1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Higher high speed internet overrated/unnecessary?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by a_ump, Aug 19, 2014.

  1. lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,435 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,880
    I'm torn here, because the US is a special case. Of the contiguous 48, there are huge tracts of land where the population density declines to functionally zero (looking at you Iowa). Likewise, the internet service there sucks hard. Alternatively, densely packed areas generally have access to decent speed internet. It's a function of ISPs not having much competition, and a complete lack of investment into infrastructure that "isn't necessary."


    In my time I've been on a 28.8 phone line, and experienced the AOL massive disconnect policy of traffic management. I've seen cheap high speed connections in Germany, in the small town of Luebeck. I've also seen decently priced 100/20 cable lines in areas surrounding decent sized cities.

    The only rhyme and reason to the internet being as expensive as it is in the US is that nobody is investing in it. The telecoms are happy to offer faster plans, but instead of adding capacity they price faster plans so that fewer people pay for them. So you've got an idea, Charter is my provider. Their plans are:
    104.99: 100/20
    69.99: 50/15
    39.99: 30/10
    19.99: 10/10

    The prices change if you bundle with other crap, but the price for decent TV service (Cartoon Network, Comedy Central, Nickelodeon, FX, and a few others) and basic internet is about the same as the upper tier internet packages. That's before the "deal" rates stop applying, and your bill can nearly double for no apparent reason.



    Edit:

    To the OP, faster is better until you reach a minimum quality level. That minimum quality is dictated by how much data is being pumped through, and how acceptable variable rates are. If you've got a lot of devices then pay more to get better service. If it's just a few devices save the money, and know that any large downloads may take a while.
     
    XSI says thanks.
  2. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    950 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    992
    Location:
    Alabama, USA
    I was used to 65/5 internet. Now I'm on 3/1 and it hurts to try and watch YouTube above 480p.
     
  3. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,038 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    25/5 Mbit IPTV, National Phone Flat 34 Euro

    If I watch HD IPTV , the Line still has enough juice to download and play BF4
     
  4. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,829 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    The only reason I upgraded my connect we to increase my bandwidth cap. I was using a 50/5 with 350gb per month but I reached the cap in 13 days. Fortunately my ISP was able upgrade me to 150/20 with 2TB per month for an extra $10 per month. Unfortunately my ISP is having massive issues with speeds during the day. The only reason I think they are offering it so cheap is because they are building fiber 300/300 in my area.
     
  5. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,876 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Yep, Iowa is barren............. unlike Wyoming, Nevada, Utah, New Mexico, Arizona, Montana, and a few other states.

    120_2019.JPG
    IMG_1340 (2a).jpg
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  6. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,527 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Washington, US
    From a WISP standpoint, point to multipoint shots typically do considerably less upload than what they can do download. Uploads also take airtime that could be used for downloads. WISPs typically limit upload to minimize the impact to the network. We allow symmetrical speeds because we're occasionally stupid.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,367 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,559
    KS is flat yet they have google fiber
     
  8. lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,435 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,880
    Not sure if being sarcastic...


    At any rate, I spent a good chunk of life in the Midwest. North Dakota, South Dakota, and Iowa were all functionally barren with minor exceptions. As the southwest isn't somewhere I have a lot of experience with, I failed to include it in my commentary. Either way, the point still stands. Vast tracts of the US are functionally devoid of population. Getting a telecom to lay ten miles of copper cable so that farmer Bill can have cheap high speed internet isn't going to happen, because profits are the key goal.

    ISPs exist as companies, so seeking profit isn't unreasonable. What is unreasonable is that whenever government finally steps in the ISPs cry foul, and try and stop them from building infrastructure. What we really need is an FCC that does something beyond fining broadcast networks for their use of "improper" language. What we actually get is an ineffectual relic from the age of black and white TV.
     
    Steevo and xvi say thanks.
  9. Chitz

    Chitz

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    currently i am using fastest modem available here with most expensive plan there is , my speeds are around 200KB/sec 300ping and 20gb data limit , simply not enough for my work , doing that 20gb plan again and again it all comes down to 180$ month i would legitimately pay even more if there was anything faster better , but well NO
     
  10. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,876 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    A bit, and just continued commentary about the millions of dollars we the US taxpayers have given to telecoms to provide last mile service, and then when it comes down to it, they provide shoddy service.

    Phone lines are fine for DSL use even long distances, we solved the issues with them long ago, and it comes down to replacing the load coils in the line with modern versions and or moving the line to digital and using the spectrum available, however asking a telco to do this is like asking the Pope to give satan a handjob and enjoy it. It breaks their whole ideas of being a telco down to merely providing a data service and not meeting the industry standards of the bloated rotten whale carcass it is.

    Also considering the number and distance to fiber backbone for even remote areas of the US there is no reason other than self implemented "standards" that restrict users that rural people shouldn't have at last 5Mb service.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  11. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,527 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Currently paying Frontier $30 a month (I think?) for 1.5/384 DSL service. We begged them for more (a technician physically came out and told us the modem would negotiate at 3Mbps, confirmed by our current modem), but they insist that's the most our system is provisioned for, despite their field tech saying the link was capable of more and the sales guy more than happy to sell it to us.
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion Vanguard Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,462 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,293
    Holy shit that's cheap. I'm paying $92 a month for 50/2 lol
     
  13. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,051 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    All you guys are talking about 50mbs for like $30 and I'm here with 10/1(closer to 5/1 most days) for $56.73 a month :( I say go for the 30mbs down option, give you the speed when you need it, and won't make you frustrated if multiple people in your home are streaming/skyping
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,312 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,413
    Att uverse is moving away from pots

     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,483 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,967
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA

    I dunno.... Is it LOLOL


    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,621 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,226
    Location:
    Oregon
    Exactly. No its not. We are finally at a point where you don't have to play the waiting game

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10,248 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,322
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Considering you work for an ISP, I think they need the bandwidth. :p
    That's about what I pay for this.
    [​IMG]
     
  18. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,684 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    To a few posts with low internet speed, the FCC apparently made a definition of 4mbps down is minimum for broadband. So i wonder if your internet is advertised as broadband but you don't get that if there's something legal you can do about it.

    Also is it foreigners to the US that have bandwidth caps? I've lived mainly in WV and OH and i've never once ran into a company that had a bandwidth cap.
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  19. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,367 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,559
    What part of WV and OH you lived in?
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10,248 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,322
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Bandwidth and latency also depends a lot on how far away you are from the server with respect to router hops. The further, distance wise, you are from a server, the much more likely that you won't get your maximum download speed for people with more than 100Mbps download. Only occasionally will I realize a my full download speed on a single download.

    What the high speed internet is helpful for is when my wife if watching HD streaming video while I'm working and downloading stuff. If you can't saturate your download, your latency isn't going to get that much worse when the internet is "being used", even if my network usage is using 80Mbps out of 119Mbps. The same occurs with upload, but in reality, consumers tend to use a lot more download than upload.

    Lastly, Comcast used to have a "bandwidth cap" but first they stopped enforcing it.
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,312 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,413
    The equipment on the other end must be able to sync with your connection speed too
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Guitar

    Guitar

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,578 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    747
    $45 for this.

    [​IMG]
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,312 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,413
    Do you have tv svc?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    11,904 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,510
    Location:
    Europe
    I wish i could even get the damn optic connection. Instead i'm stuck with max 8/1. Which means uploading a short 1080p video made with a phone takes freakin ages to upload. With optics i'd have 10/10 connection as minimum, now that would be much more bearable.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,312 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,413
    Fiber to the premesis for Att/Verizon is in certain neighborhoods built within last 10 years. Fttp homes are PON-Passive Optical network which use ONT- Optical Network Terminal- which are bigger than regular phone boxes near the power meter of the home. These homes normally have cat 5 running from it to attic or a network/telephone panel in a closet in a home with cat 5 going to telephone/ethernet jacks in the home. If you have a home built in those areas, you better have outdoor grade cat5 ethernet and 2 rg6 grade coax home runs going from where the power and phone box is to a network smart panel. Each room I'd suggest 2-4 ethernet jacks with 2 outdoor grade cat5 lines and 2 rg6 coax lines in each jack in each room where you might have tv/desktop computers/wifi routers/switches running and all routed to the same network smart panel in the home. Same applies to Areas that are fiber to the node-copper to the home. Older homes tend to need home runs ran.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)