• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

His Radeon 3850 IceQ turbo problem

Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
MA
#1
I resently bought two graphics cards first a saphire radeon 3850, and just now bought a His radeon 3850 IceQ turbo video card. My oldest card was a pny verto 5900 a5 year old card. The sad part is that my old card does just as well as the new cards. I was hoping that the 512 mb would dramatically change my gaming experiance for rome total war. But on its highest settings, and even at the second highest settings, The game plays sloppy. I was wondering if this is because my bios dosn't recognize 512 mb video? I feel that the reason why the game is choppy has to do with video card memory no being recognized. Do I need the 8.8 agp hot fix, or somthing else so that I can use the full power of this card. I see no reason why this card shouldn't work at max setting

Computer stats
Intel d856perl
2.4 ghz pentium 4 processor
1024 MB Ram
750 watt power supply
80 gigbyte hard drive SATA
His Radeon 3850 IceQ turbo

Anyone have a similar issue, and had sucess with dealing with it. or the problem can't be fixed....:banghead::banghead::banghead:
 

stanhemi

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
801 (0.24/day)
Likes
347
Location
Montreal,-Canada.
System Name CRUNSHING MINI FARM
Processor Q9550 C1(lapped)@4105mhz 1,38vcore/Q6600 G0 @3010mhz 1,24vcore
Motherboard P5Q-E 8.5 x 483 fsb/P5QPL-AM 9x334fsb
Cooling watercooled storm,mcw60,2x240mm,micro res rev2,laing ddc3.2/Xig s1283(lapped)
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2X2G 1066MHZ@965-mhz 5-4-5-15/kingston kvr800mhz 2x1g
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRRE 4870 1G @850/1020/ati x1950 pro
Storage RAID0 2X RAPTOR 74gb/wd 250g
Display(s) 22'' LCD 1680x1050/lg 17" 1280x1024
Case Antec 900 white inside/crappy white case
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard
Power Supply ocz 700 watt mod xstream pro/enermax noiseblocker 485 watt
Software Windows 7 x64/vista 32
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 18950
#2
yes your bios recognize the 512mb,try whit another driver and be sure to clean your old file.
i am not sure,but i think you are cpu limited too
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
Rome Total War is a CPU hog. Both your CPU and RAM aren't up to snuff for it. Also, have you made sure that all of your drivers are up to date? Chipset, directX, video card, sound card etc...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
the rest of your PC is the problem now, not the video card.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#5
Wow dude you have a P4, 1 GB ram, and a 750W:)eek:) PSU.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#6
cpu looks to be a big prob for that game,
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
MA
#7
Thanks guys

This helps alot. I couldn't figure out why after I bought 2 videocards my gaming experiance stagnated like my first video card. Thanks again
 
Last edited: