1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HIS Radeon HD 5770 1 GB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Few benchmarks 5770 vs 5850

    Just a note, I play @ the full res of my monitor 1920x1080p and never once did the 5770 hiccup on CODWaW. On another note I got the Sapphire and it did NOT come with DiRT2 and I was told by Sapphire customer service that only newegg carriers the model that has DiRT2 in the box. However that card is $20 more then what I got mine for. Another note, the 5850 is an XFX...
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Anonimo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Wizz~
    I think you should put the min FPs in the graphs too, like xBit do.
    It would be a nice add 'cause it can show if the game is playable or not.
     
  3. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I like these quick results you attached :toast: It really rocks to see that on stock hd5850 isn't that much of better chip for dx9/dx10 based gaming than hd5770. And even in that Heaven quasi dx11 demo hd5850 only scores about 25% better than it little sis hd5770.

    Only new bad thing is this fud TSMC faces 40nm yield issues once again. It'll really delay competition to came up with G300 chip, and prices go down. But i cant really figure out does TSMC always lie when they firs had 30% yield than 65% in August so they now end up with 40%. I believe it's just for sake that GPU card manufacturers could rise up prices cause it's pretty upturn-downturn economy and they didn't expect so huge demand for high-end graphic chips from crazy gamers :D And there's opportunity to make even bigger profits. Especially if we see how ATI put the hefty price tag on HD5870.
     
  4. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
  5. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Yes I read that article about the yeild issues. Who knows though if ATI even ordered enough to begin with with the global economy the way it is. A lot of large retail companies here in the US are not stocking as much as not to get stuck and have to discount... Simple macro economics to keep supply low and demand high. Check this article out, http://www.fudzilla.com/content/view/16183/1/ so with that said did they plan it? Who knows, some could say yes others no way...

    Thanks for the compliment on my benches. Not as in depth as W1zz's thats for sure, but I wanted to see real world performance on my machines. Another note, I own a inexpensive watt, amp meter and on the HTPC where the 5770 resides specs are as follows:

    Intel Quad 8400
    Foxcon x48 black opps mobo
    4GBDDR3
    Asus sata DVD-RW
    ATI HDTV tuner
    Sapphire HD5770
    Hitachi 160GB HD

    300 Watt odd size PSU (mentioned in previous posts) so cannot just replace it but thought about gutting it and putting in larger internals



    Running benchs on that rig 3Dmark 06 yielded approx 15k and the max watt peak was 200 with an avg pull of 190 during peak scenes. I think the 300watt is just fine in this rig... :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yep but somehow i believe they had a looot of 1440SP only working chips on that huge die and with leaky process, and when demand for underpriced HD5850 ($260) let them get rid of huge stock to fill the budget then they returned to advertised price of $299 (well it's still some 20 bucks under). Thy probably had some of 60%-25% in favor of 1440Sp's HD5850 so when they saw huge demand for it and that they'd need to cut down non selling fully working chips to fulfill increasingly shorting pile of HD5850 chips they raised prices. I believe that with starting prices stock came up pretty close 25%-20% numbers with HD5870 doesnt selling as they wished, and after that they need some time to rebin rest of 15% chips to use it in some HD5830 offering while fully functional chips are needed for niche HD5970 debute this month.

    btw. It's nice for gaming rig that Q8400. It would be nice to see how it scales beside x4 620 (2.6G) which is 55% of it's price and it's nice to have VT by your side. oth there was some pretty immoral combo deals when i5 came out (end of Sept) with Asus X48 (non ROG/deluxe but E) and Q9550 board for $280. Here only Q9550 cost that much (while it was available) and X48 board cost more than when it was showcased two years ago (~$250) so thats why AMD is mostly better deal over here.
     
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,824 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,750
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    AMD dont have the time to be economic if they have yield issues, maybe by the time the issues are sorted and their cards are widespread on the shelves NVidia's offerings will be out, then with competition AMD will sell less cards anyways.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. jessicafae

    jessicafae New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Tokyo Japan
    Mussels says thanks.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,473 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,755
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    if i am to build a new rig i cannot wait to buy one of these cards :D
     
  11. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Just played COD MW2 for 3 hours at the highest settings my Samsung 52" 1920x1080, with the beta drivers I might add, and the card ran FLAWLESS. So quiet and cool. This thing is so worth the money in my book... :toast:
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. r80x

    r80x New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Great review! Really thorough and complete.

    I just ordered the 5770. Can't wait to test it and overclock the hell out of it, it's going to be fun to see the difference from my 1900xt, it's starting to be quite outdated ^^ but the main problem is the lack of drivers now. So it going to be refreshing!

    But the best part is the price i got. Here in sweden it costs 1599kr (230$) but i got a demo copy for 1040kr (150$) so it's a really good deal!
     
  13. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    Great job!!U ll reach 1000core vary easily!!!
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,544 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,658
    unless you know exactly what double precision is, how it works and why you need it you do not need it and it's useless for you
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,473 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,755
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    its worrying exactly because i dont know if i'll need it or not. going backwards is never a good thing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,544 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,658
    if you don't know, i guarantee you will not need it in the next 5 years.
     
    shevanel and Mussels say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. to6ko91

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    335 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ireland
    does anybody know what this connector does?
    [​IMG]
     
  18. 50eurouser

    50eurouser

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Looks like an alien antenna nanochip hooked up to send status report on Moon Base 2. I've seen it in a movie called "They Live".
     
  19. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,203 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    it's proly for factory testing of the card make sure the right volts and clocks are being used before it's sent out for sale
     
  20. Drac

    Drac

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    132 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I bought this card today for 140 €. I think i made the right decision.
    One of the factors that made me buy this card was this review xD
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. brokencage

    brokencage New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  22. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,203 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    your only just finding this out now

    GPU Cap Capture.JPG

    the thing I'm more pissed about is the fact that just like ATI's OpenGL we're stuck with only 256MB of usable texture cache
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)