• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Hitting 43x multiplier wall on Rampage IV Black edition - E5 1660 v1

Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
85 (0.24/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy
System Name Frankenstin
Processor Xeon e5 1660 v1
Motherboard Rampage IV black edition
Cooling Swiftech Apogee drive 2 + XSPC x360
Memory 16Gb G.skill 2400 cl10 quad channel
Video Card(s) R9 280 crossfirex
Storage Samsung 840 250gb
Display(s) Samsung f2380 + Sharp Aquos 40"
Case Handmade wooden testbench
Audio Device(s) Integrated + Denon AVR 2800
Power Supply Cooler Master UCP 1100w
Mouse Trust GXT 152
Keyboard Logitech G11
Software Windows 10 x64
#1
Hello everyone. I'm about new to the forum.

Recently I've Bought a Xeon e5 1660 v1 for my RIVBE, because I wanted to do overclock for cheap (about 120 euros) and have a decent workstation setup.
After a long research over the internet I came to the conclusion that every xeon 16XX seems to have an unlocked multiplier (or I hope i've not stumbled over the sole 1660 with a locked one). My older cpu was a e5 1620 v1 for which I know that, as the i7 3820, it has a locked multiplier of 43x.

Today I've installed My new cpu and discovered that, like the older one, i cannot get over x43. Simply my motherboard wont POST.

I can choose a multiplier up to 57x (whereas for the 1620 I was limited to 44x) bu everything over 43x just don't post, even with 1,4 or 1,45v
Why my RIVBE cannot overclock, via multiplier or straps, over 43x?
Do I need to mod something maybe?

Does anyone have the same problem on this board here? Have you heard of similar problems?

Sorry if my english sounds a little baroque and thanks in advance for help

Mirko
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#2
That's 6 cores with 12 threads. Hitting 4.3GHz seems pretty reasonable for such chip imo. I mean, this is still 32nm. I'm hitting 4.5GHz limit (multi of 45) on my 5820K with same CPU/core arrangement and it's a newer 22nm chip. I can try everything beyond that point, but it's just not stable or even post-able. Mine does like really low voltages though, 4.5GHz at 1.15V is something hardly any 5820K achieves. I guess tradeoff for that is an OC limit at 4.5GHz...

Try the same as I have. So, 4.3GHz is your limit, now try decreasing Vcore and see how low it'll go. I've also started at 1.3V in the beginning and went all the way down to 1.15V...
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2016
Messages
610 (1.26/day)
Likes
453
Location
Croatia
System Name 2A65
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim with Arctic MX-4
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 3000 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB with back plate
Storage Mushkin Triactor 240GB + Toshiba X300 4TB
Display(s) Philips 237E7QDSB/00
Case Aerocool Aero-1000 white + 4 Arctic F12 PWM Rev.2 fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio Boost 3 with Nahimic Audio Enhancer
Power Supply Lepa MaxBron B700-MB
Mouse Sharkoon Shark Force
Keyboard E-Blue Cobra II
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 1.78.1 (4.8 GHz + XMP): 2412 ST / 10418 MT
#3
Some motherboards limit the multiplier to prevent possible damage to the CPU and there is also a possibility that CPU itself has such limiter. For E5 1660, clock of 4,3 GHz is excellent. Find the stable voltage for that setting; if it's too high, lower the multiplier to 42.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#4
Considering it's a Rampage board, I highly doubt it's limit anything. This board is meant for overclocking.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
85 (0.24/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy
System Name Frankenstin
Processor Xeon e5 1660 v1
Motherboard Rampage IV black edition
Cooling Swiftech Apogee drive 2 + XSPC x360
Memory 16Gb G.skill 2400 cl10 quad channel
Video Card(s) R9 280 crossfirex
Storage Samsung 840 250gb
Display(s) Samsung f2380 + Sharp Aquos 40"
Case Handmade wooden testbench
Audio Device(s) Integrated + Denon AVR 2800
Power Supply Cooler Master UCP 1100w
Mouse Trust GXT 152
Keyboard Logitech G11
Software Windows 10 x64
#6
I have updates. I can get to 4.6 GHz using Intel extreme tuning utility with about 1,36v. And also with Asus aisuite (which I hate because it messes up my offset voltage an makes my PC unstable). The problem is: I have to set a fixed voltage in bios an then I have to change the frequency in windows, which is unpractical. My project was to use per core overclock to boost singe and multi threaded processes to 46-47x. With 43x it's stable at 1,26v

For Basco: I know the support list is only for ivy bridge ep. But I have an example of a rivbe overclocking a e5 1650 v1 to 5.0 GHz with only base clock oc. My board seems to recognize my CPU but it puts some sort of limit to multi and bclk.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
YMMV
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#8
You're at a point where you should ask yourself, is additional 0.1V worth the extra 300MHz and potential instability. Because 1.36V is pretty high. Not quite 1.4V yet, but very close... Or stick with 4.3GHz and try to get voltage even lower...
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#9
Because 1.36V is pretty high.
I wouldn't consider 1.36v for a Sandy Bridge CPU to be too high if temperatures are in check. It is a 32nm chip and not a 22nm or 14nm one.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#10
In general, 1.4V is considered upper edge across the range of Intel processors. Sure, it'll work, but it also means it will most likely degrade faster and demand even more voltage or it'll become unstable at same clocks where it used to be stable before.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
85 (0.24/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy
System Name Frankenstin
Processor Xeon e5 1660 v1
Motherboard Rampage IV black edition
Cooling Swiftech Apogee drive 2 + XSPC x360
Memory 16Gb G.skill 2400 cl10 quad channel
Video Card(s) R9 280 crossfirex
Storage Samsung 840 250gb
Display(s) Samsung f2380 + Sharp Aquos 40"
Case Handmade wooden testbench
Audio Device(s) Integrated + Denon AVR 2800
Power Supply Cooler Master UCP 1100w
Mouse Trust GXT 152
Keyboard Logitech G11
Software Windows 10 x64
#11
OK, but I know limits. The question is not whether I should or I shouldn't go over. That's my own risk. My question is: in windows I can set 44x multiplier. In bios I can't. With the same voltage and same contest. I'm trying to understand why
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,830 (3.63/day)
Likes
8,971
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#12
Are you sure it's actually being set to that 44 or is it just showing that? Personally I don't use the software OC Utilities
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
85 (0.24/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy
System Name Frankenstin
Processor Xeon e5 1660 v1
Motherboard Rampage IV black edition
Cooling Swiftech Apogee drive 2 + XSPC x360
Memory 16Gb G.skill 2400 cl10 quad channel
Video Card(s) R9 280 crossfirex
Storage Samsung 840 250gb
Display(s) Samsung f2380 + Sharp Aquos 40"
Case Handmade wooden testbench
Audio Device(s) Integrated + Denon AVR 2800
Power Supply Cooler Master UCP 1100w
Mouse Trust GXT 152
Keyboard Logitech G11
Software Windows 10 x64
#13
Cinebench shows higher score when I change it, hwinfo shows 4400mhz. Either I wouldn't mess with software oc. But it serves me as a proof of concept for my problem.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,349
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#14
Have you tried multiple motherboard BIOS to see if maybe one will do what you want?
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
85 (0.24/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy
System Name Frankenstin
Processor Xeon e5 1660 v1
Motherboard Rampage IV black edition
Cooling Swiftech Apogee drive 2 + XSPC x360
Memory 16Gb G.skill 2400 cl10 quad channel
Video Card(s) R9 280 crossfirex
Storage Samsung 840 250gb
Display(s) Samsung f2380 + Sharp Aquos 40"
Case Handmade wooden testbench
Audio Device(s) Integrated + Denon AVR 2800
Power Supply Cooler Master UCP 1100w
Mouse Trust GXT 152
Keyboard Logitech G11
Software Windows 10 x64
#15
I tried bios 801, bios 403, bios 701 and bios 603.

I wouldnt insist if i knew its an objective limit of my hardware. the problem is that i know of people, on HWBOT for example, who have no problem reaching 5.0ghz with only bclck overlclock with my board and the same xeon processor.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,349
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#16
I tried bios 801, bios 403, bios 701 and bios 603.

I wouldnt insist if i knew its an objective limit of my hardware. the problem is that i know of people, on HWBOT for example, who have no problem reaching 5.0ghz with only bclck overlclock with my board and the same xeon processor.
Well, you seem to be talking about two different things here! In your OP and in following posts, you are addressing the OC by using multipliers. In this last post you say that others can hit the 5GHz mark with the BLCK, which eliminated the multi cap you are experiencing.

Have you tried raising the BLCK to see if you can get further than 4300MHz?
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#17
I tried bios 801, bios 403, bios 701 and bios 603.

I wouldnt insist if i knew its an objective limit of my hardware. the problem is that i know of people, on HWBOT for example, who have no problem reaching 5.0ghz with only bclck overlclock with my board and the same xeon processor.
Make sure you try the following settings:
DISABLE Anti-Surge Support (I cannot stress how important this is for overclocking past 4.3ish on the 6+ core CPUs, especially SB-E)
Set CPU Current capability to 180% (can be lowered later, realistically 140% or 150% should be good for up to ~5GHz)
Set CPU Power Duty Control to EXTREME and make sure you have good airflow on the VRM heatsink
Set the VCCSA Current Capability to 140%
ENABLE Extreme Tweaking
DISABLE ALL Spread Spectrums
DISABLE Limit CPUID Maximum

These settings helped me push my 3820 to 4.9GHz 24/7 stable on my Rampage IV Extreme. If your chip is voltage-hungry, you may need to set a (relatively) high CPU VCORE Boot-up Voltage. This setting can be found in the DIGI+ section. It allows you to set a specific voltage it will supply to VCORE on cold boots to help stubborn chips POST. Once it has POSTed, the VCORE will be set to whatever your VCORE is set to in the main voltage section.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
85 (0.24/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy
System Name Frankenstin
Processor Xeon e5 1660 v1
Motherboard Rampage IV black edition
Cooling Swiftech Apogee drive 2 + XSPC x360
Memory 16Gb G.skill 2400 cl10 quad channel
Video Card(s) R9 280 crossfirex
Storage Samsung 840 250gb
Display(s) Samsung f2380 + Sharp Aquos 40"
Case Handmade wooden testbench
Audio Device(s) Integrated + Denon AVR 2800
Power Supply Cooler Master UCP 1100w
Mouse Trust GXT 152
Keyboard Logitech G11
Software Windows 10 x64
#18
Done. No 44x boot
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#19
Alright, let's try something a bit easier. Set the multi to 36 and the BCLK to 125, that should net you 4.5GHz.
If you're relegated to 43x as a max multi, then start playing with the BCLK. You can still break 5GHz if the max multi you have is 43x, 40x 125 would get you 5GHz. My 3820 happily ran 38x 129 giving me 4.9GHz on the CPU and 2407 on the RAM.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#20
Forgo to mention something worth a try. Try bumping up DRAM voltage a bit. This can sometimes help overclocking the CPU.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
85 (0.24/day)
Likes
18
Location
Italy
System Name Frankenstin
Processor Xeon e5 1660 v1
Motherboard Rampage IV black edition
Cooling Swiftech Apogee drive 2 + XSPC x360
Memory 16Gb G.skill 2400 cl10 quad channel
Video Card(s) R9 280 crossfirex
Storage Samsung 840 250gb
Display(s) Samsung f2380 + Sharp Aquos 40"
Case Handmade wooden testbench
Audio Device(s) Integrated + Denon AVR 2800
Power Supply Cooler Master UCP 1100w
Mouse Trust GXT 152
Keyboard Logitech G11
Software Windows 10 x64
#21
Already tried with bclck, cannot go over 100.9 mhz, it gets unstable. As for memories, I have G-skill Trident 2400mhz operating at 1.65v. So I think is already high voltage...
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#22
Alright, let's try something a bit easier. Set the multi to 36 and the BCLK to 125, that should net you 4.5GHz.
If you're relegated to 43x as a max multi, then start playing with the BCLK. You can still break 5GHz if the max multi you have is 43x, 40x 125 would get you 5GHz. My 3820 happily ran 38x 129 giving me 4.9GHz on the CPU and 2407 on the RAM.
This. Also, if the OP is running overclocked (> 1600Mhz) memory, then it might be wise to to try running it closer to what the CPU considers stock speeds. My 3820 gives me better overclocks on the cores when I'm not trying to push the IMC incredibly hard. My motherboard also acts incredibly funky with offset voltages using BCLK straps, so forcing a constant voltage is the only good way to go about it. Also, at clocks this high, my 3820 becomes more sensitive to the VCCSA voltage. I tend to scale the VCCSA to how much I change the core voltage. Running it too low in relation to the core voltage feels like it tends to add to instability.

Either way, the only way you're going to get this CPU over 4.4Ghz (well,) is to use the 125Mhz BCLK strap, if it's going to behave like the 3820 where it's acting like it has a limited unlocked multiplier.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,361
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#23
I bought an asus board some time ago and had an I7 2700K and it wouldn't do a x50 multi, It did once and then after a reboot it was a no go.

Ended up having to pop out the CMOS battery and reset the bios. After that it would do X50 + but after any power down or BSOD the board wouldn't set the multi.

Turned out it was a bum board and returned it and got something else and never had a problem after that.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,355 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#24
Change the CPU:DRAM ratio so that RAM speed is closer to stock speed or even below stock, just to see if RAM is limiting you or not.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#25
You're at a point where you should ask yourself, is additional 0.1V worth the extra 300MHz and potential instability. Because 1.36V is pretty high. Not quite 1.4V yet, but very close... Or stick with 4.3GHz and try to get voltage even lower...
I am at 1.42 on a 6850K they are fine at that voltage.