• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

HIS RX 560 and its variant

Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi guys, I just bought a RX 560 4GB from HIS and it pretty weird.
I have noticed on HIS homepage this is the GREEN version, which is 14 Compute Unit (just like the RX 460), been cut down to 896 Shader Unified, 16/56 ROP/TMU. Underclocked memory to 1500mhz.


I have overclocked memory to 1750mhz got no problem from doing it.
And I noticed a thing that Release Date (highlighted) is Aug 8th 2016, the release date of RX 460.
I have a feeling that my RX 560 was flashed from a RX 460 right out manufacturer. AMD Crimson still recognize it as a RX 560. And someone reported that if you using an older Crimson driver, it will shown as a RX 460


BIOS is BAFFIN instead of POLARIS21 make it more suspicious.


A friend reported his also GREEN version from HIS is a full RX 560.


I'm asking him for the BIOS and thinking about flash his bios to my RX 560 to unlock it to full power.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#3
You have what is known as the 560D Series.

Baffin and polaris are different.

I wouldn't attempt putting a different bios from a different card on yours as it will brick and can be unrecoverable.

Just don't do it.

You would be better off sending the card back for a 570 or 580.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,414 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,098
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
System Name Game Beast 3.1
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX II 120S + ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X)
Memory Team Xtreem LV 2666 DDR3 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 280X Gaming 3G OC
Storage WD Black SATA-III 1TB + Lexar JumpDrive S23 USB 3.0 16GB
Display(s) RCA 32" LED HDTV 1080p 60Hz + NOKIA 445Xi 21" CRT 1600x1200 75Hz
Case Oldy but a goody(ancient Dell ATX)
Audio Device(s) Not yet
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse LED Dell USB
Keyboard Non-mechanical Micron PS/2
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Heaven: 1128 Valley: 2265 Superposition 1080p Extreme: 2357 Fire Strike: 10490 Time Spy: 3208
#4
It might work. But it probably won't. I don't think there's any major risk of bricking the card, since they're so similar. I can't say for sure. But I doubt it. The memory timings for Micron MT51J256M32HF are a little different for the 1625MHz and 1875MHz straps. Which shouldn't matter compatibility wise(exact same model memory ICs supported). But will have an impact on performance between 1625MHz to 1749MHz and 1875MHz to 1999MHz memory speeds. If you're running the memory @ 1750MHz to 1874MHz(or anywhere from 200MHz to 1624MHz or 2000MHz+) the timings are the same(so performance will be the same).

Memory timings (Micron MT51J256M32HF)

Your card BIOS 1625MHz: 17-17-22-22-60-21-164 (tighter)
Your friend's card BIOS 1625MHz: 19-19-24-24-65-22-178 (looser)
Advantage = your card BIOS between 1625MHz to 1749MHz memory speeds

Your card BIOS 1875MHz: 22-22-28-28-75-24-206 (looser)
Your friend's card BIOS 1875MHz: 21-21-26-26-70-23-192 (tighter)
Advantage = your friend's card BIOS between 1875 to 1999MHz memory speeds

Anyway...the difference between Baffin PRO/XT and Polaris 21 XT/XL is basically in name only. They wanted to pretend like they weren't doing a full on rebrand so they gave Baffin a new name to throw people off. Same thing with Ellesmere PRO(D)/XT and Polaris 20 XL/XTX. Same chips basically...different name. And people are flashing their Ellesmere cards to Polaris cards successfully(in most cases). So...flashing Baffin cards to Polaris cards shouldn't be a problem either(in most cases).

But...like I said...it probably won't work. Although it might. Or it might even appear to work...yet yield no performance increase. Since additional shaders and TMUs might show(in GPU-Z for example) as being unlocked when they really aren't. And the memory timings thing will definitely affect memory performance at the speeds specified above. And there's also a slim chance you might brick the card. Exceedingly slim though IMO. It's a risk I would be willing to take. But I'm also very confident I could unbrick it if I had to.

Final note: You will have to force flash it because the Device ID and Subsystem ID are different.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,583 (0.74/day)
Likes
513
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HyperMainframe
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Kraken X31
Memory 1x 8GB 2400 mhz DDR4 Adata XPG CL16
Video Card(s) RX 560 2 GB Gigabyte Gaming Edition
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Deepcool D-Shield
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M500W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
Benchmark Scores Superposition benchmark : 1080p Medium - 4270 pts.
#5
Made me check my RX560. I have Gigabyte Gaming RX560, but its alright :):

Capture1.JPG
Capture2.JPG
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
It might work. But it probably won't. I don't think there's any major risk of bricking the card, since they're so similar. I can't say for sure. But I doubt it. The memory timings for Micron MT51J256M32HF are a little different for the 1625MHz and 1875MHz straps. Which shouldn't matter compatibility wise(exact same model memory ICs supported). But will have an impact on performance between 1625MHz to 1749MHz and 1875MHz to 1999MHz memory speeds. If you're running the memory @ 1750MHz to 1874MHz(or anywhere from 200MHz to 1624MHz or 2000MHz+) the timings are the same(so performance will be the same).

Memory timings (Micron MT51J256M32HF)

Your card BIOS 1625MHz: 17-17-22-22-60-21-164 (tighter)
Your friend's card BIOS 1625MHz: 19-19-24-24-65-22-178 (looser)
Advantage = your card BIOS between 1625MHz to 1749MHz memory speeds

Your card BIOS 1875MHz: 22-22-28-28-75-24-206 (looser)
Your friend's card BIOS 1875MHz: 21-21-26-26-70-23-192 (tighter)
Advantage = your friend's card BIOS between 1875 to 1999MHz memory speeds

Anyway...the difference between Baffin PRO/XT and Polaris 21 XT/XL is basically in name only. They wanted to pretend like they weren't doing a full on rebrand so they gave Baffin a new name to throw people off. Same thing with Ellesmere PRO(D)/XT and Polaris 20 XL/XTX. Same chips basically...different name. And people are flashing their Ellesmere cards to Polaris cards successfully(in most cases). So...flashing Baffin cards to Polaris cards shouldn't be a problem either(in most cases).

But...like I said...it probably won't work. Although it might. Or it might even appear to work...yet yield no performance increase. Since additional shaders and TMUs might show(in GPU-Z for example) as being unlocked when they really aren't. And the memory timings thing will definitely affect memory performance at the speeds specified above. And there's also a slim chance you might brick the card. Exceedingly slim though IMO. It's a risk I would be willing to take. But I'm also very confident I could unbrick it if I had to.

Final note: You will have to force flash it because the Device ID and Subsystem ID are different.
What works for you great but you can lead a horse to water but you can't make them drink.

Most who come here seem to not listen thoroughly.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,450 (0.85/day)
Likes
769
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#7
If it's not the GPU you expected you were buying then take it back to the place of purchase and tell them you thought it was a proper RX560 not the bodged one that this appears to be
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,414 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,098
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
System Name Game Beast 3.1
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX II 120S + ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X)
Memory Team Xtreem LV 2666 DDR3 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 280X Gaming 3G OC
Storage WD Black SATA-III 1TB + Lexar JumpDrive S23 USB 3.0 16GB
Display(s) RCA 32" LED HDTV 1080p 60Hz + NOKIA 445Xi 21" CRT 1600x1200 75Hz
Case Oldy but a goody(ancient Dell ATX)
Audio Device(s) Not yet
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse LED Dell USB
Keyboard Non-mechanical Micron PS/2
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Heaven: 1128 Valley: 2265 Superposition 1080p Extreme: 2357 Fire Strike: 10490 Time Spy: 3208
#8
If it's not the GPU you expected you were buying then take it back to the place of purchase and tell them you thought it was a proper RX560 not the bodged one that this appears to be
He's got what's advertised on the HIS site. Nothing "bodged" about it.


The question is when did they stop selling the exact same card with a full CU/shader/TMU count core? Because they obviously did sell them like that at some point.

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b4739/his-rx-560-green-icooler-oc-4-gb
http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/his-launches-radeon-rx-560-green-icooler-oc-4gb.html
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,450 (0.85/day)
Likes
769
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#9
What I got from the OP's post was that he'd bought a GPU but it wasn't the one he expected to buy ie: RX560D instead of the RX560 (polaris21) as there's nothing on the HIS site or the box to indicate one from the other as there's no indication of it being either Baffin core or Polaris 21
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
158 (2.30/day)
Likes
72
Location
US
System Name Derp Machine
Processor i7 5820K @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus X99-A
Cooling Custom water loop EKWB and reservoir, with Swiftech 240mm rad & 140mm case fans
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2400 Quad Channel @ 15-15-15-35-2T 1.2 V
Video Card(s) Aorus GTX 1080 @ 2050 MHz & 1400 MHz RAM
Storage Samsung SSD 960 EVO NVMe 500 GB & 4 TB WD Green HDD
Display(s) Qnix 27" 1440p overclocked @ 100Hz PLS
Case Fractal Design Define R5 BE with window
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z @ Wireless Logitech WoW Headset
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Win 10 Pro
#10
Now Asus is doing the same, it's new in the news, releasing a new RX 560 with only 896 shaders enabled compared to their other RX 560 which has all 1024 enabled. Seems stock for fully working GPUs is low and they are trying to sell those 896-GPUs again like a generation before with the RX 460. I think the same reason why the RX 460 didn't had all shaders enabled was the same as it is now. This is basically shady marketing tactics, even worse compared to GTX 1060 "3 GB" versions which also have less shaders - but those are at least marked with the "3 GB" whereas these RX 560 aren't marked at all: if you don't look for the shader amounts specifically, you're gonna get screwed.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#11
What really needs to happen is that the crippled 560 needs to be just called the 560 and the full-fledged 560 needs to be called to be 565 or 562
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
158 (2.30/day)
Likes
72
Location
US
System Name Derp Machine
Processor i7 5820K @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus X99-A
Cooling Custom water loop EKWB and reservoir, with Swiftech 240mm rad & 140mm case fans
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2400 Quad Channel @ 15-15-15-35-2T 1.2 V
Video Card(s) Aorus GTX 1080 @ 2050 MHz & 1400 MHz RAM
Storage Samsung SSD 960 EVO NVMe 500 GB & 4 TB WD Green HDD
Display(s) Qnix 27" 1440p overclocked @ 100Hz PLS
Case Fractal Design Define R5 BE with window
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z @ Wireless Logitech WoW Headset
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Win 10 Pro
#12
The funny thing is, that the RX 560 is supposed to be the full chip, it was released with 1024 shaders enabled, and now they're simply reducing it, in some GPUs, to 896 shaders enabled. They screwed the whole thing.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13
The funny thing is, that the RX 560 is supposed to be the full chip, it was released with 1024 shaders enabled, and now they're simply reducing it, in some GPUs, to 896 shaders enabled. They screwed the whole thing.

The mistake that was made is not calling them 560Ds because those are actually 460s from last year.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
#14
Yeah I found the different in HIS SKU:
Full Power RX 560: HS-560R4SCNR
Weaken RX 560: HS-560J4SCNR

Well, since I paid a cheaper price (equal amount to the perf loss) for the weaker one, I don't really blame the retailer, they know nothing, almost customers return it to retailer when they found it weakened. They are grey market imported units anyway.

The problem is WHY HIS DO THIS? They don't even marked it as RX 560D.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,876 (3.46/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#15
What really needs to happen is that the crippled 560 needs to be just called the 560 and the full-fledged 560 needs to be called to be 565 or 562
I say bring back the LE models!
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
158 (2.30/day)
Likes
72
Location
US
System Name Derp Machine
Processor i7 5820K @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus X99-A
Cooling Custom water loop EKWB and reservoir, with Swiftech 240mm rad & 140mm case fans
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2400 Quad Channel @ 15-15-15-35-2T 1.2 V
Video Card(s) Aorus GTX 1080 @ 2050 MHz & 1400 MHz RAM
Storage Samsung SSD 960 EVO NVMe 500 GB & 4 TB WD Green HDD
Display(s) Qnix 27" 1440p overclocked @ 100Hz PLS
Case Fractal Design Define R5 BE with window
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z @ Wireless Logitech WoW Headset
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Win 10 Pro
#16
The mistake that was made is not calling them 560Ds because those are actually 460s from last year.
That's usually the name for mobile products not desktop.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,414 (1.35/day)
Likes
1,098
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
System Name Game Beast 3.1
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX II 120S + ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV 280(X)
Memory Team Xtreem LV 2666 DDR3 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R9 280X Gaming 3G OC
Storage WD Black SATA-III 1TB + Lexar JumpDrive S23 USB 3.0 16GB
Display(s) RCA 32" LED HDTV 1080p 60Hz + NOKIA 445Xi 21" CRT 1600x1200 75Hz
Case Oldy but a goody(ancient Dell ATX)
Audio Device(s) Not yet
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse LED Dell USB
Keyboard Non-mechanical Micron PS/2
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Heaven: 1128 Valley: 2265 Superposition 1080p Extreme: 2357 Fire Strike: 10490 Time Spy: 3208
#17
Actually AMD and NVIDIA typically throw an M(for Mobile) in the name. Either before the subseries numbers(R9 M390X), or tacked on the end(HD 8970M, GTX 980M). I've never seen a D used for such.

In this case D denotes the difference between the 1024SP and 896SP versions of the desktop RX 560 card. The mobile RX 560 is only available with 896SP.

https://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-RX-560-Laptop.194834.0.html
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,450 (0.85/day)
Likes
769
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#19
So really all the D stands for in the name is the "Dicked" with edition
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#20
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
158 (2.30/day)
Likes
72
Location
US
System Name Derp Machine
Processor i7 5820K @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Asus X99-A
Cooling Custom water loop EKWB and reservoir, with Swiftech 240mm rad & 140mm case fans
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2400 Quad Channel @ 15-15-15-35-2T 1.2 V
Video Card(s) Aorus GTX 1080 @ 2050 MHz & 1400 MHz RAM
Storage Samsung SSD 960 EVO NVMe 500 GB & 4 TB WD Green HDD
Display(s) Qnix 27" 1440p overclocked @ 100Hz PLS
Case Fractal Design Define R5 BE with window
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Z @ Wireless Logitech WoW Headset
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Win 10 Pro
#21
Actually AMD and NVIDIA typically throw an M(for Mobile) in the name. Either before the subseries numbers(R9 M390X), or tacked on the end(HD 8970M, GTX 980M). I've never seen a D used for such.
That's correct, I was actually speaking about the GPUs integrated in the APU, those are named with a D in its name, at least sometimes. This also means it will not be used in desktop GPUs, wouldn't make any sense anyway because it makes not much sense in a PR perspective. AMD's moniker for "super" versions is usually "X", "XT" in the past or even "XTX", but the latter two aren't used anymore and I'm not even sure they will use the X again. They didn't for RX 400/500 series until now, I guess it is a thing of the past, wasn't really good for marketing anyway.

It is also not advisable to name a card with a D to note that it is worse - from a PR perspective, naming the shittier version "1050" and the super version "1050 Ti" is a much better sell. AMD is obviously doing the same. At least in the past. The RX 560 deviates from that. Basically what I already said before.
In this case D denotes the difference between the 1024SP and 896SP versions of the desktop RX 560 card. The mobile RX 560 is only available with 896SP.
That is wrong information as these cards are simply named the same - RX 560 - which was already debated in the thread.

That said, RX 560 was the perfect name for the full GPU this time around, and it got initially released with full shader amount of 1024 too, but they chose to change at least some models later down to 896 shaders, which completely confuses everything. This is basically what I already said at the beginning, strange that I have to repeat myself.