• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 Turbo flash to TurboX?

sleepsus

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Manila
System Name PEANUT
Processor AMD Athlon 7750 BE @3.1Hz
Motherboard EMMAX EMX-AMD790GX-XTRM
Cooling Thermalright, Antec, Silverstone, Nidec
Memory Xtreem Dark 1066C6 1GB X2
Video Card(s) HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 Turbo @700/1200
Storage Seagate Barracuda, WD Caviar Blue
Display(s) Samsung Sync Master SW2233
Case Antec Three-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD ALC888
Power Supply HEC Raptor R500
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#1
Just wondering, if I flash my HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 Turbo (650/1000) with a bios from a HIS HD 4850 TurboX (685/1100) ... will it work and not brick my card?

Thanks, Mark
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Have you tested your card at those speeds through software first (CCC, Rivatuner, or other)?
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#3
should work fine, use atiflash via DOS and DO NOT overclock first!
 

sleepsus

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Manila
System Name PEANUT
Processor AMD Athlon 7750 BE @3.1Hz
Motherboard EMMAX EMX-AMD790GX-XTRM
Cooling Thermalright, Antec, Silverstone, Nidec
Memory Xtreem Dark 1066C6 1GB X2
Video Card(s) HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 Turbo @700/1200
Storage Seagate Barracuda, WD Caviar Blue
Display(s) Samsung Sync Master SW2233
Case Antec Three-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD ALC888
Power Supply HEC Raptor R500
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#4
Yes, it works in Catalyst with 700/1200 with no issues :)

I was just wondering cause I bought the Turbo model and didn't realize there was a TurboX model ... they look exactly the same only clock speeds differ, so I wondered if I could make my Turbo into a TurboX
 

sleepsus

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Manila
System Name PEANUT
Processor AMD Athlon 7750 BE @3.1Hz
Motherboard EMMAX EMX-AMD790GX-XTRM
Cooling Thermalright, Antec, Silverstone, Nidec
Memory Xtreem Dark 1066C6 1GB X2
Video Card(s) HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 Turbo @700/1200
Storage Seagate Barracuda, WD Caviar Blue
Display(s) Samsung Sync Master SW2233
Case Antec Three-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD ALC888
Power Supply HEC Raptor R500
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#5
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
734 (0.23/day)
Likes
121
Location
Golden, Colorado
System Name KAREN / EVA / GHOST
Processor Intel Core i7-950 / AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE / Core i5 3570k
Motherboard ASUS TUF Sabertooth X58 / DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH / Asrock z77e-itx
Cooling Thermaltake Frio / Corsair Cooling™ Hydro Series H50 / Corsair Hydro Series H60
Memory Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3 1600 / Corsair Dominator Quad2X4096-8500C5DF / G.SKILL Ripjaws Serie 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD6950 CF unlocked /XFX HD5770 CF/ MSI R4890 Cyclone
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60 WD Raptor X WD1500AHFD / Seagate Barracuda /Western Digital 80gb, Toshiba 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer P215H 21.5 Widescreen / Acer S211HL 21.5 / HP 2009F 20inch
Case SILVERSTONE RAVEN RV02-BW / NZXT Phantom /Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) On board / Philips MMS 321 - PC multimedia speakers
Power Supply Ultra X3 ULT40311 1000W / Cosair CMPSU-750TX 750W/ CORSAIR Gaming Series GS700 700W
Software Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit
#6
If your card can overclock to 700/1200 then why flash it? Not sure why you would is there something I am missing :confused: Most flash so they can be able to reach higher clocks for the voltage bump. Which you can do with RBE, Rivaturner and other programs.
 

sleepsus

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Manila
System Name PEANUT
Processor AMD Athlon 7750 BE @3.1Hz
Motherboard EMMAX EMX-AMD790GX-XTRM
Cooling Thermalright, Antec, Silverstone, Nidec
Memory Xtreem Dark 1066C6 1GB X2
Video Card(s) HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 Turbo @700/1200
Storage Seagate Barracuda, WD Caviar Blue
Display(s) Samsung Sync Master SW2233
Case Antec Three-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD ALC888
Power Supply HEC Raptor R500
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#7
If your card can overclock to 700/1200 then why flash it? Not sure why you would is there something I am missing :confused: Most flash so they can be able to reach higher clocks for the voltage bump. Which you can do with RBE, Rivaturner and other programs.
your missing my impractical obsession to get even higher clocks :)
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#8
your missing my impractical obsession to get even higher clocks :)
You can't, the only difference between the Turbo and TurboX bios is the default clocks.
I have one and I tried, so I can tell you it doesn't do shit. :p
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
Yes, it works in Catalyst with 700/1200 with no issues :)

I was just wondering cause I bought the Turbo model and didn't realize there was a TurboX model ... they look exactly the same only clock speeds differ, so I wondered if I could make my Turbo into a TurboX
Sounds like you're ready to go as long as you have throughly tested your card at those speeds. Once I ran a card through 24 hrs of benching, couple hours of a game, flashed it, then once I went into another game, tearing after 10 minutes. Had to go through the process of reflashing it to a lower speed.

If your card can overclock to 700/1200 then why flash it? Not sure why you would is there something I am missing :confused: Most flash so they can be able to reach higher clocks for the voltage bump. Which you can do with RBE, Rivaturner and other programs.
I just do it so I don't have to use software to control the speeds after finding a good stable max. As well, sometimes lower the 2D a bit for a little power savings. That could just be me though :)


-edit-

Oh, now I notice it ... yeah, no need to flash with another that BIOS if you're already getting much higher speeds. Can edit your current BIOS with those speeds and flash it, even rename it to the TurboXXX or Turbo Type S edition :D
 
Last edited:

sleepsus

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Manila
System Name PEANUT
Processor AMD Athlon 7750 BE @3.1Hz
Motherboard EMMAX EMX-AMD790GX-XTRM
Cooling Thermalright, Antec, Silverstone, Nidec
Memory Xtreem Dark 1066C6 1GB X2
Video Card(s) HIS HD 4850 IceQ 4 Turbo @700/1200
Storage Seagate Barracuda, WD Caviar Blue
Display(s) Samsung Sync Master SW2233
Case Antec Three-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD ALC888
Power Supply HEC Raptor R500
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
#10
Thanks for the replies. I've now just used RBE and ATIWinflash to tweak the fan settings to have it run %100 fan speed @ 70C ... Lowest temp I can get is 60C - 61C @ ~73% fan speed at load.

And I've left the clocks at stock and just use Catalyst to OC it :)
 
Last edited: