• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HIS RX 580 8GB BIOS?

uncreativelurker

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
21 (0.66/day)
I bought a second hand of this card.

The card says it is clocked at 1366 Mhz, but GPU-Z, benchmarks, and other sorts of tests tell that the default clock is only rated @ 1085 Mhz?
The seller, claims it does not come from miners, but I do not really believe that. He's cooperative about his products nonetheless.
After some research, I settled (but not entirely sure) that it was modified to be underclocked for mining.

I searched and learned how to flash and came up with a default one in here. Its not proven by techpowerup though.
Note: I found two sources, but I flashed that one since the clock speed is @ 1366 Mhz. They have different RAM timings though, where I do not have any understanding.

So it was good, until after a few days (not even a week before I bought it) while playing, the PC suddenly shut down in the middle as if it was a power outage. I tried powering it on to no avail.
After a few tinkering, when I press the power button, the PC fails to boot, but not before at least attempting to spin the fan and light the LEDs (including the card) for maybe 0.2 seconds?
Anyways, the card was the culprit and did not work again, as proven when I plugged in my old video card and made the PC boot. The PC would boot too if the card was removed. I almost mistook it for the PSU.

Was the card bricked? Or was it really faulty, they underclocked it because it couldnt handle 1366 Mhz? I don't know, the seller doesn't know either. He said this was the first time it happened, but I asked him
about other buyers and their cards were also reported to be clocked at 1085 Mhz.

I returned it to the seller and gave me another HIS RX580. As expected, this is also clocked at 1085 Mhz. What I want to find out is
1. What is really the default BIOS for this card? Any owners?
2. What do you think happened to that card? Faulty or got bricked by me?
3. Should I do and test it again on the replacement?

I got the card for $125. It was too good to pass up considering my older video card was crumbling
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
324 (0.57/day)
Location
Canada, Quebec
You need the exact model number that is usually on the white sticker behind the card. Take a pictures and post it here please.

check eidairaman1 signature, there's a link to BIOS library. You should find the correct bios for the correct model.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
1,041 (0.97/day)
System Name My PC
Processor 4670K@4.4GHz
Motherboard Gryphon Z87
Cooling CM 212
Memory 2x8GB+2x4GB @2400GHz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 580 GTS Black Edition 1425MHz OC+, 8GB
Storage Intel 530 SSD 480GB + Intel 510 SSD 120GB + 2x500GB hdd raid 1
Display(s) HP envy 32 1440p
Case CM Mastercase 5
Audio Device(s) Sbz Zxr
Power Supply Antec 620W
Mouse G502
Keyboard G910
Software Win 10 pro
Return card and take money back, those cards where used for mining and downclocked to work longer but in process they got f**ed up when flashed to normal bios so they are crap.

Edit: Imagine this, you have car who can go up to 136Km/h but you always drive max to 80, after x years motor wears out and you decide one day to drive it up to 136 and if you are unlucky motor blows up.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
324 (0.57/day)
Location
Canada, Quebec
Return card and take money back, those cards where used for mining and downclocked to work longer but in process they got f**ed up when flashed to normal bios so they are crap.
It's highly plausible, but for 125$, it's worth trying with a confirmed BIOS and in worst case, ask for a refund :toast:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
You need the exact model number that is usually on the white sticker behind the card. Take a pictures and post it here please.

check eidairaman1 signature, there's a link to BIOS library. You should find the correct bios for the correct model.
This

Also GPU-Z Screenshot please
 

uncreativelurker

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
21 (0.66/day)
This is the GPU-Z Screenshot
Gpu z screenshot.PNG


I'm kinda not wanting to take out the card again, but I can see the two stickers on the backplate and this is what they spell out
HIS
HS-580R8LC No.:HS580R8L VB.0
RX 580 IceQ X2 OC 8G
Made in China Warranty void if removed
S/N: HCG060505

The other sticker has chinese characters but these are what I can type
VGA CARD
MSIP - REI - ABG - RX580 - 8
RX580

Note: when I pressed "Lookup" in GPU-Z, it led me into two different cards, (RX 580 and RX580G)
So on my first run I looked up the specific card, and indeed it has an entry for itself but the bios was unverified.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
This is the GPU-Z Screenshot
View attachment 121729

I'm kinda not wanting to take out the card again, but I can see the two stickers on the backplate and this is what they spell out
HIS
HS-580R8LC No.:HS580R8L VB.0
RX 580 IceQ X2 OC 8G
Made in China Warranty void if removed
S/N: HCG060505

The other sticker has chinese characters but these are what I can type
VGA CARD
MSIP - REI - ABG - RX580 - 8
RX580

Note: when I pressed "Lookup" in GPU-Z, it led me into two different cards, (RX 580 and RX580G)
So on my first run I looked up the card but it was unverified.
Sorry for the wait. I will locate the correct bios for you.

Here is your specific card.
http://www.hisdigital.com/id/product2-943.shtml

See if there is a micro switch on the card near the pci bracket or closer to power connector. If you find one, flip the switch to other position and restart gpu-z please and upload that screenshot.

Once you do I will post some working bios files
 
Last edited:

uncreativelurker

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
21 (0.66/day)
Sorry for the wait. I will locate the correct bios for you.

Here is your specific card.
http://www.hisdigital.com/id/product2-943.shtml

See if there is a micro switch on the card near the pci bracket or closer to power connector. If you find one, flip the switch to other position and restart gpu-z please and upload that screenshot.

Once you do I will post some working bios files
Wow, I have not noticed this switch until now. I flipped it from left to right. In fact I was looking for a switch in this card last week but it was very discrete.

Also, very weird that the GPU clock is only set at 1150 and Memory has increased to 2100.

I also want to add this:
In the first post I mentioned I found two default bios sources, the one I used from techpowerup (although unofficial), which has a 1366 mhz and this one which has a clock speed of 1150. Very surprising that the latter is now matching to my BIOS after I flipped the GPU switch.
Capture.PNG

gpuz screenshot (Bios switch right.PNG
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok your card is supposed to have 1340/2000 for boost and 1366/2000 for OC.

Follow my directions carefully.

Download this tool.
https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/

For the position that has 1150/2100 you will flash the OC bios below

Pick any one of these
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/193536/193536

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/209795/209795

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/192149/192149

Follow this video

Restart machine

Once you do that verify your monitor turns on and then take a gpu-z screenshot again.
 

uncreativelurker

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
21 (0.66/day)
This is GPU-Z after flashing
new screenshot.PNG


I used the first link, which is also what I flashed into the card I first returned.
I already told the story about what happened to that card, I am not sure what happened if it got bricked or just died faulty.
(I always had my overlay, and nothing was out of hand in its temperatures, voltages etc, its just the sudden shutdown in the middle of a game. I did not try flipping the switch when it broke, I had not realized it at that point and I just returned the product)

I guess we play the waiting game now and see if it lasts?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
This is GPU-Z after flashing
View attachment 121737

I used the first link, which is also what I flashed into the card I first returned.
I already told the story about what happened to that card, I am not sure what happened if it got bricked or just died faulty.
(I always had my overlay, and nothing was out of hand in its temperatures, voltages etc, its just the sudden shutdown in the middle of a game. I did not try flipping the switch when it broke, I had not realized it at that point and I just returned the product)

I guess we play the waiting game now and see if it lasts?
Mining cards are a hit and miss. If anything replace thermal compound on gpu die.

Anyways good, if the card blanks/crashes, you can try the other 2 files in the bios switch position you have it in currently.


Now I want you to flip the bios switch to the other position that has the 1085/2000 bios and then flash to this bios below

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/205610/205610

There is a reason I ask the questions I do, it is so we avoid bricking your card by getting a Bios that matches all criteria of the card in question.

Please provide your computer system specs too please

@uncreativelurker
 

uncreativelurker

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
21 (0.66/day)
Mining cards are a hit and miss. If anything replace thermal compound on gpu die.

Anyways good, if the card blanks/crashes, you can try the other 2 files in the bios switch position you have it in currently.


Now I want you to flip the bios switch to the other position that has the 1085/2000 bios and then flash to this bios below

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/205610/205610

There is a reason I ask the questions I do, it is so we avoid bricking your card by getting a Bios that matches all criteria of the card in question.

Please provide your computer system specs too please

@uncreativelurker
This is now the GPU-Z after flashing it while the switch is on the left

new screenshot after flashing left.PNG

The rest of my system, running on Windows 10 has
i7 4770
B85 Pro Gamer
Seasonic S12II 620 Watts
4x2 GB of DDR3 memory
and 1x2 TB of HDD in total
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

uncreativelurker

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
21 (0.66/day)

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Should I keep the switch on the left?
Thank you, it is so rare to have somebody in forums sticking with you throughout the process.
There are times I do work, but so you know I do show back up to help.

You also contributed by listening to what I wrote too.

Try your games in the boost bios, then try them in the OC bios.

I found 2 more files for 1366/2000 to make a total of 5.

There was only 1 1340/2000 bios.
 

uncreativelurker

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
21 (0.66/day)
There are times I do work, but so you know I do show back up to help.

You also contributed by listening to what I wrote too.

Try your games in the boost bios, then try them in the OC bios.

I found 2 more files for 1366/2000 to make a total of 5.

There was only 1 1340/2000 bios.
Alright, thanks! I will keep the thread for anything that might happen. Hopefully still under seller warranty too.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Alright, thanks! I will keep the thread for anything that might happen. Hopefully still under seller warranty too.
Definitely report back with both good and bad news, keep us in the loop
 

uncreativelurker

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
21 (0.66/day)
Hmm, two restarts already, and I could not complete a single benchmark now. PC freezes in userbenchmark, Unigine Superposition freezes on load. Checked the overlay, GPU Util is 100% on desktop. I'll turn off the desktop and come back a couple of hours later.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,264 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hmm, two restarts already, and I could not complete a single benchmark now. PC freezes in userbenchmark, Unigine Superposition freezes on load. Checked the overlay, GPU Util is 100% on desktop. I'll turn off the desktop and come back a couple of hours later.
Try card in another system

Replace the thermal compound if you can.

If no dice get your money back.
 

uncreativelurker

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
21 (0.66/day)
Try card in another system

Replace the thermal compound if you can.

If no dice get your money back.
I just tested again, this time the switch is flipped to the 1366 clock, and it runs the benchmarks without problem. The 1340 clock though, will freeze at the moment the benchmark starts using resources.
I will try replacing the thermal compound.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,657 (1.70/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
I just tested again, this time the switch is flipped to the 1366 clock, and it runs the benchmarks without problem. The 1340 clock though, will freeze at the moment the benchmark starts using resources.
I will try replacing the thermal compound.
Flash the good bios onto the switch position that is crashing for you, then you have 2 good bios that work, boost bios vs quiet is only 20 mhz anyway so no real difference and this way you know you have a backup if anything goes wrong
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
324 (0.57/day)
Location
Canada, Quebec
I'm glad that everything seems to work fine with proper clocks :) Enjoy your card. If it works now, it should last for gaming. At 125$, it's a pretty good bargain.

Thanks again @eidairaman1 for the patience.
 

uncreativelurker

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2019
Messages
21 (0.66/day)
Thanks to everyone who helped! The card is very hard to take apart, I think it needs some tools beyond screwdriver before I can replace the thermal paste. I guess I'll flash the 1150 Mhz bios over the 1360* one. Hope this card lasts long.

*EDIT: over the 1340, I mean.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,657 (1.70/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
Thanks to everyone who helped! The card is very hard to take apart, I think it needs some tools beyond screwdriver before I can replace the thermal paste. I guess I'll flash the 1150 Mhz bios over the 1360 one. Hope this card lasts long.
You mean the 1366 one over the 1150 no?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
324 (0.57/day)
Location
Canada, Quebec
Thanks to everyone who helped! The card is very hard to take apart, I think it needs some tools beyond screwdriver before I can replace the thermal paste. I guess I'll flash the 1150 Mhz bios over the 1360 one. Hope this card lasts long.
if the temps are good and the card is stable with the 1360 bios, you should be fine. I don't think it would change the longetivity of the card. If it's blown up, it's blown up, if it's not, it shouldn't happen with "stock" speed.
 
Top