• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HIS HD 3870 video card and bios flash - is it worth it?

ironleg

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2007
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have a HIS HD 3870 video card and have not founda flash from that company or how to do such things. I am curious if it is really worth it and if you will have extreme temps on air cooling or need a third party cooler for the video card. any help is greattly appriciated!

Thank You,
ironleg
 

xman2007

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
633 (0.15/day)
Likes
4
Processor E4300@ 3.0ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Arctic freezer
Memory 2gb supertalent ddrII 1000 5.5.5.15
Video Card(s) Inno 3d 8800gts 320mb
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) 19" widescreen tft 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Hiper 430w 30a dual rails
Software Vista Ultimate
#2
the reason you havent found a bios on the his website to flash it with is because they dont want you to flash it and dont condone it as it voids the warranty, and you might bugger the card, whats the reason for flashing it ? you want to run higher clocks or change the fan speed settings ? all these can be done with software without the need for flashing and i wouldnt reccomend you flash the card unless for any of those reasons and you know what your doing, a bad flash can render the card useless if you dont know what your doing 100%
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,332
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
What is the purpose in your need to flash?

Is it because its there to do, or are you haveing issues that you think the flash will fix?

Also I agree 100% with xman...If you flash it voids the warranty , and yes if anything goes wrong while flashing the card may never function again!
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
Yup. While the actual procedure is a quite easy - research and make sure you know what you're getting into, etc. Nothing worse than killing a card just for a couple more 3DMarks :)

Personally I flashed my 8600GTS to a modest 720 / 1080 / 1512 (cpu, mem, shader). No need for software was really the only benefit (and the custom boot up message ;)). That was enough incentive for me. Might not be the case for others. I've also flashed just about every motherboard, optical, etc that I've ever owned - no problems so far <crosses fingers>
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,332
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
I personally have flashed my Visiontek 3870 bios , and yes it is easy , if you dont get a hiccup while flashing. But the question still stands , why the need to flash?

Mine was based on the 862MHz core lock , and I wanted to OC the balls off my card. If you are not OCing there is really no need to flash at this point!
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
498 (0.12/day)
Likes
41
#6
If you do flash make sure you have a back up PCI vid card, blind flashing can be a bitch:cry: