• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

hi problem with flashing 6950

xtr123

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
hi all i have problem with flashing 2 cards on the same board

my cards are : ati hd 6950 sapphire i am trying to flash it to 6970 and every time i do it
the windows creshas on loading blue screen

now they runs with candy hamilton flash 6950


another prob when i am usins pcix16 extender the same prob loading the windows
and its crashed to blue screen.


10x to those who can help me.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
690 (0.19/day)
Likes
25
System Name n\a
Processor Intel I7 6700
Motherboard GA-Z170-Gaming K3 (rev. 1.1)
Cooling 6x120mm akasa viper 83cfm fans
Memory ddr4 240 mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor rx 480
Storage kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Lian Li PC-B70
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply ocz zx 850w gold psu
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
not all 6950's will take the 6970 bios , this could be the cause ?
 

xtr123

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
mmm your correct but what about the extender?

and maby only open the shaders will be enough is there any way to know why it is not working??
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
New York
System Name Build #4
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard ASUS-Strix-Z270 I
Cooling CoolerMasterliquidmaker-92
Memory G-skill Trident Z F4-4266C19D-16GTZKW (2x8)
Video Card(s) Titan Xp
Storage SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 2280 1TB MZ-V6E1T0BW
Display(s) LG-60UF8500
Case Benifix-Portal
Power Supply CORSAIR-SFF 650
Software WIN 10/64
#4
Oh boy

HELLO? Are you using win flash? I was told to only flash one card at a time in pci slot one for safest/best results. There is ati/rbe bios editor also. there is a command prompt force flash also. For me my card had a read only locked bios and every attempt for me failed. Xfx 6950.Any way. W1zzard has the best instructions on ways to flash the 6950\6970 successfully if you are lucky enough to have a unlocked bios & not lazer cut chip. Were you successful in unlocking the shaders only instead of flashing the bios to 6970?

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
690 (0.19/day)
Likes
25
System Name n\a
Processor Intel I7 6700
Motherboard GA-Z170-Gaming K3 (rev. 1.1)
Cooling 6x120mm akasa viper 83cfm fans
Memory ddr4 240 mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor rx 480
Storage kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Lian Li PC-B70
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply ocz zx 850w gold psu
Software Windows 10 x64

xtr123

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
i tried flash with that tut
but i cant ...
onw of the flashes that i used ioen my shaders but still not the catalyst
what should i do ??

10 for the grade help till now
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#8
Hi

onw [one?] of the flashes that i used ioen [open?] my shaders but still not the catalyst
what should i do ??

This - Uninstall and then reinstall AMD Catalyst drivers for shaders to show [*if the shaders have unlocked successfully when flashed]

Note: for future reference when asking for assistance saying "my cards are : ati hd 6950 sapphire" is not good enough; Make and Model of the card please as there are eight models of Sapphire HD 6950 available

Example:
Sapphire HD 6950 .jpg
Source - http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?psn=0001&pid=1021&lid=1

chaotic_uk +1 not all HD 6950's unlock

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited: