• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HIS 4670 crossfire/Asus crossfire x board

Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#1
Hey guys I'm going to be running two HIS 4670's both are 1gb in crossfire my whole system is brand new any tips to setting up the crossfire on a brand new system or any certain way I should go about installing them? All help or comments would be great!
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#2
Well first to reduce slowness in games get an extra 2gb's of ram. Since if u use dual 4670 1gb it'll use ur whole system as vram and fck up performance. And once u done that u can enable crossfire in CCC (catylyst control center)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#3
ok so really All I need to
Do is plug and play with these cards and enable the crossfire through the ATI catalyst?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#4
ok so really All I need to
Do is plug and play with these cards and enable the crossfire through the ATI catalyst?
Well did u have any crossfire bridges. Those little plastic things where u connect the two cards.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#5
Yeah those came with my motherboard I have an asus crossfire x board
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#6
Yeah those came with my motherboard I have an asus crossfire x board
Then ur all set. Get an extra 2gb of ram and enable crossfire.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#7
Awesome! That's easier than I thought it would be Its my first crossfire setup since you had to have a master and a slave so I didn't know how easy or hard it was
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#8
I'm only running xp professional 32bit I know it won't read all four gigs how much does it read like 3 something?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#9
I'm only running xp professional 32bit I know it won't read all four gigs how much does it read like 3 something?
Like 3-3.6gb.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#10
Thanks my friend!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
I'm only running xp professional 32bit I know it won't read all four gigs how much does it read like 3 something?
If you have two 1GB graphics cards, then Windows will only read 2GB of system memory. No point in upgrading to 4GB if you are only using 32-bit.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#12
Yeah that's what I thought..how's 64 bit you guys know I was looking into it but I'm worried about support for it.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
I've been running Vista x64 for almost a year now, haven't looked back. I dual-boot with XP, and haven't even been bothered to boot into XP to install the updates in at least 3 months.

I'm not going to say I haven't run across some things that were not compatible, but I would say 99% of what I have tried has worked. Getting printers to work seems to be the biggest issue with me, especially if you are sharing them between multiple computers and there are x86 machines mixed with x64 machines.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#14
Yeah that's not a big deal to me I don't use printers ever..I might give it a try and dual boot like you do
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#15
Yeah that's what I thought..how's 64 bit you guys know I was looking into it but I'm worried about support for it.
64-bit is compatible with 99.99% apps and 99.99% games. No need to worries, and it's actually a bit faster then 32-bit.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#16
64-bit is compatible with 99.99% apps and 99.99% games. No need to worries, and it's actually a bit faster then 32-bit.
already know but lazy to reformat :roll:
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#17
Yeah I'm going to give it a try when I get more money ill buy a copy from newegg
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#18
No need to dual boot. I thought I would have to when I switched to vista but I was running it on a pentium 4 just the other day before I picked up my quad core!!