• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

High pitched noise coming out of the speakers when moving the mouse

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,588 (0.45/day)
Neither. I have Soundblaster card.
Latency-related problem / defective card / electrical interference from another device on the grid / lack of grounding.

Try the onboard/HDMI audio and see if it appears there too. If not, clean the SB card, try another slot, try another drivers, disable C-states, and check for latency issues.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
2,987 (0.68/day)
Location
Czech republic
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Asus TUF-Gaming B550-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Storage HP EX950 512GB + Samsung 970 PRO 1TB
Display(s) HP Z Display Z24i G2
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO Remastered
Software Windows 10 x64
So onboard audio does the same noise. Meh.
No latency problems it seems though.
1626605110112.png
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,588 (0.45/day)
Try another set of speakers, then try using a live Linux CD/DVD/USB to rule out software/driver issues.

Disable all power saving options in the BIOS for everything (CPU/PCIE/SATA).

Try another outlet in the house that uses different fuse, with another monitor/TV if possible, and unplug all other devices but PC, speakers, keyboard and mouse.

Unplug all internal components like fans, LEDs, drives, and anything ele not required to boot into Windows.

Downgrade BIOS version if possible, and last, put a cardboard below the motherboard.

If nothing helps, replace the motherboard.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,185 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Neither. I have Soundblaster card.

Turn down windows sound internally, check for latest drivers.

Are there Spread spectrum settings in the bios anymore?
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
2,987 (0.68/day)
Location
Czech republic
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Asus TUF-Gaming B550-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Storage HP EX950 512GB + Samsung 970 PRO 1TB
Display(s) HP Z Display Z24i G2
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO Remastered
Software Windows 10 x64
It does the noise even when I'm in the BIOS, so live CD and related things won't matter.

No such setting in the BIOS as far as I'm aware. Maybe it's an Intel thing.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
2,332 (0.57/day)
Try modulating sound volume through the speaker's volume knob, not windows menu.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,947 (1.62/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Try another set of speakers
Don't you sleep? ;)

This is what I was going to suggest. If your sound card and your integrated sound both make the noise, you need to determine if the noise is actually originating in the computer, or perhaps there's an issue with the speaker's amplification circuits.

With your integrated audio enabled, unplug the audio cables and power down your external speakers. Then try some headphones and listen for the noise there. If clean, there may be a grounding issue with the speakers.

Did you create a common ground, as suggested earlier, with a "hookup" wire between the computer case and subwoofer (assuming the electronics are in there)?

Maybe it's an Intel thing.
No. That's silly. There would be 100s of millions of users complaining then. Its a fault somewhere.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
8,931 (1.45/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
It does the noise even when I'm in the BIOS, so live CD and related things won't matter.

No such setting in the BIOS as far as I'm aware. Maybe it's an Intel thing.
No, all motherboard have had that since as long as I can remember.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,588 (0.45/day)
Don't you sleep? ;)

I have a new girlfriend to keep me busy so I don't sleep a lot these days.
It does the noise even when I'm in the BIOS, so live CD and related things won't matter.

No such setting in the BIOS as far as I'm aware. Maybe it's an Intel thing.

Try the other tips I gave you. USB input causes static audio noise... Try the speakers elsewhere, remove all USB devices and try another mouse.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
2,987 (0.68/day)
Location
Czech republic
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Asus TUF-Gaming B550-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Storage HP EX950 512GB + Samsung 970 PRO 1TB
Display(s) HP Z Display Z24i G2
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO Remastered
Software Windows 10 x64
Try modulating sound volume through the speaker's volume knob, not windows menu.
I thought only lamers do that? The speakers have no controls, I have an amp.
Of course the Windows volume is always at 100%.

There is no subwoofer and the speakers are not powered, and no, I don't have another set, because these things cost like $2000 equivalent and I never had a problem with them in the fours years I've had them :p
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,947 (1.62/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Of course the Windows volume is always at 100%.
Of course??? Umm, Lamers? LOL

That may very well your problem. You should not have the "gain" (volume is not the correct term) set to maximum. That does a couple unwanted things. For one, it amplified all the incoming audio, including any noise. For another, it leave no headroom for wanted transients such as the initial power demands when a stick hits a cymbal. If you set any gain control to maximum, you limit the dynamic range of the amplifier circuits - and that can result in increased distortion and noise, and a muffled sound.

Typically, the only max gain setting should be at the source - that is, in the recording studio.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
3,984 (1.67/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
This is some seriously weird shit I noticed this several days ago. Barely noticeable high pitched noise coming from the speakers when I move the mouse. I heard about this in past, it's supposedly something to do with electrical interference or something.
I believe everything is properly grounded (why/how shouldn't it?), and I have standalone soundcard connected to an amplifier.

When I turn the amp volume all the way to the max, I get permanent cracking noise plus the buzzing when I move the mouse. It also changes when there's load on the CPU I believe.

The only time the noise is gone is about two seconds after powering the PC up. It does that even in the BIOS, so it's unrelated to the OS.

I am not entirely sure, but I THINK it might have started after recent BIOS update with the USB fixes for Zen. That's just a vague impression, because I am not sure.

Any ideas? This is frustrating as hell.
Funny you post this. I had this happen for about 30 minutes last night while using a specific VM. The other vms were fine and my normal host was fine. It was only using the mouse in this one vm that caused it. Totally fine today.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
2,987 (0.68/day)
Location
Czech republic
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Asus TUF-Gaming B550-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Storage HP EX950 512GB + Samsung 970 PRO 1TB
Display(s) HP Z Display Z24i G2
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO Remastered
Software Windows 10 x64
I was always told you're supposed to adjust volume in hardware, not from Windows, the reason being something about quality, so I am doing just that.
Besides, and I repeat this for the last time: I never had any problem until week or so ago, same setup, so it's not something that's been incorrectly set from the beginning.

Found the Spread spectrum in the BIOS btw, it's disabled.

I ordered new shielded cable for the amp. I don't expect it to make a difference since the noise is being generated in the PC, but you never know.

No idea how to make that ground connection someone suggested. What am I supposed to connect the case to again? I don't have a a subwoofer.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
3,984 (1.67/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
never had any problem until week or so ago, same setup, so it's not something that's been incorrectly set from the beginning.
It doesn't mean something didn't wear out.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,947 (1.62/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I was always told you're supposed to adjust volume in hardware, not from Windows, the reason being something about quality, so I am doing just that.
This really makes no sense. Got a link?

Years ago, volume controls were a mechanical device - typically a potentiometer (a variable resister) that controlled the "gain" (amplification) of the audio signal by increasing and decreasing the resistance in that control circuit. They were notorious for getting "dirty" and introducing noise into the audio, adversely affecting the sound quality.

Today, you typically see a digital control device. Many, those that use "knobs" are often evident by the fact you can keep turning and turning them around and around. There are no end-stops. Point is, they are software controlled - just like in Windows.

We always did it that way really is, and really never has been, a good reason to still do it that way. This is particularly true with electronics, and specifically true with digital (software controlled) electronics. In fact, one might even call that a "lamer" excuse! ;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
2,987 (0.68/day)
Location
Czech republic
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Asus TUF-Gaming B550-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Storage HP EX950 512GB + Samsung 970 PRO 1TB
Display(s) HP Z Display Z24i G2
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO Remastered
Software Windows 10 x64
Man I am dizzy just reading all this klingon. I just have a PC, a soundcard, a fucking expensive amp and equally expensive handmade speakers. And some noise coming from the PC. That's all I know.

Also the volume setting in Windows is irrelevant to the noise since I can hear that crap even from within BIOS. All I need is to ramp up the amp volume to high volume. The thing also has something called gain volume I don't even want to know what it does.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
190 (0.07/day)
Location
Midwest
System Name CSX gaming rig, COOLER MASTER workstation
Processor 9700f 8700k
Motherboard ASRock z370 Fatal1ty, ASRock b365 Gaming
Cooling Nocuta Chromax 12 push pull, Cooler Master 212 EVO push pull
Memory GSkill 32gb 3000mhz Cas 15, GSkill 32gb 2666mhz Cas15
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX3060, EVGA RTX 3060 TI FTW
Storage NVME SN750 OS disks in both, Optane Drives in both, Samsung and Intel NVME storage/Samsung Sata SSDs
Display(s) Viotek 34" 144hz , Lenovo 32" 1440p 75hz
Case Cooler Master s600 Silencio, Cooler Master Stacker CSX
Audio Device(s) KEF Q150s, Shiit Modi 3, Adcom gtp550 and gfa600, Presonus studio monitors
Power Supply Seasonic 650w, Seasonic 750w, Custom sleeved cables in both
Mouse Logitech g502 Hero and Corsair mouse
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX RGB, Corsair K55
Benchmark Scores PCMark 10 score 6301 Puget Bench PS scores 731 and 775
Its electrical noise in your PC, that or a bad ground. To avoid the issue, get a DAC with optical in and rca out to your amp. I use Schiit DACs in my set ups.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
2,332 (0.57/day)
They were notorious for getting "dirty" and introducing noise into the audio, adversely affecting the sound quality.
Mine did that, I used to look for a clean point like trying to find a radio channel.
Man I am dizzy just reading all this klingon. I just have a PC, a soundcard, a fucking expensive amp and equally expensive handmade speakers. And some noise coming from the PC. That's all I know.
You need a sound card and that has to be 'active'(expensive) and also connected to the highest pci slot.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
2,987 (0.68/day)
Location
Czech republic
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard Asus TUF-Gaming B550-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Storage HP EX950 512GB + Samsung 970 PRO 1TB
Display(s) HP Z Display Z24i G2
Case Fractal Design Define R6 Black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster AE-5
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO Remastered
Software Windows 10 x64
No, I use a sound card.
Jesus.
I am NOT throwing out perfectly fine components.
I need to solve the problem.

Mine did that, I used to look for a clean point like trying to find a radio channel.

You need a sound card and that has to be 'active'(expensive) and also connected to the highest pci slot.
Why do I even bother posting here when half the people suffer from selective blindness or illiteracy?
Did you even read my posts in the thread?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
47 (0.07/day)
Location
Finland
System Name Mac mini
Processor Apple M1 3.2Ghz
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) M1
Storage 256GB (Apple SSD AP0256Q)
Display(s) AOC G2590FX
Audio Device(s) PreSonus Eris e3.5 / KZ ZS10 Pro / AKG K141 Silver / iFi Zen Can
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G513 (GX Blue)
Software macOS / Debian
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 - 7715
I had similar problem and similar setup few years ago. Got some interesting sound anomalies occasionally, opened a folder, opened program, moved files around... I have "short fuse", so I started to troubleshoot what the heck caused that noise. It took few minutes to find out it was my external HDD at that time, USB powered one to be specific.

When my PC accessed that, it caused interference that I could hear through my speakers. No matter what USB port I picked it made the noise, so I had to change the outlet. I took my PC off the power grid that my amplifier was plugged in and just straight up plugged it to free outlet I had nearby. Never heard that noise again.

Fast forward to this day, I have active studio monitors. These damn things will make noise If I put my phone right next to one, I can hear faint "bzz bzz bzzzzzz bz bz bz.." all the time. It's not like the one you've heard from car radio, caused by mobile phone interference.

So, I recommend you to unplug peripherals that you think are causing the noise, if possible, start moving your stuff from outlet to outlet and separate things like PC and amplifier, monitor and amplifier and so on. How is your analog input by the way? How is it routed?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,947 (1.62/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
The thing also has something called gain volume I don't even want to know what it does.
I've been trying to explain it several times now. In amplifiers, the volume is controlled by adjusting the "gain" (amplification) of the audio signal.

Did you try headphones yet?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
235 (0.40/day)
Location
Panama City Beach, Florida
System Name Robs Singularity
Processor Intel Core i9-7960X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X299 DESIGNARE EX
Cooling Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 280mm Premium Edition Liquid
Memory A-DATA Quad channel 64GB
Video Card(s) ASUS TURBO GTX 1080 x2 SLi
Storage Samsung SSD 980 PRO 512GB C:\
Display(s) LG 34''
Case Azza Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Strix w/Alan Finote mod for Windows 10
Power Supply Corsair 1000xi
Mouse Steelseries Rival 600 wired
Keyboard Steelseries Apex 7 TKL red Switch
Software Win 10 Pro
Never assume there can be no factory defect. However, if they worked for 3 years and nothing has changed since, then fine, it likely is not a defect in the cables.

Any other new nearby electronics? A new TV, for example?
To add to the factory defects, mice, cats, and dogs love to chew on wires.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,947 (1.62/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Top