory instead of the dedicated memory using GPU-Z i don't know why or how but i saved a log file that is telling that and here is what was in it

GPU Load [%] , Memory Usage (Dedicated) [MB] , Memory Usage (Dynamic) [MB]
96 , 0 , 1117
97 , 0 , 1117
98 , 0 , 1117

and i uploaded some imgs and the log to check them ... please help about that

i am using

Intel core i3 3210 3.2 ghz
4gb ram
sapphire vaporx 7770 hd ghz edition
hard 1 tb
PSU 450w
 

Attachments

Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#2
Hi

Welcome to TPU

What motherboard Make and Model?

Try: Disabling Igp and set HD 7770 set as primary device in motherboard Bios [plug monitor into HD 7770]

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
System Name Windows 8.1 Pro
Processor Intel Core-i3 3210 3.2 GHZ 3rd Gen.
Motherboard Gigabyte P75-D3
Memory G.skill Ripjaws 4 GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7770 1GB GHZ Edition
Storage Western Digital 1 TB Blue
Case Thermaltake Commander MS-I
#3
Hi Law-II Thanks

I am using motherboard Gigabyte GA-P75-G3

It's without built-in graphic card

The monitor is already plugged into HD 7770

And i don't know what u mean by lgp but i will try to disable any shared memory from the bios

I found a comment that says :

The "dedicated" memory in GPU-Z is the amount of system (non-GPU) memory that is reserved for use by the graphics card (whether or not it is needed), whereas the "Dynamic" memory is the amount of memory that is actually being used by the graphics card at any given time for textures etc.. With DirectX 9 and before, all data in graphics memory was required to be duplicated in system memory and thus there was "Dedicated" system memory for graphics, usually equivalent to the memory capacity of the graphics card but sometimes bigger. With DirectX 11 and above, system memory is allocated for graphics dynamically and there is no "Dedicated" memory. Furthermore in DX11 and above there is no requirement that the the graphics memory be replicated in system memory, so the only time system memory is used is when the GPU runs out of graphics memory. This frees up a lot of system memory and is the reason why there is no "Dedicated" memory for you or any system running DX11.

This link also gives a good explanation of this.
I hope this clears things up.

In this link http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...memory-0-mb-geforce-650m-gt-windows-8.180910/

Thank you for responding.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#4
Hi

are sure Gigabyte GA-P75-G3 is correct as it dose not show on internet [nearest Match is GA-P75-D3]

Igp = Integrated Graphics Processor [built into the i3 CPU]

are able to provide link to Gigabyte GA-P75-G3?

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
System Name Windows 8.1 Pro
Processor Intel Core-i3 3210 3.2 GHZ 3rd Gen.
Motherboard Gigabyte P75-D3
Memory G.skill Ripjaws 4 GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7770 1GB GHZ Edition
Storage Western Digital 1 TB Blue
Case Thermaltake Commander MS-I
#5
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#6
Hi

Look in Bios "Peripherals" tab/Init Display First [Auto] change it to [PEG] (Sets the PCI Express graphics card on the PCIEX16 slot as the first display)

Save & Exit Setup

[assumming the vga card is installed in top PCIe x16 slot]

As mention in post #3 the mobo dose not have vga / hdmi or dvi out and thus this should not effect the dedicated vRAM or system RAM.

*maybe: use GPU-Z and place the vga card under load [run a demanding game in full screen]

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
System Name Windows 8.1 Pro
Processor Intel Core-i3 3210 3.2 GHZ 3rd Gen.
Motherboard Gigabyte P75-D3
Memory G.skill Ripjaws 4 GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7770 1GB GHZ Edition
Storage Western Digital 1 TB Blue
Case Thermaltake Commander MS-I
#7
Hi

I did those steps .. my screen is using vga cable so i used the converter from dvi to vga to convert it this converter came with the graphic card

as u said i played battlefield 3 under ultra options in 1280x1024 resolution with 50+ fps no problem in that and this txt up there in the attachments

is the log of Gpu-z while playing under 99% load , as u see its using dynamic memory not the dedicated one
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#8
Hi

What version of GPU-Z, maybe try another

TBO am out of ideas; maybe other members of TPU will be able to asssit further

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2014
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
System Name Windows 8.1 Pro
Processor Intel Core-i3 3210 3.2 GHZ 3rd Gen.
Motherboard Gigabyte P75-D3
Memory G.skill Ripjaws 4 GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7770 1GB GHZ Edition
Storage Western Digital 1 TB Blue
Case Thermaltake Commander MS-I
#9
There was an update, i updated it and still in the same problem

Anyway thank you so much for your time i will w8 another people solutions and i hope i can get it :D