• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Higher quality HD than Youtube

W

wolf2009

Guest
#1
Have you ever wondered that sometimes Youtube HD is not enough. You want more quality, you want something better. Now the question is “How to get better quality than Youtube HD”. That is the point of this article.
SOURCE

You guys who want the absolute best quality streaming video on internet might find this useful.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#2
i thought HD was a standard?
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#4
so.. HD doesn't NECESSARILY mean high quality?
just high resolution
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#5
so.. HD doesn't NECESSARILY mean high quality?
just high resolution
exactly.

If you encode a Full-HD (1920x1080) video at 100 Kbps, it will come out blocky and probably won't be watchable. You would still call it Full-HD if you just looked at the size of the video in pixels.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#6
so.. HD doesn't NECESSARILY mean high quality?
just high resolution
true - HD (high definition) refers to the resolution (vertical lines specifically) and not the bit-rate. There is no standard or lowest bit-rate for HD , however putting out HD content with a super low bit-rate is senseless, and i can't think of any commercial entities that would do that.

Also - YouTube, is not always HD , even if you hit the button. They have 4 different levels of quality, that I know of. Only the highest is actual HD, and that is only 720p. It is also not very common for people to upload true, 720p video - so the chance of seeing real HD on youtube is very low.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.75/day)
Likes
465
#7
so.. HD doesn't NECESSARILY mean high quality?
just high resolution
yes, about all site consider HD by it's resolution. Which for 1080p the bitrate is 15mbps. And
720p is 10mbps. This allows for excellent quality, any higher wouldn't look any better. But for websites, like YouTube. It makes a HUGE video file. Video sites, will auto down-grade the bitrate. Not really sure what YouTubes is though. I would say 8mbps more than likely
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#8
so.. HD doesn't NECESSARILY mean high quality?
just high resolution
It just means high definition which is a generic term now a days. Which in an of itself is moot because we've had this type of IQ since what the 1940's?

Look, all they are doing is allowing more of the movie you see onto your TV/monitor. The image quality was already good from the get go. The problem was in the delivery system. Now that the delivery system has improved it's now a big marketing push "HD" and "BR" all of which only means you can now watch those programs/movies in better IQ then you could in the past.

In hindsight it's like someone turned up the dial on IQ allowing you to have better access of the same movie, show, etc. The movie, show, etc didn't change at all. It's your ability to actually see it as it was intended.
 
V

v-zero

Guest
#9
yes, about all site consider HD by it's resolution. Which for 1080p the bitrate is 15mbps. And
720p is 10mbps. This allows for excellent quality, any higher wouldn't look any better. But for websites, like YouTube. It makes a HUGE video file. Video sites, will auto down-grade the bitrate. Not really sure what YouTubes is though. I would say 8mbps more than likely
Their 720p bitrate will lie somewhere between 2mbps and 4mbps.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#10
Prime example:
I watched a movie called Bicentennial Man on ABC (1999 movie well before HD and BR was known about) about 2+ years ago at 1080i over the air. The IQ was absolutely stunning! I've never seen that movie marketed as "HD" or "BR" exclusive which furthers to prove my point.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#11
TBH, from my experiences - it's a PITA to get either the HQ or HD link for your youtube vids. For some reason, their processing is picky as almighty hell . . . some vids will post up with HD, and others (at the same bitrates) won't.
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#12
Not really sure what YouTubes is though. I would say 8mbps more than likely
its 2 mbps

TBH, from my experiences - it's a PITA to get either the HQ or HD link for your youtube vids. For some reason, their processing is picky as almighty hell . . . some vids will post up with HD, and others (at the same bitrates) won't.
is the resolution at least 1280x720 ? and bitrate at least 1000 kbps ?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#13
its 2 mbps



is the resolution at least 1280x720 ? and bitrate at least 1000 kbps ?

yep . . . my final processed res is 1280x720, witrh a bitrate typically between 7k and 8k.


I've been able to create a WIN MovieMaker profile that will always get the 1280x720 HD link - I use it as a final processing pass on the vid before uploading (I run VirtualDub for all my filters and effects . . . if anyone wants it, i can upload it later.


Only vids I've done are for STALKER:SoC - either gameplay or mod demonstrations, you can check them out here: http://www.youtube.com/user/THEimperialreign
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#14
yep . . . my final processed res is 1280x720, witrh a bitrate typically between 7k and 8k.


I've been able to create a WIN MovieMaker profile that will always get the 1280x720 HD link - I use it as a final processing pass on the vid before uploading (I run VirtualDub for all my filters and effects . . . if anyone wants it, i can upload it later.
so even with that profile, 1280x720 and 7-8 mbps bitrate, you still get HQ instead of HD sometimes ?
 
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#15
Ok, maybe I missed the point of the article.

To me, all it proves is that Youtube has a higher compression rate than blip.tv.

I didn't get why he encoded the video as h.264 in the flv container. Doesn't all video sharing sites re-encode your videos after you upload them? Surely you're not watching the same video as you uploaded in your browser...?

What am I missing?
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#16
Ok, maybe I missed the point of the article.

To me, all it proves is that Youtube has a higher compression rate than blip.tv.

I didn't get why he encoded the video as h.264 in the flv container. Doesn't all video sharing sites re-encode your videos after you upload them? Surely you're not watching the same video as you uploaded in your browser...?
Yes with Blip, you are watching the video you uploaded in your browser. Youtube re-encodes everything to 2mbps and you cannot go higher. With blip you can watch at the quality you uploaded.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.85/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#17
so even with that profile, 1280x720 and 7-8 mbps bitrate, you still get HQ instead of HD sometimes ?
with the profile I have - not anymore . . . at least, it continues to currently work. The older profile I had was hit-or-miss . . . youtube seems to change this processing requirements occasionally, and doesn't let the community know . . . then everyone goes through a trial and error process to figure out what works again.

But, my current MovieMaker profile does work for HD links.



Ok, maybe I missed the point of the article.

To me, all it proves is that Youtube has a higher compression rate than blip.tv.

I didn't get why he encoded the video as h.264 in the flv container. Doesn't all video sharing sites re-encode your videos after you upload them? Surely you're not watching the same video as you uploaded in your browser...?

What am I missing?
youtube has a decen compression rating . . . but only with HD/HQ vids . . . standard vids are still tripe.

The only thing that youtube has over other sites - one, no limitations on subject matter (for the most part), meaning gaming vids and machinima can be posted . . . other sites don't allow certain types of vids . . . also, youtube doesn't have as strict of processing restrictions, or vid length (other sites can be quite strict with their upload limitations).

Sadly, youtube is the most flexible vid hosting site available . . . it's just a PITA occasionally.
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.65/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#20
Unfortunately no. :p I'm not rich enough for a Mamba, although my Sphex did arrive today.

BEST SURFACE EVER! It's so smooth yet has this give to it that gives me total control. Completely flat and feels good on my wrist. I had some issues with billing info so my original purchase was delayed and cancelled. Waited for the refund to appear on my Visa, ordered Thursday night, let the Razer support guy know I reordered and he expedited my order and it arrived the next day. Razer support is amazing!
 
T

thraxed

Guest
#21
If your going to encode to flash, super is not the way to do it. I encode a lot of flash videos and for quality there only 2 ways to do it. On with Adobe Media/Flash Encoder and the other a secret. Unless your using vp6 vbr 2 pass encode, your going to loose quality regardless.
 
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165 (0.56/day)
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#22
Prime example:
I watched a movie called Bicentennial Man on ABC (1999 movie well before HD and BR was known about) about 2+ years ago at 1080i over the air. The IQ was absolutely stunning! I've never seen that movie marketed as "HD" or "BR" exclusive which furthers to prove my point.
While it may be true that "HD" wasn't exactly "known about" in 1999, the idea of HD has been around for a long time...scour the internet and you'll see what I mean. Pure film source (even stuff from many, many years ago) is technically HD which is why you will see very old films converted to bluray. I don't want to get in the exact details of it, but I heavily researched this a couple years ago. Some quick google searches will tell you what I'm talking about.

And yes, EastCoasthandle I know you already know this from reading your previous post, but maybe it could be helpful to others :)