• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HighPoint Announces Availability of First SATA 6 Gb/s Host Adapter Based on PCI-E 2.0

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
HighPoint Technologies – an industry pioneer of innovative SATA and SAS RAID host adapter manufacturing, today unleashes the Rocket 600 series - the industry’s first SATA 6 Gb/s host adapter based on PCI-Express 2.0 technology. The Rocket 600 series delivers the next generation of SATA performance with robust SATA connectivity and will be available at the beginning of November 2009.

The Rocket 600 series brings a new level of cost effective pricing and will help drive mass adoption to the next generation of SATA 6 Gb/s technology. They are fully industry standard AHCI (Advanced Host Controller Interface) compliant and deliver Out-of-Box Ready installation for the majority of operating systems. The Rocket 600 series are backward compatible to PCI-Express 1.0 technology and (SATA 3 Gb/s & 1.5 Gb/s) devices. They use the same cable and connectors as previous SATA generations to ease integration.



Pricing and Availability: The MSRP for the Rocket 620 Series is $69.99 and the Rocket 622 $79.99 and will be available at end of October 2009. All HighPoint RocketRAID products are available through channel distribution partners (Bell Micro, D and H, MaLabs and ASI).
 
Last edited:

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.57/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#2
ok, awesome on the release but what is the difference between the 620 and the 622? I would get this of course, but just curious what 10 extra bucks gets me.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
415 (0.13/day)
Likes
95
Location
You are here.
System Name Prometheus
Processor Intel i7 4930K
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Quad Channel 64GB DDR3 1.35V
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 4GB
Storage 2 x Intel 330 240GB RAID0 + 2 x Intel X-25M G2 160GB MIRROR + 4 x 2TB WD Green
Display(s) AMH A409U 4K
Case Intertech AP1
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCIe
Power Supply Seasonic X660
Mouse Razer Death Adder 2013
Keyboard FILCO Majestouch 2 Ninja
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
ok, awesome on the release but what is the difference between the 620 and the 622? I would get this of course, but just curious what 10 extra bucks gets me.
It seems that one is 2 x SATA (internal) and the other is 2 x eSATA...
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.65/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#4
looks like its got 2 ports.... and 6Gb/s throughput..hmmm.. wonder what 2 hardrives would actually make a difference on this as opposed to on a 3Gb/s controller?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,557
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
The RAID controller in my main Rig is a Highpoint. They make good inexpensive controllers.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.57/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#6
Ha ha, ok thanks guys.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#7
Are there any boards out with x1/x4/x8 PCIe 2.0 slots? Can't say I've seen them around yet. Apart from that they're just 2 port controllers, can't imagine PCIe 2.0 being a selling point there.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,557
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Are there any boards out with x1/x4/x8 PCIe 2.0 slots? Can't say I've seen them around yet. Apart from that they're just 2 port controllers, can't imagine PCIe 2.0 being a selling point there.
I haven't seen any, but there are plenty with extra x16 2.0 slots.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#9
Marvell chip :p
btw PCIe x1 card work fine in x4/x8/x16 slots
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.65/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#10
Marvell chip :p
btw PCIe x1 card work fine in x4/x8/x16 slots
Yeah but then it goes down to 3Gb/s in a 1X 1.0 slot and not 6Gb/s which is the selling feature...
Still have no idea why youd want 6Gb/s on a raid controller with only 2 ports though
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,557
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
Yeah but then it goes down to 3Gb/s in a 1X 1.0 slot and not 6Gb/s which is the selling feature...
Still have no idea why youd want 6Gb/s on a raid controller with only 2 ports though
What does it matter if it has 1 port, 2 ports, or 20 ports?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,874 (0.38/day)
Likes
256
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#12
more bandwith pr port?
and you do know that graphics cards do go down to pcie 1.0 slot to? :p
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.13/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#13
Yeah but then it goes down to 3Gb/s in a 1X 1.0 slot and not 6Gb/s which is the selling feature...
Still have no idea why youd want 6Gb/s on a raid controller with only 2 ports though
cheap and fast raid 0 or 1. Ex: you have a gigabyte ep45-ud3l (common low end in us, common HIGH END here). it cant do raid, so what do you do?. buy a raid card and do raid 0 and get good performance out of a good'n cheap mobo
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.65/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#14
What does it matter if it has 1 port, 2 ports, or 20 ports?
well with more ports than 2 you can add more than 2 hardrives... youd have a better chance of using some of that extra bandwidth of 6Gb/s... currently 2 hardrives wouldnt even come close to even a 2port 3Gb/s controllers bandwidth

cheap and fast raid 0 or 1. Ex: you have a gigabyte ep45-ud3l (common low end in us, common HIGH END here). it cant do raid, so what do you do?. buy a raid card and do raid 0 and get good performance out of a good'n cheap mobo
No youre missing the point... its 6Gb/s controller but it only has 2 ports.... so you can only use 2 hardrives... what hardrives are going to use 6Gb/s in bandwidth even in raid 0?
surely this is more for larger raid cards in server setups where they using multiple hardrives and pushing a lot of data... not just 2 sata drives
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,557
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
well with more ports than 2 you can add more than 2 hardrives... youd have a better chance of using some of that extra bandwidth of 6Gb/s... currently 2 hardrives wouldnt even come close to even a 2port 3Gb/s controllers bandwidth



No youre missing the point... its 6Gb/s controller but it only has 2 ports.... so you can only use 2 hardrives... what hardrives are going to use 6Gb/s in bandwidth even in raid 0?
surely this is more for larger raid cards in server setups where they using multiple hardrives and pushing a lot of data... not just 2 sata drives
I don't think you understand how it works.

It is 6Gb/s per port. Just like a SATA 3.0Gb/s is 3.0Gb/s per port. The 6.0Gb/s is not shared between all the ports, each port gets its own 6.0Gb/s. This card for instance gives 12Gb/s total, due to having two ports at 6.0Gb/s each.

Now as for what drives use this type of speed. None, yet. However, SSDs are already starting to nearly max out SATA 3.0Gb/s ports. So something better than 3.0Gb/s will be required in the near future, hence 6.0Gb/s is hitting the market.

And before it is even said, yes even a PCI-E 2.0 x1 slot would end up being the bottleneck for this card, the slot would only provide about 5.0Gb/s shared by both drives. IMO, a SATA 6.0Gb/s card should have at least a PCI-E 2.0 x4 slot to eliminate the bottleneck from the PCI-E slot.
 
Last edited:
Likes: Fx
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.65/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#16
However, SSDs are already starting to nearly max out SATA 3.0Gb/s ports. So something better than 3.0Gb/s will be required in the near future, hence 6.0Gb/s is hitting the market.
brings me back to my original post...

looks like its got 2 ports.... and 6Gb/s throughput..hmmm.. wonder what 2 hardrives would actually make a difference on this as opposed to on a 3Gb/s controller?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,557
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
brings me back to my original post...
Yes, and my comment already answers that. No hard drive, even in the near future, will make a difference on this controller vs. a 3.0Gb/s controller.

However, we are probably only months away from seeing SSDs that will see a difference on this controller(or any 6.0Gb/s controller) compared to a 3.0Gb/s controller.

Right now all 6.0Gb/s controllers are useless, as they provide nothing over a 3.0Gb/s controller, even with SSDs. However, there seems to be a new faster SSD released almost daily, so it will not be long before we see SSDs that need a 6.0Gb/s controller to achieve their maximum performance. Buying a 6.0Gb/s controller is a future proofing move by people that use SSDs, and must have the fastest one on the market.

If you just plan to hook hard drives up to it, this isn't the controller for you.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.65/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#18
surely then your best bet is to buy a motherboard with 6Gb/s controller on it... i see theres already a P55 with just that... rather than having an extra card and more cable mess
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,557
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
surely then your best bet is to buy a motherboard with 6Gb/s controller on it... i see theres already a P55 with just that... rather than having an extra card and more cable mess
Since Highpoint doesn't make motherboard, they make dedicated controller cards, that solution doesn't exactly benefit them.

And while buying a board with a 6.0Gb/s controller onboard would be nice, it kind of limits what boards you can buy(to one $260 P55 board currently). Leaving all the AMD and 775/1366 users in the dark.

And the same argument can be made with SATA 3.0GB/s card, but even more so since pretty much every board sold today has built in SATA 3.0Gb/s ports. Doesn't stop the add-in SATA controller manufacturers from selling tons of dedicated SATA 3.0Gb/s cards. for using a single drive, I'll use onboard without hesitation, but for doing RAID, I'd take a dedicated card over an onboard anyday.

Cable clutter is a non-issue unless you are one that absolutely can't stand the site of a cable anywhere in your case. The extra 2 inches of cable showing by moving the SATA port from the edge of the board to the PCI-E slot probably won't even be noticeable, especially if you use black SATA cables.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,064 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,130
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#20
Take out the details and we have same debate that happened when ATA33, ATA66, ATA100, ATA133, SATA 1.5Gb, and SATA 3.0Gb were introduced.

I suppose it keeps us in practice and ready for when SATA 12Gb starts to show ;)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,557
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
Take out the details and we have same debate that happened when ATA33, ATA66, ATA100, ATA133, SATA 1.5Gb, and SATA 3.0Gb were introduced.

I suppose it keeps us in practice and ready for when SATA 12Gb starts to show ;)
The difference now is that we actually have drives that are showing they can use the extra speed. Where before we didn't have drives that would benefit from the extra speed. Hell, if it wasn't for SSDs, we still wouldn't be seeing a benefit from SATA 3.0Gb/s.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
932 (0.28/day)
Likes
227
Location
Portland, OR
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Asus M5A99X Evo
Cooling Noctua
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Sniper DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA 980ti FTW
Storage (OS)Samsung 950 Pro (512GB), (Data) WD Reds
Display(s) 24" Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser GAME ONE
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Mionix Castor
Keyboard Deck Hassium Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#22
this is kind of random but does anyone know if AMD has sorted out their AHCI probs? if not, would getting this card circumvent that?
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
767 (0.23/day)
Likes
414
Processor Intel Core i3-4370
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 AT
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-N75TOC-2GI GeForce GTX 750 Ti WindForce
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell S2316M LCD
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech M500
Keyboard Lenovo KB1021 USB
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#23
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
767 (0.23/day)
Likes
414
Processor Intel Core i3-4370
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 AT
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-N75TOC-2GI GeForce GTX 750 Ti WindForce
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell S2316M LCD
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech M500
Keyboard Lenovo KB1021 USB
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#24
this is kind of random but does anyone know if AMD has sorted out their AHCI probs? if not, would getting this card circumvent that?
I don't know about AMD's AHCI problems, but using a third-party host adapter should bypass that (assuming that the adapter's hardware and drivers aren't f'ed up). Your hard drive(s) would be under the host adapter's control, not the BIOS's.
 
Likes: Fx
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
932 (0.28/day)
Likes
227
Location
Portland, OR
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Asus M5A99X Evo
Cooling Noctua
Memory 16GB G.SKILL Sniper DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA 980ti FTW
Storage (OS)Samsung 950 Pro (512GB), (Data) WD Reds
Display(s) 24" Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser GAME ONE
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Mionix Castor
Keyboard Deck Hassium Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#25
I don't know about AMD's AHCI problems, but using a third-party host adapter should bypass that (assuming that the adapter's hardware and drivers aren't f'ed up). Your hard drive(s) would be under the host adapter's control, not the BIOS's.
thanks. that is what I was inclined to think but wanted to make sure