• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

High CPU Usage

Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
1,477 (0.36/day)
Likes
95
Location
Orange County, CA
System Name Battle Station
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro
Memory GSkill Tridentz DDR4-3200 16 GB
Video Card(s) 1 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti black edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 240 GB + 12TB storage
Display(s) LG 34UM94 3440x1440
Case Lian Li PC-80NB
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX + Ultrasone Pro 900 + JBL SLR 308 speakers and SLR 310 subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Window 10 Ultimate x64
#1
I have recently built this system with fresh format and installation. Now after video encoding or gaming (1hr or more), the CPU usage jumped to mid 40% and many system functions would stop responding. Currently running softwares also stop responding along with on/off/restart/standby. I've read from various forums that this is due to the dual core not being able to communicate with each other and leads to continuous loops. Some said that it was due to motherboard and ram incompatibility. Please look at my system spec if you want to know it in detailed. I checked with Window support and I was supposed to insert "/usepmtimer" to the boot.ini file. However, that did not help. This system has no virus or spywares. I checked it with Trendmicro. If anyone knows something, please share your thought and knowledge. Thanks.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,580 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,194
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#2
You should post a pic of your task manager on the process tab... hit contol + alt + delete to bring up the task maneger. Bring task manager fullscreen. Hit pring screen. Go into paint or something and press control + v and the snapshot you took of the task manager will come sp. Save it to your hard drive and upload it here. From there we will study your processes and try to identify some possible causes of high CPU useage. For example Zone Alarm and Norton Antivirus are famous for being real resource hogs...
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
1,477 (0.36/day)
Likes
95
Location
Orange County, CA
System Name Battle Station
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro
Memory GSkill Tridentz DDR4-3200 16 GB
Video Card(s) 1 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti black edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 240 GB + 12TB storage
Display(s) LG 34UM94 3440x1440
Case Lian Li PC-80NB
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX + Ultrasone Pro 900 + JBL SLR 308 speakers and SLR 310 subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Window 10 Ultimate x64
#3
Here they are. :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
1,477 (0.36/day)
Likes
95
Location
Orange County, CA
System Name Battle Station
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro
Memory GSkill Tridentz DDR4-3200 16 GB
Video Card(s) 1 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti black edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 240 GB + 12TB storage
Display(s) LG 34UM94 3440x1440
Case Lian Li PC-80NB
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX + Ultrasone Pro 900 + JBL SLR 308 speakers and SLR 310 subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Window 10 Ultimate x64
#4
Even at 40% usage, everything that's already opened do not respond (ie Paint, PowerPoint, Word, DVDShrink, etc.). I can open new application but they all eventually do not respond.
 

Attachments

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#5
you didn't need to post a pic of a camera, a simple print screen would do it
i tought video encoding fully utilized 2 cores :s
 

Casheti

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
4,421 (1.03/day)
Likes
29
#6
Print Screen, Open Paint, Ctrl + V, Save As "Taskmanager", Upload to TPU.

EDIT: Never mind, just saw you can't open paint...sorry lol.

Your paint, powerpoint and word are using LOADS of memory...WTF!!
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
1,477 (0.36/day)
Likes
95
Location
Orange County, CA
System Name Battle Station
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro
Memory GSkill Tridentz DDR4-3200 16 GB
Video Card(s) 1 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti black edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 240 GB + 12TB storage
Display(s) LG 34UM94 3440x1440
Case Lian Li PC-80NB
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX + Ultrasone Pro 900 + JBL SLR 308 speakers and SLR 310 subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Window 10 Ultimate x64
#7
It's not just paint, pp, and word but everything else that I opened up will eventually stop responding.

Pt
Video encoding has never given me problem. I was always able to encode movie while playing game even with the AMD X2 3800 system. I could even Alt+Tab and everything would work just fine. Now every time I opened up two applications, they would stop responding after a while.
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.07/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#8
It's not just paint, pp, and word but everything else that I opened up will eventually stop responding.

Pt
Video encoding has never given me problem. I was always able to encode movie while playing game even with the AMD X2 3800 system. I could even Alt+Tab and everything would work just fine. Now every time I opened up two applications, they would stop responding after a while.
have you tried formating windows?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
1,477 (0.36/day)
Likes
95
Location
Orange County, CA
System Name Battle Station
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro
Memory GSkill Tridentz DDR4-3200 16 GB
Video Card(s) 1 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti black edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 240 GB + 12TB storage
Display(s) LG 34UM94 3440x1440
Case Lian Li PC-80NB
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX + Ultrasone Pro 900 + JBL SLR 308 speakers and SLR 310 subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Window 10 Ultimate x64
#9
have you tried formating windows?
This comp was formatted a few weeks ago. NO download of any kind since.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,377 (1.53/day)
Likes
984
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.