• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

High PCIe Slot Power Draw Costs RX 480 PCI-SIG Integrator Listing

Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
386 (0.09/day)
Location
DK
System Name Main setup
Processor I7 5930K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe
Cooling Water
Memory Kingston 16GB 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080TI STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 960EVO, Crucial MX300 750GB Limited edition, Kingston SSDnow V+ Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) ASUS PB287Q 4K
Audio Device(s) Logitech G933
Power Supply Corsair RX750M
Mouse MMO 800000button thing that i cant remember the name of.
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software W10
but that IS in PCI-SIG spec. 2x8 pin, with the PCIe connector, are good for 375 watt.
And it is stamped OK as a standard by PCI-SIG ? last time i was reading about it the 2x8 wasnt a standard in their papers, but it is maybe ½ a year ago so it could have changed.

The reason for not putting the 8pin is 1. bad design not knowing the total power draw of a full card. or 2. it will look bad that their "medium" graphic card is needing one 8pin power connector when other brands are only using one 6 pin.

And yes with the fix it is still not compliant it is 75 Watt from the slot and 75watt from 6 pin, not 84Watt from the 6 pin.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,162 (0.48/day)
And it is stamped OK as a standard by PCI-SIG ? last time i was reading about it the 2x8 wasnt a standard in their papers, but it is maybe ½ a year ago so it could have changed.

The reason for not putting the 8pin is 1. bad design not knowing the total power draw of a full card. or 2. it will look bad that their "medium" graphic card is needing one 8pin power connector when other brands are only using one 6 pin.

And yes with the fix it is still not compliant it is 75 Watt from the slot and 75watt from 6 pin, not 84Watt from the 6 pin.
It may not be a "standard" configuration, but the complaint is that AMD is going above the max rated power draw for the connectors. The 2x8 pin+slot setup doesnt do that.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
386 (0.09/day)
Location
DK
System Name Main setup
Processor I7 5930K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe
Cooling Water
Memory Kingston 16GB 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080TI STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 960EVO, Crucial MX300 750GB Limited edition, Kingston SSDnow V+ Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) ASUS PB287Q 4K
Audio Device(s) Logitech G933
Power Supply Corsair RX750M
Mouse MMO 800000button thing that i cant remember the name of.
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software W10
Thats right... so there is no problem with it, it is just missing the PCI Express Catification logo :)

This is from wiki so no guarantees:
"Some cards are using two 8-pin connectors, but this has not been standardized yet, therefore such cards must not carry the official PCI Express logo. This configuration would allow 375 W total (1×75 W + 2×150 W) and will likely be standardized by PCI-SIG with the PCI Express 4.0 standard."
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,825 (1.34/day)
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.8Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW 2150/2240
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
Im Rahmen des derzeit stattfindenden IDF (Intel Developer Forum) erklärte Al Yanes, der Präsident der PCI-SIG, nun im Gespräch mit c't, dass die beiden augenscheinlich konträren Standpunkte sehr wohl zusammenpassen: Innerhalb der festgelegten Konformitätstests gibt es schlicht keinen Subtest, der die Einhaltung der vorgeschriebenen Stromaufnahme überprüft. Dieser Sachverhalt erklärt auch, warum manch andere Grafikkarten mitunter mehr Saft aus ihren zusätzlichen Stromsteckern ziehen als eigentlich zulässig.
This clears up some things though, the president of PCI-SIG said that they don't test slot power draw in their own testing even though the standard/requirements they put out says that its supposed to be enforced.


. . . . . . .I don't even know what to say about that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,165 (4.07/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
This clears up some things though, the president of PCI-SIG said that they don't test slot power draw in their own testing even though the standard/requirements they put out says that its supposed to be enforced.


. . . . . . .I don't even know what to say about that.
That makes sense to me, they draw up the standard and certify that components comply.
It should be up to manufacturers to ensure they comply to qualify.
It's no different than automobile manufacturers conducting their own crash tests for compliance in that standard.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.73/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
This power problem was fixed with a driver update a little while ago so why is it still an issue?
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.75/day)
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
And yet, nVidia is still selling 970s as '4Gb' RAM and 64?? ROPs...

Funny how that works, eh.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
386 (0.09/day)
Location
DK
System Name Main setup
Processor I7 5930K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe
Cooling Water
Memory Kingston 16GB 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080TI STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 960EVO, Crucial MX300 750GB Limited edition, Kingston SSDnow V+ Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) ASUS PB287Q 4K
Audio Device(s) Logitech G933
Power Supply Corsair RX750M
Mouse MMO 800000button thing that i cant remember the name of.
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software W10
This power problem was fixed with a driver update a little while ago so why is it still an issue?
As i wrote earlier...

"And yes with the fix it is still not compliant it is 75 Watt from the slot and 75watt from 6 pin, not 84Watt from the 6 pin."


Regarding the 970:
It has 4GB memory the issue is that the last 0.5gb is not full speed (can't figure out if it is the total 4GB that is slowed down or only the 0.5gb??)
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1,357 (0.45/day)
Location
Greece
Processor AMD FX-8350 4GHz@1.3V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev3.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS5X Performa
Memory 2*4GB Patriot Venom RED DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 GTS 4GB
Storage Sandisk SSD 120GB, 2 Samsung F1 & F3 (1TB)
Display(s) LG IPS235
Case Zalman Neo Z9 Black
Audio Device(s) Via 7.1 onboard
Power Supply OCZ Z550
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Trust GXT280
Software Win 7 sp1 64bit
Benchmark Scores CB R15 64bit: single core 99p, multicore 647p WPrime 1.55 (8 cores): 9.0 secs
:roll::roll::roll::roll::roll::roll::roll::roll::roll::roll::roll::roll::roll::roll:

Too little too late!

They make a topic out of something non-existant atm and didn't notice once it was at least existant.

Ridiculous announcement by them (not TPU) to sum it up...
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.73/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
"And yes with the fix it is still not compliant it is 75 Watt from the slot and 75watt from 6 pin, not 84Watt from the 6 pin."
I remember the fix being tested by various tech sites which made the card compliant.
 

Everton Souza

New Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Regarding the 970:
It has 4GB memory the issue is that the last 0.5gb is not full speed (can't figure out if it is the total 4GB that is slowed down or only the 0.5gb??)

Gonna try to help on this one.

3,5 gb - 224 bit bus
0,5 gb - 32 bit bus

So compared to a 980 all memory access is slower. You only uses/gets the advertised 256 bit memory bus when accessing data from faster "partition" and slower one at the same time.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
386 (0.09/day)
Location
DK
System Name Main setup
Processor I7 5930K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe
Cooling Water
Memory Kingston 16GB 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080TI STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 960EVO, Crucial MX300 750GB Limited edition, Kingston SSDnow V+ Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) ASUS PB287Q 4K
Audio Device(s) Logitech G933
Power Supply Corsair RX750M
Mouse MMO 800000button thing that i cant remember the name of.
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software W10
I remember the fix being tested by various tech sites which made the card compliant.
TPU test dosn't show that. there is still to high draw from the 6pin (84Watt).
https://www.techpowerup.com/img/16-07-08/rx-480-pcie-fix-power.jpg


OK
Again from Wiki so.....
For accessing its memory, the GTX 970 stripes data across 7 of its 8 32-bit physical memory lanes, at 196 GB/s. The last 1/8 of its memory (0.5 GiB on a 4 GiB card) is accessed on a non-interleaved solitary 32-bit connection at 28 GB/s, one seventh the speed of the rest of the memory space. Because this smaller memory pool uses the same connection as the 7th lane to the larger main pool, it contends with accesses to the larger block reducing the effective memory bandwidth not adding to it as an independent connection could
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,825 (1.34/day)
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.8Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW 2150/2240
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
TPU test dosn't show that. there is still to high draw from the 6pin (84Watt).
https://www.techpowerup.com/img/16-07-08/rx-480-pcie-fix-power.jpg


OK
Again from Wiki so.....
For accessing its memory, the GTX 970 stripes data across 7 of its 8 32-bit physical memory lanes, at 196 GB/s. The last 1/8 of its memory (0.5 GiB on a 4 GiB card) is accessed on a non-interleaved solitary 32-bit connection at 28 GB/s, one seventh the speed of the rest of the memory space. Because this smaller memory pool uses the same connection as the 7th lane to the larger main pool, it contends with accesses to the larger block reducing the effective memory bandwidth not adding to it as an independent connection could
its still ok the 6 pin is overly robust and the spec should be changed to accommodate that 84W is perfectly fine.

and what does this have to do with the 970, . . . . I miss something?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
242 (0.06/day)
Location
Pacific Coast
System Name Z77 Rev. 1
Processor Core i7 2600K
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 4x2GB G.Skill 1600MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x GTX 580
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SA550
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Razer
Keyboard Leopold Tenkeyless
Software Windows 8.1 64
"The list is compiled for hardware devices implementing the various PCI-Express specifications to the letter."
right.. spikes in the power draw don't count I imagine..
You mean RMS? Yes, they are using RMS rating like all other power companies, utilities, and applications do.

http://practicalphysics.org/explaining-rms-voltage-and-current.html

RMS:
In statistics and its applications, the root mean square (abbreviated RMSor rms) is defined as the square root of mean square (the arithmetic mean of the squares of a set of numbers).
Just because some site created a video with an oscilloscope and then provided a convoluted method of filtering and talked about spikes doesn't make you all the sudden smarter than the industry.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.48/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
mmm well this means that Dell XPS and Alienware PCs will surely sport an RX 470 instead... maybe Sapphire will have to churn out some "reference" 470s for them.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1,357 (0.45/day)
Location
Greece
Processor AMD FX-8350 4GHz@1.3V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev3.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS5X Performa
Memory 2*4GB Patriot Venom RED DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 GTS 4GB
Storage Sandisk SSD 120GB, 2 Samsung F1 & F3 (1TB)
Display(s) LG IPS235
Case Zalman Neo Z9 Black
Audio Device(s) Via 7.1 onboard
Power Supply OCZ Z550
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Trust GXT280
Software Win 7 sp1 64bit
Benchmark Scores CB R15 64bit: single core 99p, multicore 647p WPrime 1.55 (8 cores): 9.0 secs
That makes sense to me, they draw up the standard and certify that components comply.
It should be up to manufacturers to ensure they comply to qualify.
It's no different than automobile manufacturers conducting their own crash tests for compliance in that standard.
Wrong. Both in EU and US there are seperate organisations for crash-testing vehicles with their own standards. Car manufacturers try to comply with those tests by simulating them nowadays on computers or in prevous decades by crash-testing pre-production cars to be sure they wouldn't fail when the official test was conducted. :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
FYI the 1080 is not there. Neither are the 1070 and 1060. The 470 and 460 are also missing.
nvm they are listed by the chip name. Which is silly because the chip is not the entire gpu+board...

Wondering what this list really is. Because you would expect several versions of each chip to correlate with the board design, but for everything there is only one listed.

Lots of cards are missing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,901 (0.35/day)
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua NB-9B SE2
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 3x Dell U2412M
Case Corsair 200R
Audio Device(s) Hifimediy Sabre 9018 USB DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
Software Windows 10?
Not at all, but still nice to see that there is consequences, and AGAIN it still just show how bad AMD design department is...... why didn't they just put a 8pin from the start.... Swallow that less than 150W pride suckers.... :)
lol didnt the geforce 750ti or 950 or something do the exact same thing
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
386 (0.09/day)
Location
DK
System Name Main setup
Processor I7 5930K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe
Cooling Water
Memory Kingston 16GB 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080TI STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 960EVO, Crucial MX300 750GB Limited edition, Kingston SSDnow V+ Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) ASUS PB287Q 4K
Audio Device(s) Logitech G933
Power Supply Corsair RX750M
Mouse MMO 800000button thing that i cant remember the name of.
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software W10
hmm I'm a RED kinda guy, so I don't know OLD Nvidia Tech, but I know for sure that my living on the RED is long gone, so my new GFX is going to be a 1080... I had hops for the RED team but let me just say i'm really disappointed..... they could have done much better just rebranding the 290 again and make it in 14nm FinFET.
But that is just my opinion.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
hmm I'm a RED kinda guy, so I don't know OLD Nvidia Tech, but I know for sure that my living on the RED is long gone, so my new GFX is going to be a 1080... I had hops for the RED team but let me just say i'm really disappointed..... they could have done much better just rebranding the 290 again and make it in 14nm FinFET.
But that is just my opinion.
You can't rebrand a GPu and make it on a smaller process.

and if you are looking at a 1080 why on earth do you care about a 290 rebrand instead of a 480? At best you should be saying vega is taking forever.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
646 (0.16/day)
Location
Copenhagen, Denmark
System Name Ryzen/Laptop
Processor R7 2700X/i7 6700HQ
Motherboard AsRock X470 Taichi/Acer
Cooling Corsair H115i pro with 2 Noctua NF-A14 chromax/OEM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB @3200/16GB DDR4 2666 HyperX impact
Video Card(s) TUL Red Dragon Vega 56/Intel HD 530 - GTX 950m
Storage Samsung 960evo NVMe 250GB,Samsung 860evo 1TB, 3x4TB WD gold enterprise /Transcend 830s, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) Philips FTV 32 inch + Dell 2407WFP-HC/OEM
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe/Acer Barebone
Audio Device(s) SoundBlasterX AE-5 (Dell A525)(HyperX Cloud Alpha)/mojo
Power Supply Seasonic focus+ 850 platinum (SSR-850PX)/165 Watt power brick
Mouse G502 Hero/M705 Marathon
Keyboard G19
Software Win10 pro 64bit
You mean RMS? Yes, they are using RMS rating like all other power companies, utilities, and applications do.

http://practicalphysics.org/explaining-rms-voltage-and-current.html

RMS:


Just because some site created a video with an oscilloscope and then provided a convoluted method of filtering and talked about spikes doesn't make you all the sudden smarter than the industry.
couldn't find anything confirming what you said. furthermore, i find this whole story a bit shady, i mean, first they have the rating then they dont.. its a load of bs if you ask me.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,901 (0.35/day)
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua NB-9B SE2
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 3x Dell U2412M
Case Corsair 200R
Audio Device(s) Hifimediy Sabre 9018 USB DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
Software Windows 10?
GTX 1060 isnt even on the list...
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.73/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
TPU test dosn't show that. there is still to high draw from the 6pin (84Watt).
https://www.techpowerup.com/img/16-07-08/rx-480-pcie-fix-power.jpg
You're taking that graph out of context.

Here's the last paragraph of the conclusion which says that it's fixed (heck the title of the article says it's fixed) especially with compatibility mode which maxes it out at 73W. Without compatibility mode it averages 76W with peaks of 79W which is what the graph you linked to shows and isn't a problem for all but the crappiest of motherboards.

Here you can see that the new driver adds about 2.3% performance, which is a pretty decent improvement. Once you enable Compatibility Mode though, performance goes down slightly below the original result (0.8% lower), which means Compatibility Mode costs you around 3%, in case you really want to use it. I do not recommend using Compatibility Mode, personally I don't think anyone with a somewhat modern computer would have run into any issues due to the increased power draw in the first place, neither did AMD. It is good to see that AMD still chose to address the problem, and solved it fully, in a good way, and quick.

And here's the link if you wanna read the whole thing in context: https://www.techpowerup.com/223981/amd-releases-pci-express-power-draw-fix-we-tested-confirmed-works
 
Top