• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Hitman Absolution -- The Living Breathing World

Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,648
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#1
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,584 (0.47/day)
Likes
750
#2
So, started playing a bit tonight, and so far I have mixed feelings. I've started on Hard, as I still need some things to be able to learn the game before I do purist. To preface that, I've played Hitman games, but not extensively and I don't remember beating one, but I did get relatively far in Contracts. So anyways, my first "wtf" moment was when I had a checkpoint and I restarted it, and the enemies I had previously killed magically reappeared, leaving me to be spotted by them without me knowing they had spawned again. Once I finished the "tutorial", another thing annoying me is the point system. While it is nice for things like The Sniper Challenge and adds some fun/replay value to the game/missions, it is throwing me off. For instance, if I subdue an enemy, I'm down 160 points - why? I didn't kill him...and if I hide it I get the points back - okay, but I shouldn't have lost them in the first place. Same with killing, if you do it silently and hide the body, you gain the points back, but what is the point of that? Another part was where I disguised myself as a chef, and was told "turning on the radio can provide a distraction" - so I turned on the radio, no weapons in hand, and I lose 1600 points for being spotted as a chef in the kitchen because I turned on a radio???
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,648
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#3
I will have to check this out soon. I need more harddrive space.
 

Victor286

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Flint, MI
System Name Black Betty
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard ASRock Extreme4 Z77
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO
Memory Corsair Vengeance LowProfile 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 Superclocked Signature Edition
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200RPM 64MB/ SSD-OCZ Vertex 4 128GB
Display(s) ASUS 23"6 Full HD w/Speakers
Case NZXT Phantom 410 (Black)
Power Supply Seasonic X-Series 850W 80 Plus Gold Full Modular
Software Windows 8 Professional 64bit
#4
Graphical settings?

So I ran the benchmark test that the game has built in and I have some disturbingly low FPS.

Specs:
i5 3570k
EVGA GTX 680 Superclocked Signature Edition
1600 8GB RAM

Ultra settings 1080P:
31 MAX
25 AVG
21 MIN

Explain to me how this is possible perhaps I need to overclock my CPU/GPU? Or change some AA settings? What is everyone else running this game on? Does it require 60FPS or will these numbers run fine? I played only the first mission before going to work so I havent tested the rest of the game yet with these numbers. However it ran fine during the intro mission so I am thinking it will be okay for the rest of the game. Watching the benchmark test I didn't see any noticable lag.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,302 (0.67/day)
Likes
960
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#5
So I ran the benchmark test that the game has built in and I have some disturbingly low FPS.

Specs:
i5 3570k
EVGA GTX 680 Superclocked Signature Edition
1600 8GB RAM

Ultra settings 1080P:
31 MAX
25 AVG
21 MIN

Explain to me how this is possible perhaps I need to overclock my CPU/GPU? Or change some AA settings? What is everyone else running this game on? Does it require 60FPS or will these numbers run fine? I played only the first mission before going to work so I havent tested the rest of the game yet with these numbers. However it ran fine during the intro mission so I am thinking it will be okay for the rest of the game. Watching the benchmark test I didn't see any noticable lag.
Has there been any sort of patch/update yet?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,566 (0.49/day)
Likes
546
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#6
So I ran the benchmark test that the game has built in and I have some disturbingly low FPS.

Specs:
i5 3570k
EVGA GTX 680 Superclocked Signature Edition
1600 8GB RAM

Ultra settings 1080P:
31 MAX
25 AVG
21 MIN

Explain to me how this is possible perhaps I need to overclock my CPU/GPU? Or change some AA settings? What is everyone else running this game on? Does it require 60FPS or will these numbers run fine? I played only the first mission before going to work so I havent tested the rest of the game yet with these numbers. However it ran fine during the intro mission so I am thinking it will be okay for the rest of the game. Watching the benchmark test I didn't see any noticable lag.
As far as i know nvidia released beta drivers to improve performance on this game.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,584 (0.47/day)
Likes
750
#7
I also got low FPS with my setup when I cranked it up to ultra with all settings enabled. I'm disappointed...I mean I bought one of the best cards on the market to play and I'm getting basically the FPS you posted. I can't play at less than 30 at all, so I had to lower AA to 4, take tesselation off, take SSAO/whatever off, and I got an average of 52 or something with a minimum of 42, easily playable.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#8
I also got low FPS with my setup when I cranked it up to ultra with all settings enabled. I'm disappointed...I mean I bought one of the best cards on the market to play and I'm getting basically the FPS you posted. I can't play at less than 30 at all, so I had to lower AA to 4, take tesselation off, take SSAO/whatever off, and I got an average of 52 or something with a minimum of 42, easily playable.
It's usually the SSAO that does it, max everything and turn that down or off, at least i had that issue with my two nvidia cards. I'll test it on my two 7950's tonight.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,584 (0.47/day)
Likes
750
#9
It's usually the SSAO that does it, max everything and turn that down or off, at least i had that issue with my two nvidia cards. I'll test it on my two 7950's tonight.
Okay I'll try just that and see if it makes a difference. Just wanted to play so turned a few things down and went in.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#10
Ah jeez, hope they have done a good job on this, after the reading posts above.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
2,245 (0.70/day)
Likes
1,331
Location
Riverside, California
System Name Red Monster
Processor Intel Core i7 7800X @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H115i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB DDR4 3466
Video Card(s) evga GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 iCX
Storage Intel 535 Series 2.5" 480GB SATA /WD Blue 1TB SSD /Radeon R7 240GB SSD /1TB, & 4TB HHD
Display(s) Samsung UN55KS8500 55" 4K & Oculus Rift CV1
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZX > Pagoda DAC > multiple amps
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherri MX
Software Windows 10
#11
I'll be skipping this one. I wanted to play it badly but its a mess of a game from what I have seen and read.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
So I ran the benchmark test that the game has built in and I have some disturbingly low FPS.

Specs:
i5 3570k
EVGA GTX 680 Superclocked Signature Edition
1600 8GB RAM

Ultra settings 1080P:
31 MAX
25 AVG
21 MIN

Explain to me how this is possible perhaps I need to overclock my CPU/GPU? Or change some AA settings? What is everyone else running this game on? Does it require 60FPS or will these numbers run fine? I played only the first mission before going to work so I havent tested the rest of the game yet with these numbers. However it ran fine during the intro mission so I am thinking it will be okay for the rest of the game. Watching the benchmark test I didn't see any noticable lag.
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_page...phics_vga_performance_review_benchmark,6.html
This is a good place to check, a good answer will be outright AMD Gaming Evolved Title unless a patched update comes

Currently no stock single Nvidia Geforce GPU hits 60FPs except dual GPUs, same goes for AMD Radeon @ 1080p/1200p with ultra settings everything maxed, but obviously the AMD Radeon GPUs are better than Nvidia Geforce GPUs on this title
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
As far as i know nvidia released beta drivers to improve performance on this game.
I dint think the beta drivers help much judging by what I've seen on the guru3d test. Now my EVGA GTX 670 FTW (For The Win) has become a (What The Fuck) Edition on this game.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
So I ran the benchmark test that the game has built in and I have some disturbingly low FPS.

Specs:
i5 3570k
EVGA GTX 680 Superclocked Signature Edition
1600 8GB RAM

Ultra settings 1080P:
31 MAX
25 AVG
21 MIN

Explain to me how this is possible perhaps I need to overclock my CPU/GPU? Or change some AA settings? What is everyone else running this game on? Does it require 60FPS or will these numbers run fine? I played only the first mission before going to work so I havent tested the rest of the game yet with these numbers. However it ran fine during the intro mission so I am thinking it will be okay for the rest of the game. Watching the benchmark test I didn't see any noticable lag.
I got the game today and tested inbuilt benching system it has with Ultra settings on my

EVGA GTX 670 FTW
i7-3770 @ Stock Speed
8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600MHz XMP
Dell SX2210 @ 1920 x 1080p

I get exactly same results as yours
MAX - 31
AVG - 25
MIN - 21

could it be that the game has been capped to 30fps by the game developer? as I've noticed that the game has no fast paced action that requires 60fps anyway, the game runs smoothly with no lag.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#15
I got the game today and tested inbuilt benching system it has with Ultra settings on my

EVGA GTX 670 FTW
i7-3770 @ Stock Speed
8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600MHz XMP
Dell SX2210 @ 1920 x 1080p

I get exactly same results as yours
MAX - 31
AVG - 25
MIN - 21

could it be that the game has been capped to 30fps by the game developer? as I've noticed that the game has no fast paced action that requires 60fps anyway, the game runs smoothly with no lag.
I can run everything on max with an average of 55fps on my gear, but the second i turn SSAO on to high is drops like a stack of sh!t
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,584 (0.47/day)
Likes
750
#16
Removing SSAO helped a lot, but not enough. I removed Tesselation, FFAO, and Global Illumination...helped but still not above 30 minimum. Put AA down to x4 and went from 28 minimum to 38 minimum.

Also this point system thing is killing me. Is there a way to disable it?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#17
Removing SSAO helped a lot, but not enough. I removed Tesselation, FFAO, and Global Illumination...helped but still not above 30 minimum. Put AA down to x4 and went from 28 minimum to 38 minimum.

Also this point system thing is killing me. Is there a way to disable it?
They want the point system to kill you :D gives the game replayability apparently!
You shouldnt care about it, play how you like, thats the idea. I went through a mission with a shotgun and killed everyone just for fun - felt good, -13,000 points didnt even phase me :D

Sounds like nvidia took a slap to the face on the optimisation of this game. The main things that eat GPU's alive are SSAO, MSAA, and Shadows, or at least in my case when i was on my gaming laptop. Try knocking those things down and putting everything else up to how you like.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#18
So I was innocently crawling behind a wall during the prologue, went to take down an enemy - his body instantly spazzed out and flew half way across the tennis grounds and landed in front of two guards. They stopped and i sh!t my pants "oh dear, stealth failure already". They then had light conversation and went their separate ways. I garroted them both and threw their bodies in the bin. Here's what i saw.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#19
Reallly looking forward to trying this. I loved blood money although requirements look a bit steep :)
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,710
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#20
Just started playing this last night, well, actually past midnight and well into the morning. I have to say this is a beautiful looking game and quite well optimized. For the most part I love the gameplay mechanics. The cover system seems fluid and natural. Now and then there's objects I can't take cover behind that I'd like to, and sometimes there's a little stickiness getting out of cover, but for the most part it's less sticky and finicky than the typical cover systems in games.

I'm not super good at Hitman games generally, due to a lack of patience with the tedium of timing patrol evasion, so I'm starting out on Normal. So far it seems maybe more intuitive regarding good routes and hiding spots, and they give you a fair bit of options, which I really like. Part of what makes evasion intuitive is they have pretty good light and shadow details in the maps, along with the fact that those carrying flashlights are more likely to spot you.

At first I thought the pre-targeting would make it too easy, never used it much in SC Conviction, but I have to say in certain situations it provides a nice alternative to burning Instinct if you have little to spare and/or a questionable disguise. Then there's the fact that they catch you off guard. Just when you think you've gotten through a section, you sometimes find you have barely enough Instinct left to stealth through, but the game certainly gives you the tools to get the job done.

Going loud in this one is not horribly frustrating either. In fact at times it's quite fun. Some of the weapons are quite effective, and at times the kill animations are quite good. I honestly can't see why thus far in my play through that some are complaining about disguises not working and combat being too ineffective. Maybe it's that you can't totally rely on any one element of the game, you have to balance your use of skills, which is what I do.

OK, so I'm only playing on Normal and I'll probably find it much harder on higher difficulty levels, but keep in mind most are playing on levels they're used to playing Hitman on. So far this seems to be a game that has great replay value though. I liken it to Max Payne 3 as far as it's visceral gameplay and ability to find various effective tactics. Whether it's pulling off a perfectly timed sneak or stealth kill, knocking a thug off his feet with a shotgun, or tossing a fire axe into someone's skull, this game keeps you engaged.

That said, I guess about my only gripe so far is the hand to hand uses Quick Time and is based on random Q,E,W Space counter moves that are shown in such tiny fonts even at the mere 1366x768 res I play on that it often results in me button mashing those keys because I can't see the prompts well enough. That and the fact that sometimes every once in a while the hand to hand slow mo cam seems to glitch out and either freeze or just go incredible slow with no apparent reaction to your input. I can also verify that every now and then I get a strange physics glitch as mentioned, where bodies over react to contacting certain things.

I'd really like to see them address these things in a patch, especially making hand to hand prompts more legible and intuitive. I'd prefer no quick time at all with the hand to hand. I liked Max Payne 3's melee much better, and something like that would have fit this game's combat mechanics and the protagonist's elite killer persona better too. There are however many ways you can avoid face to face melee, and I guess many consider that a last resort and an indicator you've not used stealth as well as you could have. So far this is kinda a sleeper GoTY potential title though I think.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,287 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
Honestly, the Hitman games have always run pretty poorly. However, they aren't action packed games, generally you are rarely even running in the game. They definitely aren't your typical run and gun games, so 20-30FPS is entirely playable in this game, and is actually rather smooth.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,710
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#22
They definitely aren't your typical run and gun games, so 20-30FPS is entirely playable in this game, and is actually rather smooth.
I was going to add a bit on my settings and hardware to back up my optimization comment, but this seems a better time to do that.

On a mere i7 950 (@ 3.2GHz), with GTS 250 1GB (@ 760 core, 1800 Shader & 1000 Mem) and 6GB of 1600 RAM, I average 40 FPS in the in-game benchmark at these settings:

Resolution - 1366x768
Textures & Level of Detail - High
Anisotropic filtering - 16x
Global Illumination - On
Antialising type - FXAA
Shadows & Reflections - Medium
SSAO - Normal

The benchmark is a pretty good one too because it uses one of the most resource intense scenes in the game, and although it is a mere fly-by with no combat, I've yet to see any part of the game while using combat to dip to laggy levels, including the orphanage level where I used nothing but SMGs and shotguns to take out all the thugs.

That said, I'm going to run DxTory's FPS meter while in game on my next session to see what I average during gameplay. Normally I always do this when first playing game, but I was so engrossed with the graphics, performance and gameplay, I forgot to. LOL
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,287 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#23
I just ran the ingame benchmark on my main rig.

i7 875K@4.0GHz
8GB DDR3-1600
ASUS GTX670 4GB @1015/3600(core/mem)

With Ultra Settings and 4x MSAA @ 1080p I get the following results:

Min: 32FPS
Max: 108FPS
Avg: 38FPS

This is with the latest 310.61 drivers.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.28/day)
Likes
2,801
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#24
Honestly, the Hitman games have always run pretty poorly. However, they aren't action packed games, generally you are rarely even running in the game. They definitely aren't your typical run and gun games, so 20-30FPS is entirely playable in this game, and is actually rather smooth.
I agree.

I have always been a diehard fan of Hitman ever since the first one and I never run-n-gun, stealth is the only way to go for HM fans.;) Yes all of them have had a lot of bugs and glitches, but it never annoyed me to the point of not finishing the game because the story structure was always entertaining for me. I can't say anything about this new one yet, as I haven't played it yet. It's a shame the developers didn't do more testing before releasing it to us gamers.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#25
Removing SSAO helped a lot, but not enough. I removed Tesselation, FFAO, and Global Illumination...helped but still not above 30 minimum. Put AA down to x4 and went from 28 minimum to 38 minimum.

Also this point system thing is killing me. Is there a way to disable it?
I dint find removing SSAO necessary. on the other hand with everything ultra plus High SSAO with MSAA off the game Avg is 66fps

with everything ultra SSAO Normal and MSAA off Avg 79fps

MSAA has a big performance hit than SSAO.
But as most people have said including me, this is not a fast paced action game so with everything ultra and 8x Max MSAA the game is still plays fluidly at list that's what i noted. no difference with when Avg 79fps and when Avg 28 at Ultra settings, all feel same to me while playing the game.