• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Hlp on video card -monitor purchase

Rohey

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Newbie needs some expertise on monitor and video card components on a new computer.

Monitor: 22in Samsund 2220WM Widescreen LCD (1680 x 1050)
Card: 128MB ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro

Running on Intel 2 Duo E4500 with 2MB of ram

Is this an good video arrangement: I don't play many games, just my home office PC, some photo editing and video viewing but no editing.

Questions are: Is this a good monitor and video card? Is 128mb enough card memory for my limited needs? Any comments would be appreciated..
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.69/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#2
i would say 128 is fine if your not gaming and the 2400 should be fine but get the standard 2400 and not the pro or xt version, that will save you a little money and they are all the same card just with different clock settings so speed only matters if your gaming.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#3
If you're not gaming much, it's definately enough, but if you do play games, even if just once in a while, you might think of getting a 2600XT, or 8600GT, or possibly an X1950 GT/Pro instead. It will make a difference in games. Mostly though, only if you play something more intense graphics wise, if you're an old-school gamer, no difference will be seen.
In terms of your other needs, the 2400 is a good enough option. It supports dual-link DVI, like most g'cards do, so it should support anything upto one of the high-res 30" TFTs, s on that front, you're fine.
 

Rohey

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Thanks for the help. most of the family gaming is done on the x-box 360 so I needed the verification that combo choice would work. Any thoughts on the Samsung monitor.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
144 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Processor Intel E8400 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte EP35
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P w/ dual NF-P12
Memory G.Skill 2x1GB DDR2-800 @ 650MHz
Video Card(s) HD 3870 512MB
Storage WD 250GB, Sammy 80GB, WD 80GB, Seagate 80GB
Display(s) HP w2408h
Case CoolerMaster ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 850w Modular
Software Windows Vista Business 64-bit, Ubuntu 9.04, Windows XP Pro SP2
#5
Hey,

If you are even going to think about playing games (other than at 800 x 600, low settings, 0xAA/AF) you'd need more than 128MB; 256MB would be fine though. The HD 2400 PRO is not a gaming card at all. It is made for the budget user who wants, like what you said, browse photos and general user PC stuff. If you want to play games, I'd suggest checking out the new HD 3850 for $180.

I own a Samsung 226BW 22" LCD and I use a x1950pro 256MB card. I can run just about every game (except crysis ...) at 1680 x 1050 max settings, highest quality textures and max AA/AF and still get in the 25-60FPS range.

As for the monitor.. Samsung is a VERY good company for monitors, probably one of the best. I own two Samsung monitors; a SyncMaster 931c "WCG 2006 Special Edition" and a SyncMaster 226BW "C" Panel. Both excellent monitors that I love.

The 2220WM is also a great monitor with specs slightly under the 226BW/CW. Because of this, the price is much lower. However, the specs are still nice and are very similar to other 22" LCDs out there. If you have the budget you can consider the 226CW ("S" version of the BW). But 226BW/CW will set you back an arm and a leg. If you don't have the budget for a 226BW/CW or don't want the world best 22" LCD, then the 2220WM will be fine. Just don't get the Viewsonic 22"s... they are ehhhhh.

My mom's dell can do photoshop and photo related stuff running Vista Business 32-bit on a Radeon x600 128MB using a ViewSonic 22". So yes, your selection will work. She has a P4 3.4GHz w/ HTT processor so Photoshop is a tad slow. Since you have a E4500 (OC'D?) you will get better results in Photoshop.

If you are running Vista, I hope you get more than 2MB of ram.

-robodude666
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.69/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#6
i would say 128 is fine if your not gaming and the 2400 should be fine but get the standard 2400 and not the pro or xt version, that will save you a little money and they are all the same card just with different clock settings so speed only matters if your gaming.
upon further research i must change my opinion:

you picked a great monitor by the way (samsung = quality)

since about all they offer in a 2400 is the hd2400 pro in 256mb onboard ram then of coarse go ahead and get that and forget about 128mb cards, for $50 you cant go wrong (asus would be my choice) and it will do everything you want it to. see it here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121084
 

Rohey

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
great comments everyone thank you!!!!

In ref to robodude comment....I had planned to move to Vista rather than ordering with XP and upgrading later. So you would suggest 4MB of ram instead of 2? are there usually 2 dimm slots or four (This is a Dell system and so not sure the exact MB they will use). If only two slots I may just bite the bullet now and bump the ram.

I also have a syncmaster currently and like it alot...just did not know much about the newer LCD's Thanks again.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.69/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#8
great comments everyone thank you!!!!

In ref to robodude comment....I had planned to move to Vista rather than ordering with XP and upgrading later. So you would suggest 4MB of ram instead of 2? are there usually 2 dimm slots or four (This is a Dell system and so not sure the exact MB they will use). If only two slots I may just bite the bullet now and bump the ram.

I also have a syncmaster currently and like it alot...just did not know much about the newer LCD's Thanks again.
4gb of ram is for 64bit vista and 32bit is fine with 2gb so it depends which version vista you are going to use. 32bit is the the most common used rite now but it depends on your needs.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
144 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Processor Intel E8400 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte EP35
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P w/ dual NF-P12
Memory G.Skill 2x1GB DDR2-800 @ 650MHz
Video Card(s) HD 3870 512MB
Storage WD 250GB, Sammy 80GB, WD 80GB, Seagate 80GB
Display(s) HP w2408h
Case CoolerMaster ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 850w Modular
Software Windows Vista Business 64-bit, Ubuntu 9.04, Windows XP Pro SP2
#9
You didn't get my joke as it seems.. You said 2MB, not 2GB... bleh!

2GB will be fine for Vista....
 

Rohey

New Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
MB's, GB's, smegabytes ...I can't keep track of all this stuff. Thanks again for your help

I took your suggestion and bumped up the memory to 256mb. It was only $40 over the ATI. Ended up changing cards (They only had a few to choose from and better price) .....going with the NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT-DDR3. That should give me enough umph to run at least a few games at the max settings for the monitor....THANKS again for everyones help.