• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HIS RX 580 4GB OC

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,569 (4.34/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.375V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
There is a match in our unverified uploads, same model, same clocks, same device ID, same memory...……………...

 

cyrille304

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2019
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
flashed.gif

Thanks a lot, now I will just stick to this gpu bios.
Hopefully it won't have any problems in the future.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,569 (4.34/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.375V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Let me know how you get on with the flash.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,569 (4.34/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.375V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
So it worked OK? can you upload a GPU-Z screenshot, I want to see if that zero memory speed showing previously has gone away.
 

cyrille304

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2019
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
Is there still something wrong if it stays in zero? After I come back home I’ll send it later.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,569 (4.34/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.375V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Is there still something wrong if it stays in zero? After I come back home I’ll send it later.
Well there is no way your memory is not running (zero) otherwise the card would not boot, that seems to be a glitch with whatever Bios you had when you came here...………. I assume you bought this card second hand, maybe an ex mining card?
 

cyrille304

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2019
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
This is before and after the bios flash
Yeah I'm pretty sure it's an ex mining card.
Before and After.png

I've been running my pc with no problems even tried to furmark it and still got results.
Furmark.png

Should I just keep it as is or try to fix that 0 problem?
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,569 (4.34/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.375V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Strange, but at least you now have the extra GPU clock and a much higher texture and pixel fill rate. Try clocking it a bit now maybe, just say 1400mhz on the GPU and 1850 on the memory to start, see how it handles that.

Try AIDA64 or something similar to see if it reports the memory and it's speed assuming Wattman will report and allow the memory to be overclocked?

I did notice that card manufacturer was an OEM as was the database descriptor for the card and it's Bios, maybe that has something to do with it but the main thing it is working and should be faster than previously.
 

cyrille304

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2019
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
Was a bit curious about overclocking it too. Later when I’m not busy gonna reflash the other bios and overclock it. Is it safe? I’m actually a little bit scared I might fry my GPU.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,569 (4.34/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.375V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Was a bit curious about overclocking it too. Later when I’m not busy gonna reflash the other bios and overclock it. Is it safe? I’m actually a little bit scared I might fry my GPU.
You cannot fry your GPU unless you add voltage to it which you do not need to do for low level overclocking, the heat is unlikely to factor but even if it did it will automatically throttle the clocks down, the increases we are discussing here are very unlikely to cause any negative impact but will increase performance, all you need to do is go into Global Wattman, increase the power limit by about 10-20% then to start with just increase GPU speed to 1390 and memory to 1800, save, exit and then run a benchmark and a couple of games, at this point, if all is well, leave the memory speed (as this has the least impact on performance) and just go up in 5mhz stages on the GPU, you will eventually get to the point where the GPU will simply crash in a benchmark or game, chances are then, as you are not increasing GPU voltage that you have taken it as far as it will go on the reference performance voltage, at that point dial it back 10mhz and you have your stable overclock.

Take your time, you don't have to do it all in one day, each time you start your PC you can try the next 5mhz etc.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,599 (0.42/day)
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
If not done so already i would also remove the drivers and then reinstall them as i remember something about it always being best to remove drivers before flashing the GPU as the driver might not fully detect the new settings after flashing.
Maybe things have changed over time but i still think it's a good idea to do a fresh driver install :)
 
Last edited:
Top