• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

High temperatures and better/extra fan

Vullcan

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2005
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Well i set the clock speeds to default and with the fan at 100% and the case side panel off (tested this it does decrease temp by a few) max temp i got after about an hour of Counter-strike Source was 53C. Considering it becomes unstable at around 60C it seems i cant even overclock my graphics card :(

I'm considering the better fan i can buy for it. Is it hard to fit?
Also a pci slot fan that faces upwards towards graphics card; would that help?
Finally if i stuck a high powered room fan next to the opened side blowing inside would that help lol?

Edit: my gfx card is an x800 xt pe.
 

Dedodido

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2005
Messages
141 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 "Venice" 3000+ (@ 2.8GHz)
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D
Cooling Arctic cooling freezer 64 pro, 2x 120mm fans, 1x 250mm fan
Memory 1GB (2x512) Geil Value Ram
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon X1600XT
Power Supply Hipe Type-R 580W
#2
I made the mistake of thinking a PCI fan would help, when actually it does quite the opposite, unless you have one that blows air towards the card rather than such air away from it. Because the fan on the graphics card blows air towards the heatsink, it increases dissipation (sp?) of heat, to if you suck the air away from it, then the heat dissipation actually goes down.

what cooling system do you have at the moment?
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#3
Vullcan said:
Well i set the clock speeds to default and with the fan at 100% and the case side panel off (tested this it does decrease temp by a few) max temp i got after about an hour of Counter-strike Source was 53C. Considering it becomes unstable at around 60C it seems i cant even overclock my graphics card :(

I'm considering the better fan i can buy for it. Is it hard to fit?
Also a pci slot fan that faces upwards towards graphics card; would that help?
Finally if i stuck a high powered room fan next to the opened side blowing inside would that help lol?

Edit: my gfx card is an x800 xt pe.
Technically the card is within temp specs .... 53c for a stock fan under load is a good temp actually. It may be a bad temp chip that isn't reading correctly. But those temps shouldn't be an issue ...
 

Vullcan

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2005
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
I think i have 2 fans blowing inside case and 2 blowing onto the hard drives (or case too if 3 drives were not covering them up and being cooled down).

And yes the temp isok but this is without even overclocking it the slightest. And the temps are displayed right because when i overclocked by like 15+ on core and mem after an hour or so of gaming it crashes.

Thanks for the replies.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,375 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,508
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#5
do you have any sort of exaust fan in the case. I mean the Ideal setup is 1 fan on the front of the case sucking in and one fan on the back sucking out. my case only has an Exhaust on the back but is well vented in the front and my case temps rarely get above 27C
 

Vullcan

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2005
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#6
well i have a fan on the front and the back so it might be setup that way.

taking the side panel off reduced cpu and gpu temps so im not sure if its keeping it cool that well....
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,375 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,508
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#7
well its all about good airflow if ya got cables and stuff in the way etc. its gonna cut down on proper airflow.

Temperatures
Motherboard 25 °C (77 °F)
CPU 25 °C (77 °F)
Aux 25 °C (77 °F)

Cooling Fans
CPU 3375 RPM
Power Supply 2909 RPM

these are my Idle temps and rarely do they get above 30C and as you can see I only have 2 fans runnin in there and the CPU fan is on pipe directly from outside the case but I have decent airflow in my case as I make sure all my cables etc are nicely tucked away.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,375 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,508
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#8
Oh yeah and on the Temp readings as I understand it they dont put the temp sensor right on the core its under it so they automatically adjust it 20C to compensate for the placement
 

Vullcan

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2005
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#10
Oh and its strange how al lyour temps are 25C. with MBM and maybe other programs i think they put 25C if they cant read the temp.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,375 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,508
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
nope I can read those Temps across the board thats usin Everest, MBM or anything else for that matter reads em the same 1 thing I DO know is accurate are my Temps(I have a new MoBo comin next week so we'll see how it stacks up(the Aux is a bugger its just readin the MoBo temp twice) now if only my 9800PRO@XT had a Temp sensor as that is the hottest thing in there LOL.The Power Supply Fan line is my Exhaust Fan
 

Vullcan

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2005
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#12
if my psu is going at 1700w is it possible that when i cloc kthigns up its overheating then (the psu)? or something due to the fan spinning slow.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
205 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Location
Applegate, CA
#14
Vullcan said:
Oh and its strange how al lyour temps are 25C. with MBM and maybe other programs i think they put 25C if they cant read the temp.
That would be a -horrible- bug that would need to be changed. Good thing it isn't. If MBM can't read a temperature, it reports either 0 or 255, depending on the situation.