• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Home server woes

Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
Hi all, my home server died on me tonight, looking for some help and advice if anyone can. The motherboard is dead it seems I've checked all the normal stuff but nothing, light comes on but no response to pressing power button, tried a spare PSu I had lying around and still nothing. Annoyingly I was saving up for a new one to replace this but looks like my wallet didn't grow quick enough.

In there I had a star tech PCI raid card with 2x1tb hdds mirrored in raid1, how can I get to the data on these drives? I have a hdd caddy but was worried about just plugging it in?

Secondly I had 2 other hard drives set up as a spanned volume in windows (home server 2012) is there anyway I can get the data back from that volume? Windows itself was installed on another hdd in the machine.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. The
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Nothing special about RAID-1, I've always been able to read the data off a drive in another system when I didn't feel like installing the RAID controller. Luckily, even if something goes horribly wrong, you still have another one with the data.

Same for the the spanned volumes. I'd install the drives in another system and Windows will more than likely pick them up as a spanned volume.

Of course, I'm used to moving drives around and I know my systems rather well. Take it slow, perhaps even wait for perspectives from other posters before trying anything.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#3
Your best bet would be to put the drives and RAID card into a working machine running Windows. It should just pick up from where it left off. The RAID card will read the RAID info from the disks and know that they're in RAID. Windows will know things are in RAID (if using software RAID) because it too stores the same kind of RAID information to the disks. As a result, moving the disks to a machine with a compatible RAID controller will typically be able to simply start using a RAID once it's attached. This is true for LSI and Intel RAIDs, several more work this way as well but not from my experience.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#4
Thanks guys for your help.

Tried one of the mirrored drives in a caddy and my laptop couldn't read it, could see it was a 1tb disk but thats it, am going to try putting the raid card and hdd's in my other pc and hopefully be able to read them to suck data off.

My other question was, which i meant to write last night but was in too much of a state :-( , should i try connecting everything back up with a different motherboard and hope windows server does some magic and sorts itself out?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,365
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
I assume you are talking about WHS2011, which is based on Sever 2008 R2. The good thing is that it is a very light install, it doesn't load a lot of drivers. Mostly just basic drivers for most hardware, and the normal storage drivers and network drivers. So you can try connecting the drives to a new motherboard and see if it is able to boot.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,373 (2.73/day)
Likes
13,012
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#6
My other question was, which i meant to write last night but was in too much of a state :-( , should i try connecting everything back up with a different motherboard and hope windows server does some magic and sorts itself out?
If you were also doing server backups of the OS, like WHS 2011 prompts, you should be able to put a new motherboard in there and at the very worst do a restore if it won't recognize it and start working. At the best, it may sort itself out like @newtekie1 said.